We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Cat Ba”
Review of Cat Ba Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cat Ba Dream Hotel
Ranked #17 of 63 Cat Ba B&B and Inns
olympia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Cat Ba”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We chose the Cat Ba Dream Hotel after looking at two similarly-priced hotels, including Vien Dong Hotel across the street. This was by far the cheeriest and cleanest (although, on closer inspection, some of the bedding was stained and mildewed). Overall, great value for the money. We had two rooms facing the bay, very hot showers, great wifi, and decent cable channels. The staff was responsive, if not overly friendly. When we asked, we were brought thermoses of hot water or tea service to our room, a nice perk.
We also booked a 2 day/1 night cruise in Ha Lang, Han La and Ba Tu Long Bays on a private junk with Mr. Luong at the hotel. It was a beautiful cruise and the price was much better than what we were quoted online for larger operators from Halong City or Hai Phong (also less expensive than other companies on Cat Ba). While our boat was pretty basic -- several berths and a bathroom downstairs (no soap or towel), rather uncomfortable benches and tables upstairs, no awning -- we sailed in tandem wth a couple other boats from the same company that looked more deluxe. Food was surprisingly good -- best tofu in tomato sauce we've had in Viet Nam -- and the pilot took us away from the crowds. However, neither the cook nor driver spoke English, which made things somewhat difficult. Like the hotel, the cruise provided good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    37
    33
    21
    9
See reviews for
8
57
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
West Newbury
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For $12 a night for 3 people, this was a great place. Good views from the 7th floor,convenient location,and a clean, modern room, although wifi only worked in the hallway,not in the room.
Manager was very helpful,arranging tours, and also a hotel for our next stop,near Ninh Binh,which was also very good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulmac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The place overcharges for a basic acomodation. The room is nothing out of this world, was quite dirty and the bed sheets were smelly. We asked Mr Luan, the guy who runs the place to change them but when we were back at night, nothing had been done. When we found again Mr luand and confronted him he become rude and even violent. We left the following morning and found a much cheaper and nicer place. Avoid Cat ba dreams!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cat Ba hotels

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My friends and I arrived in Cat Ba after a long long day of travel and were more than tired. We were bombarded by hotel owners trying to get us to stay at their place. We chatted with a few, and looked at a couple, and then decided on the Cat Ba Dream. We had an amazing view, beautiful and clean room, and got it at a great price, $8!! We stayed here for longer than planned because of the great place and great location. Definitely worth checking into!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had perfect view. (on stayed at the 6 floor), the owner was friendly and helpful, the price was good and the double room was.... hmm ok. Thats it! compare to other offers it was a quit a good stay. Cat Ba is nice to avoid the party people for halong bay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller201015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the cat ba dream hotel after walking the streets to compare rooms and prices. And settled on it because it had the best rooms and amenities In the $10 a night range, with as good a view as any along the bay. we (my family and I) ended up staying for 5 nights, and enjoyed it thoroughly. It seems every hotel can book just about any activity for you that you want, but perhaps not quite so well as the cat ba dream. The manager, Mr Luong is the most honest man I have come across yet.

We booked our boat tour to Ha Long bay through him and also Hired scooters from him, both times we were surprised and recieved a deal better than expected. He eagerly took lots of time to be helpful to us in any way when we asked and even when we didn't.

We now have booked a 10 day car trip with him that is very good value, and I advise any way travelling to cat ba to stay at the cat ba dream, and take time to enjoy your holiday and get to know the staff. Because they where more helpful than I can say in this review.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawsonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat Ba, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The rooms are clean and the view of the bay excellent. At $10 for a room it was good value. Everything works TV, WiFi, AC etc. Best of all they look after you and can organize tours at good prices. We have made friends at the Cat Ba Dream

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Ba hotels
0.1 mi away
Catba Palace Hotel
Catba Palace Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cat Ba
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 19 in Cat Ba
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
Gieng Ngoc Hotel
#13 of 19 in Cat Ba
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Pearl Hotel
Sea Pearl Hotel
#8 of 19 in Cat Ba
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
0.4 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Cat Ba
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Ba Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Ba Dream Hotel

Property: Cat Ba Dream Hotel
Address: No 226 - 1/4 Cat Ba Town, Cat Ba, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Cat Ba
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Cat Ba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cat Ba Dream Hotel offers a number of tours for you to choose from: one day; two days, one night; or three days, two nights. You can go caving, kayaking, swimming, snorkeling, and daytime and nighttime fishing, and then relax on empty beaches. Choose to stay overnight on a floating hotel or on the boat. Every tour includes food, water and an english spreaking local guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cat Ba Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing