We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveler rating
8
6
2
9
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
6
2
9
34
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 59 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I want to give no star if possible. Experience at the Nobel House
is simply horrible. The room is insecure,anyone with a card can
open the door and steal your things in a second. Rats were going
around and washed clothes were hanging all over the porch.
The room key is 304 but our room number is
actually 302. We only noticed this when we came back from outside
and couldn't open the door.
Did the owner already check our luggage with the 302 room key
and unfortunatally didn't
find anything? (We took everything valuable when leaving)
And if anything got stolen in room 304, would we be suspected
because we were having the key? How could this stupid mistake happen
or it's just a trap we didn't step in?

Anywhere you stay in Vietnam, you gotta watch out your belongings
all the time and never leave the room without them.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We went to this place because of the lonely planet recomendation, however we quickly noticed it was overpriced. When we got inside the room and saw that anyone using a plastic card could open the door in 2 seconds (I tried), every door showed signs of being forced in and security was really poor, we saw rats and cocroaches going around, the staff was unpolite and barely spoke any english.

The owner of the place doesn't speak any english and belongs to the Mafia, after we checked out from this place we have been robbed in another hotel by the hotel staff itself and had a fight to try to recover the money, then we went to the Noble House because many foreigners are there, instead of help, the owner framed us in called the currupt police and kicked us out, he used force against my girlfriend and we couln't defend ourselves since there were over 50 locals and currupt police ... the rest of the story is complex and irrelevant but we managed to excape and return to China the next day.

Room Tip: MAFIA. NEVER EVEN GO IN If you however go in, notice that all the doors show signs of being forced, don't leave anything in the room. Avoid confronting the owner or ask him for help, he will likely call the police to get rid of you if you are causing any reputation problems to the place.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We saw a really big rat as soon as we step inside. The smell was horrible, the rooms dirty and the food in the restaurant was disgusting, not to say rotten. And the staff was rude for no reason at all. The bar in the second floor has a rusty and pretty much broken football table, and the pool was not exactly in good conditions either.

This together with the high price they ask per room makes it probably the worst choice in Cat Ba. Do NOT go there despite the (suspicious) recommendation of the Lonely Planet.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscahieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

A "cut above the rest" they say... This place is the worst in Cat Ba. Like everyone else has said, rooms are deteriorating, noisy, staff are rude to the point of being aggressive, and the exchange rate is the highest I've come accross in Vietnam so far. While most other's do 20,000 dong to the USD, this place does 22,000 dong. The lady quoted us 15 per night then changed it to 20 when we checked out - luckily we argued our way out of it and payed 15.

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights and we didn't feel welcomed at all! Instead of 12 USD a night the dodgy young man told us in the end that the exchange rate had changed overnight. Yeah, right... Simply not nice.
Staff in a whole was no good. They were shouting at each other while we just wanted to get a coffee in the morning, so we left to get one next door as even after going directly to them and asking them didn't change our waiting situation. It just went on like this: They just do not care.

The second evening we wanted to chill out in the really nice area with pool table, overlooking Cat ba Town harbor. First evening had been nice there, as a lot of travellers were around. Just note: When there is a lot of people it's noisy in your room too. As on the second night we were soon the only guests (part of the staff watched TV and went to bed on the sofas in the chill out area) they simply turned off the lights - while we still had our drinks. Not nice either.

The room was ok, but the feeling in a whole was simply crap. Only two girls who we met the first evening down at the restaurant were helpful - the rest of the bunch isn't welcoming at all. It's a rip off.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirschkuchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews