We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Catba Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catba Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cat Ba
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, 1 as part of the Halong Bay tour and 2 nights extra to explore Cat Ba island further at a cost of $25 a night. Tour guide and reception staff were helpful and flexible at allowing us to stay for the extra 2 days and get the boat and bus back to Hanoi. Rooms were clean and comfortable, nice TV, hot powerful shower, air con etc which made up for it's location which is away from the harbour
Food was OK, the fried rice is tasty but would advise to learn the Vietnamese for 'runny eggs please'

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakswain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 221 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were at the hotel for one night as part 3 days Ha Long Bay tour from Fantasea Tours. Fantasea Hotel is clean and comfortable. Lots of food and very tasty. WiFi is free! You just need to change in the settings of your computer an encrypted connection. I would recommend. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jezabel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

booked through Agoda and between there room description and the hotels description were not what we got.

so let us leave 2 days early and got refund.

l$23 a night so ok overall

cat ba towns nothing special but the island is great ...hire scooter and do boat tour

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovereignoverme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Was here in June 2012, for a night, and stayed in room 501. Nice room! With a tv, free fuss free wifi, large red sofa, large comfy clean bed, aircon, hot shower, minibar, hair dryer and even a fan.. Shower was good with good pressure. The toilet bowl however like some reviewers mentioned has half of it below the sink. So when u flush, u have to reach for the button that is half under the sink. There is a sliding glass door that separates the shower area, however the water actually flows out to under the sink, it's not piped, jus a hole for water to flow out from the shower area. So more often than not, the entire area below the sink is wet.
Overall clean and very comfy. Good place to stay for the night at Cat Ba. It's well located too, within 20 mins walk to the beach, 10 mins walk to be market area.. Food in the hotel's restaurant is good too! We had both our dinner and breakfast there, and they are all fab!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We picked to stay at this motel thinking it would be on the beach! It is close and nice clean room but although you get full wifi it won't log on to anything when you ask staff they say yes yes wifi!!! (no idea). Rooms are clean and nice. But price compared to everywhere else. So average

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cimmyandjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

VERY IMPORTANT TIP: this hotel is NOT in the place labelled on Google Maps with the hotel's name, even though the address listed for the hotel on Google Maps is correct. Just enter "180 Nui Ngoc" without the hotel's name to get the right place. The other location is a cul-de-sac about a half-mile away with 8-year-olds running around who tried to grab my fiance's purse. When we called the hotel, their English wasn't really good enough to give directions either. Eventually, we walked toward the main drag and figured it out ourselves. Also, the street it actually is on is a loop. Go in the right end off the main street, or else it is quite a long walk around.

We arrived before check-in time and were told we would need to wait 20 minutes for our room to be cleaned. This was okay, but the lobby was not air-conditioned and was quite small. When we got to the room, the bathroom floor was soaking wet from mopping and remained that way through the evening, given the humidity.

The bedroom was small but clean enough, with a/c and a fan. However, the electricity was out on-and-off and the hotel was using a backup generator for about one-third of our stay in total. It works, but does not power the air-conditioner, and it gets hot quickly. Even with the power on, the a/c isn't especially strong. Also, they turned off the elevator the first time the electricity went out, soon after our arrival, so we had to walk up to our fifth-floor room each time in the very muggy stairwell for the rest of the stay. Though given the electricity reliability, or lack thereof, I'm not sure I wanted to take the elevator anyway.

The bathroom was damp, dated and unappealing. There is no partition between the shower and the rest of the bathroom -- just a shower-head and a drain in the floor.

It does not seem like any rooms have a view -- ours certainly did not. It was reasonably quiet, but there was some street noise, even on the fifth floor.

Finally, there was no safe in the room. Unlike our other hotels in Vietnam, they insisted on keeping our passports at the front desk, and were not able to explain why in English. I guess it was for security, but was disconcerting at first.

In all, our stay wasn't terrible, but there was nothing especially positive about the hotel, and lots of small annoyances. Though I'm not sure anywhere on Cat Ba is much better.

Room Tip: Go for a lower floor, since depending on the electricity, you might be walking up a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We liked the location because it wasn't really close to the main strip of town. The room was good and clean. We found a massive roach and huge spider, which I didn't love but managed to get rid of them both.

Breakfast was not included and not worth the 30,000 d when you can have something way better on the main strip for not much more.

The staff were nice enough but were by the end really frustrated that we didn't book a tour with them.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyindandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.3 mi away
Duc Tuan Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 21 in Cat Ba
423 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monkey Island Resort
Monkey Island Resort
#12 of 21 in Cat Ba
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#10 of 21 in Cat Ba
225 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Whisper of Nature Bungalow
0.4 mi away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catba Palace Hotel

Address: 180 Nui Ngoc Street | Cat Ba Town Beach, Cat Ba 0313, Vietnam (Formerly Catba Fantasea Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cat Ba
Price Range: $12 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Catba Palace Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cat Ba Fantasea Hotel is dedicated to provide the best facilities with international standards in a cozy and comfortable atmosphere. With our well-trained staff - full of enthusiasm and experience - our objective is to give you an unforgettable stay and a perfect service. Situated in the main street of Cat Ba town, the hotel is just a 10-minutes walk away from the 3 beautiful beaches of Cat Ba town and a 20-minutes drive from the famous National Park. Our rooms are all equipped with modern facilities and furniture, as well as a balcony overlooking the peacefulness of the town or the green mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Catba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing