We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting but also not a lot to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hospital Cave

Ranked #7 of 31 things to do in Cat Ba
Attraction details
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting but also not a lot to see”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Like most sites in Vietnam, nothing has been done to make a spectacle of this attraction, so it's still as it was etc but there's not a huge amount to see. THe guide was very good and we enjoyed hearing about how the hospital used to function and for the sake of £1 and 20 mins of your time it's worth stopping off for a look.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    144
    86
    36
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“You need a guide or it's pointless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I declined a guide, as we assumed it wouldn't be essential. We were wrong - there was no leaflet and no information boards inside - they shouldn't let you in without one - it was literally a series of underground concrete rooms, one cave-like larger room, and that's it. It was in complete darkness (we got one torch between us) so we had no idea what we were looking at. We were only in there a few minutes but it was a waste of time. If you go, make sure you have a guide.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsWNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Loved the trip there via Honda. Staff v knowledgable and really interesting but could have killed him when he demonstrated how it was guarded by jumping out of dark pointing automatic weapon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“short and sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed this tour. For about $2, a guide will take you through this cave which was converted into a hospital/triage unit during the war. The whole thing takes no longer than 20min, but still worth the while...

Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Very interesting tour. We stopped to look when passing on motorbike. Paid small amount to park bike, and small amount to guide. Good value, and nice guide, maybe sometimes a bit difficult to understand, but he tried hard.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank colinb956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hospital Cave also viewed

 
Cat Ba, Vietnam
 

Been to Hospital Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing