We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical day, worth every dollar!”

Blue Swimmer Adventures
Ranked #11 of 42 Tours in Cat Ba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: we at Blue Swimmer Adventure decided to pursue low-impact eco-tourism to try and do our bit to keep the island’s very special purity as long as possible by offering more green outdoor activities for nature lovers from around the world.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Being overwhelmed by CatBa we rode to Beo Bay and found Blueswimmer Adventures. Henry the manager was extremely polite and helpful. He arranged a day trip for us that included our own guide, chef and skipper on a traditional fishing junk. We travelled through Lan Ha bay to Halong bay were we swam and kayaked through caves etc, to return to the junk for a six course lunch! The food was superb, and the crew happy and gracious. Our guide Bing was very helpful and we enjoyed his company. For a cost of $85 each for 8 hours we found this trip excellent value for the money!! Thank you Blueswimmer Adventures, we shall recommend you to all, Dave & Anna.

1  Thank Dando40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"mr henry"
in 12 reviews
"night tour"
in 13 reviews
"a short bike ride"
in 4 reviews
"beach bungalow"
in 4 reviews
"kayak trip"
in 7 reviews
"lan ha bay"
in 25 reviews
"halong bay"
in 23 reviews
"cat ba island"
in 20 reviews
"floating fish farm"
in 4 reviews
"water level"
in 2 reviews
"sea eagles"
in 2 reviews
"one night"
in 8 reviews
"own bathroom"
in 2 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 7 reviews
"his life"
in 2 reviews
"days nights"
in 4 reviews
"own pace"
in 2 reviews

102 - 106 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We paid 43$ each to kayak all day with a guide and have a seafood lunch at their base camp. No drinks included. No snorkelling. No boat ride available if you hate the idea of getting back in a kayak because it hurts from doing it for so long.

We wanted a combination kayak/sailing day but ended up with a full day kayaking tour somehow through miscommunication. Everything was told to us verbally, we never saw a written description of our tour which would have been helpful and avoided surprises. I am 30 years old and after 3 hours my hands and shoulders hurt so bad it took away any pleasure the scenery could offer. I was told we were '5 minutes' away but it was a half an hour before we reached the camp. After lunch there was no option to view the area by boat. We either kayaked again or we stayed on shore until our boat came back to pick us up in a few hours. We ended up talking the guide into borrowing a double kayak for us to share the load of paddling for the afternoon, which helped.

'Seafood lunch' gave us each 2 bbq'd shrimp that were cold while a larger group got whole fish. To eat we were sat along a sidewalk with minimal beach view while the big group had the half empty deck. Overall I feel we paid prime money for a budget trip. The guide was nice and it was just 2 of us with him, which we enjoyed. But looking back I'd rather have options available. After booking we saw a better tour at our hostel (longer with more options and variety - kayak + snorkel in am, boat cruise until sunset) for half the price! Shop around people! I thought we did but clearly we aren't very good at it!

We had chose Blue Swimmer because their values appealed to us. After reading of all the distruction at Halong we didn't want to contribute to the same happening at Cat Ba. So it was a surprise that our tour ended up going with a gas engine boat that dropped us off and returned later to pick us up. And we saw lots of litter. Shoes, bottles, wrappers... We were told it's from the people that live on the water all around the bay.

3  Thank Tlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were quite nervous about a trip to Halong Bay and picked Blue Swimmer as they seemed to offer a personal service with emphasis on getting off the beaten track and being active. The whole trip exceeded our expectations. The group ended up being just us, a family of four, spending a night on a very well kitted-out two-room junk in Cat Ba Bay. All travel arrangements from pick up in Hanoi to transfer to Cat Ba and back again worked very smoothly. On the first day we had a magical kayaking experience, following our guide through pitch-black tunnels into secret lagoons and exploring hidden bays. Hardly saw any other tourists and enjoyed the same stunning scenery that you get in the more crowded Halong Bay. After a night on the junk, we went cycling through Cat Ba national park - great fun again. Highly recommended and definitely thumbs up to going to Cat Ba.

2  Thank 932JoziLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

They want to take as much money as they can grom you. Terrible guide, awfull boat, terrible shower,.....

7  Thank Ankav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennyguide, Manager at Blue Swimmer Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear All,

Please note that the review above is not for us as it mentions nothing about Blue Swimmer Adventures and I believe it's on wrong localtion. Moreover, I did also contact with Tripadvisor to get it down.

Thank you for your reading and supports.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I kayak for years hence I know the kayaks they provide are missing critical parts.
I told the workers and they said that the missing part is missing because it's to hot in Vietnam, B.S

I don't know about the other services they provide, but because of the kayaking I highly recommend to think twice before entering this agency, they're are plenty of others.

4  Thank Tomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennyguide, General Manager at Blue Swimmer Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Sir an Madam,

Thank you for your comments and an opportunity to respond.

We at Blue Swimmers have an excellent team that pride ourselves on offering the best equipment on Cat Ba and years of combined experience in the adventure sports and tourism industry.

The critical parts you may be referring to on the kayak you rented from us are known as "hatch covers". They are made from a flexible rubber compound and due to the intense heat and sun light here in Vietnam perish very quickly. Obviously as our kayaks are imported from overseas replacement parts are very difficult to get hold of. However, as of July 2012 all the hatches will be sealed again.

The other "critical parts" you may believe to be missing are known as Spray Decks or Skirts. A nylon or neoprene cover that seals the kayaker in the cockpit. We do not believe these to be essential for kayaking at Cat Ba. However, such equipment is available should the more experienced kayaker desire. All our guides at Blue Swimmer Adventures choose not to wear spray decks whilst kayaking as it gets too hot underneath.

If you were unhappy with any service of equipment supplied by Blue Swimmers you should have told us asap and we could of arranged something for you.

The information you gave on the forum of tripadvisor about the kayaking rental in Cat Ba island is not true as no one in town providing professional sea - kayak with all the safety gears but us. Others offers the kayak made in Vietnam which is not suitable for long day adventurous trips or cave exploration.

For the ultimate kayaking experience we strongly recommend a guided tour over renting a kayak. The experienced, English speaking local guides can navigate to hidden lagoons, ensure safety at all times and offer excellent local knowledge.

We at Blue Swimmer Adventures, strive for constant improvement and guest feedback is vital to our efforts to maintain the first class services to our guests.

One again, on behalf of Blue Swimmer Adventure, I would like to say thank a lot for your review.

We hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you, your family and friends in the future.

With the best regards

Kenny Le

Blue Swimmer Adventure
Ben Beo Pier, Cat Ba Island, Vietnam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Swimmer Adventures also viewed


Been to Blue Swimmer Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing