We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat and national park”
Review of Cat Ba Ventures

Cat Ba Ventures
Ranked #5 of 41 Tours in Cat Ba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Hanoi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boat and national park”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Used cat ba ventures in August with my parents. Unfortunately the weather wasnt great so we had to change our plans but the guys at cat ba ventures were really helpful and sorted it all out. Food on our junk boat was excellent and i was very pleased with the tour of cat ba and ha long bay. Kayaking was probably the highlight. Our guide was so good at pointing things out and without we wouldt have seen a Cat Ba Langer up close.
Definitely not the cheapest option on Cat Ba however and i'm sure you can get similar things very cheaply.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTung, Owner at Cat Ba Ventures, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Luke!
Thank you for enjoying and contribute a nice review!
You came to Cat Ba in the typhoon season but we did the best thing to make a great trip for you. Lukily you have seen the Cat Ba Langur from the boat trip.
We hope that you can spend another weekend in our beautiful Lan Ha and Ha Long bay with a nice weather.
Best regards!
Mr Tung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    105
    36
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adventure in Halong Bay and surrounds”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked our trip with CatBa Ventures from Australia and my dealings with Mr Tung were efficient and professional - all via email. We were travelling as a family of four and so wanted to experience something a little different on our visit to the Bay and surrounds. We took the Hoang Long bus from Hanoi and while it took a little time was fine. We arrived on Cat Ba in the early afternoon and stayed in a hotel recommended by Mr Tung called the Thu Ha hotel at $12 a night I wasn't expecting much but we got two rooms facing the harbour and the view was amazing - one of the surprises of this trip! We set off on one of the junks early and cruised to a beach where we swam and snorkelled - this was followed by an excellent lunch, all the food was excellent and very plentiful. Our guide Chris was very knowledgeable and was constantly telling us interesting information about the area - we really just followed his lead and also, the two others on the boat - the captain and the cook were also excellent - not much English but very friendly. The staff know what they are doing and know the tide systems etc so at times, we might stay at one spot (whereas I was eager to keep moving) but in fact it was largely to catch particular tides and also, to miss crowds at different locations. We kayaked to some amazing spots - this was quite the adventure, we went through cave systems, sometimes lying down in the kayak to get through. My kids loved it (aged 12 and 14) but the kayaking might be tricky for younger kids but again, I am sure the guide would make the right call. This trip was the highlight of the holiday for us - it was also the most expensive thing we did but definitely worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTung, Owner at Cat Ba Ventures, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs Sarah!
Thank you for your truly review !
Your family had a great trip in Cat Ba and Ha Long bay with good weather. We are the local, we are sure we can do the best thing for our travellers. We hope your family are fine and having a good time in Australia. We wish to see you again and enjoy our beautiful lanscape in Cat Ba and Ha Long Bay.
Best regards!
Mr Tung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lot if bang for your buck!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I went on the 1 day sail/kayak/snorkeling. The snorkelling wasn't as amazing as I thought, but it was still great, however the sailing around all day had non stop amazing views! The lunch was great, a mass of seafood that we couldn't finish.
I really recommend these guys, other companies that overcharge for a not as good tour. Props to Henry for being an excellent guide!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank andypandy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTung, Owner at Cat Ba Ventures, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Andy!
Thank you very much for your good reviews on the trip. So glad to know that you have a good trip in Halong bay. We are trying our best to improve our service. Hopefully, we can see you here again!
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a disaster”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place was nothing at all like what it was made out to be in both the pictures and online descriptions. First, they came to pick us up in a boat that couldn't properly enter the bay where our hotel was located (even though they knew in advance which hotel we would be at). The guide wanted to take our luggage in a kayak, and wouldn't listen to us when we were concerned about it falling in the bay and getting wet. Ultimately we had to rely on the hotel to procure their own boat to get us out to the bay, which they were gracious enough to do. Our "guide" didn't speak any English--he would just take us to a cave, point as if to say "go in there" and then wait while we walked around for a couple of minutes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTung, Owner at Cat Ba Ventures, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Katherine,
Thank you for your reviews on your trip. But everything you wrote on your review is not true, I don't understand why you wrote like that.
You came to Catba and took the boat trip on a bad weather day, very heavy rain and too windy whole day and the big wave could break our big boat if the boat got close to the Monkey Island to pick you up so we decided to pick you up and took you to the boat by the taxi boat.
At first you booked for 2days/1night, but because of the bad weather, you decided to have only one day and canceled the other day. We agreed to charge only ONE day and not only introduced you a good hotel in Catba town, recommended you a motorbike to have a view around the island but also arranged a smooth private transportation to the train station.
Other way, thank you so much for your unreal contribution but the reviews was not fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winner”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

So glad we did his trip and visited one of the hightlights of vietnam in a relaxed and quiet manner! Few other tourist boats, good food on board, honest crew,...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gijsbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrTung, Owner at Cat Ba Ventures, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello!
We firstly would like to say thank you very much for joining us and we are happier to see your good reviews. Your feedback will be very helpful to others. It's our great pleasure to organize the trip for you and hope that you will come back one day.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat Ba Ventures also viewed

 

Been to Cat Ba Ventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing