We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Money went missing while staying there” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catba Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catba Palace Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cat Ba
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
603 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Money went missing while staying there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed here for one night during my Ha Long Bay tour. Included in our tour was lunch, dinner and breakfast here which was good and plentiful. They even take into account you dietary needs. Drinks aren't included and sodas are 15k dong, tea/coffee is 10k, reasonable prices. The shower is hot and the pressure is ok, the bed is very comfortable, and the a/c worked well. We did have a problem however that while we were on our tour in the afternoon, $30 USD went missing from our room. The safe was broken so I couldn't use it, instead I hide the money in my jacket pocket. We informed the hotel staff who informed our tour guide. At first I was told my only solution was to go to the police which would come and take finger prints. If proof was found then the hotel would reimburse me, but if not then I had to pay "a huge fee". At 11:30 pm, I tried to explain that fingerprinting a hotel room for something that is missing is like looking for a needle in a hay stack and would be pointless but the tour guide was very adamant that it was the only solution, and started to raise his voice to me. My husband and I spoke about our options while the our guide spoke to his boss. Once getting off the phone with his boss, he changed his tone, was apologetic and said we would be reimbursed since they didn't want to involve the police.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    30
    12
    15
See reviews for
18
85
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

The fantasia hotel was a good find just off the main strip of Cat Ba town. The room was very nice and clean with friendly staff that were more than happy to help. I meet a lot of people on a 3 night package deal seeing Ha Long but much preferred the way I did it doing a cruise 2 nights before and catching a ferry ( for 40k) from Ha Long and staying 3 nights in Cat Ba which is an amazing island to go trekking and I would recommend hiring a scooter (through the hotel) to see Cat Ba in all its glory! I also went on two trips arranged by the hotel to monkey island which was fun!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank dale69derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights, as a part of the Halong Bay tour. The guy who was supposed to pick us up from the tour-bus apparently expected to transport two people with their bags to the hotel on a motorbike. We walked instead.
In addition, we were unpleasantly surprised to hear that both breakfast and dinner (and possibly also lunch, but we ate outside) were tightly scheduled - all the hotel guests were expected to be at the "restaurant" at, say, 7.30 AM for breakfast and only when everyone had arrived, food was served. Catering for that many people turned out to be overwhelming for the staff, as the food was already cold by the time it was delivered to us. Also, compared to the average culinary exprience in Vietnam (and Cat Ba island), the meals were modest at most. That's why we also chose to eat outside rather than in the unappealing hotel restaurant.
To finish with a positive note, I must say that our room was quite nice and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvarendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here while on a 3 day tour of Ha Long Bay. This was one of the very best hotels I stay in Vietnam! I was put into the deluxe double room even though I was a solo traveler!
Great rooms, great service, great food! Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackpackingTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here one night during a Ha Long Bay trip. This hotel is very clean, with nice bathrooms and lovely rooms. It has a nice location, close to the water.
The food they served was very good. It was a sort of buffet style diner and breakfast, and all of it was very freshly prepared. This was a pleasant suprise after all the soggy, cold and unfresh buffets we encoutered in Vietnam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanzelpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, 1 as part of the Halong Bay tour and 2 nights extra to explore Cat Ba island further at a cost of $25 a night. Tour guide and reception staff were helpful and flexible at allowing us to stay for the extra 2 days and get the boat and bus back to Hanoi. Rooms were clean and comfortable, nice TV, hot powerful shower, air con etc which made up for it's location which is away from the harbour
Food was OK, the fried rice is tasty but would advise to learn the Vietnamese for 'runny eggs please'

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were at the hotel for one night as part 3 days Ha Long Bay tour from Fantasea Tours. Fantasea Hotel is clean and comfortable. Lots of food and very tasty. WiFi is free! You just need to change in the settings of your computer an encrypted connection. I would recommend. Great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jezabel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
25.7 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#5 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#6 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#9 of 18 in Cat Ba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
25.5 mi away
Hai Long Hotel Cat Ba
Hai Long Hotel Cat Ba
#10 of 18 in Cat Ba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catba Palace Hotel

Property: Catba Palace Hotel
Address: 180 Nui Ngoc Street | Cat Ba Town Beach, Cat Ba 0313, Vietnam (Formerly Catba Fantasea Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Catba Palace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cat Ba Fantasea Hotel is dedicated to provide the best facilities with international standards in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. With our well-trained staff - full of enthusiasm and experience - our objective is to give you an unforgettable stay and a perfect service. Situated in the main street of Cat Ba town, the hotel is just a 10-minutes walk away from the 3 beautiful beaches of Cat Ba town and a 20-minutes drive from the famous National Park. Our rooms are all equipped with modern facilities and furniture, as well as a balcony overlooking the peacefulness of the town or the green mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Catba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing