We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FEW DAYS.”
Review of The Grange & Links

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grange & Links
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a KGB voucher for this hotel and with these offers you are always hopeful you get a nice hotel, with this one we were not disappointed. had a very friendly welcome, especially from Charlie (the beautiful brown lab) Our room was large and very comfy, yes a bit dated but think it added to the charm. Breakfast was sooo nice, and very well cooked. We had dinner on both nights of our stay and they were lovely. Had the Thursday night special which was a great offer, full marks to hotel for doing such a good offer
We were in that area for a funeral so on one morning we made tea in our room and took it down to the lounge and sat watching TVand reading the papers until it was time for us to go out. Such a relaxing friendly hotel. will return, with or without the voucher.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppycat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 384 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a great weekend at The Grange, we arrived to a friendly welcome with information about the hotel and surrounding area, our room was a lot bigger than most rooms we've stayed in - a bit dated but very clean and comfortable with everything we needed to keep us happy. The breakfast was of very high standard with lots of choice and good quality food. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend to anyone. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I got married at the Grange and Links on the 1st of September this year and it was a fantastic occasion at this wonderful Hotel. The hotel and grounds are ideal for weddings and the helpfulness and professionalism of the staff are faultless. You will not be dissapointed

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although we had to find The Grange through a thick blanket of fog, it was well worthwhile when we got there.
We were given a huge room that could have accommodated several more than just us two, so we were very comfortable. Fixtures and fitting throughout the hotel are a little tired but not the extent that they are objectionable.
The biggest plus for us was the food. Very reasonably priced we were truly impressed by the quality (and quantity) of it.
Add to this a very welcoming staff and it all added up to a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

booked the grange and links as a memory trip I stayed here every year as a child for our annual hols so the last time I stayed would be 1968 or 9 . So glad I came back yes Its dated but not in a bad way the room was clean large and had every thing we wanted all the staff are great We had a great drink in the bar loads of locals the meal we had the special sirloin steak two meals plus bottle of wine for £15.00 amazing value and a great steak puds are genuine home made are also great breakfast the next morning was all good quality what we liked was although this was not the most up to date place we have stayed the staff care the quality of the product is good no cheap brands we have been to much fancier places and not felt as looked after well done grange and links my memory is intact we will be back.

Room Tip: dont know about the other rooms we has room one a superking with two single beds as well and still l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabbycatzPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from a short break Wowcher deal (two nights B&B for two people, £69) so VERY good value for money!

However, as other reviewers have commented, the whole place is a little "dowdy", the decor would benefit from some degree of refreshment. The room size is superb; we had room 4, with a double bed, two singles and en-suite bathroom, Great views over the gardens at the rear of the hotel, plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, enough I would guess for four people to share without getting in each others way too much.

We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night (Thursday) because it is a "Special Deal" night (Sirloin Steak and bottle of wine for two people for £15, a lot of the advertising material says £14 but the price has increased!) Since neither I nor my wife drink wine we asked for soft drinks as a replacement for the wine (arguably cheaper for the hotel?) but the restaurant manageress told us the deal was for wine only (despite the fact that I had asked at Reception on check-in whether a soft drink substitution was acceptable and been assured it was)! Eventually, after she had gone somewhere, presumably to discuss our "request", she returned with the soft drinks and the meal and dessert (not included in the "Special Deal") were of very good quality.

Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of Cereals, Fruit Juice etc. and a (very) Full (and filling) cooked English Breakfast. Other options are also available.

However, and this is the reason for not awarding even four stars. Soon after first entering our room it became noticeable that the temperature was falling quite rapidly; subsequent checking of the two radiators in the room and the one in the bathroom proved that the latter was working quite well, whilst the other two were stone-cold, despite having their thermostatic valves fully open. A phone call to reception brought the receptionist to our room, who proceeded to manipulate the valves, to no effect. He then said he would mention the problem to the Duty Manager; approximately half an hour later an electric convector heater was brought to the room, with the promise that another was available if required. The one more than adequately heated the room (leaving the bathroom door open also meant the heat of its radiator permeated out to the whole area.) However, it was clearly not a good idea to leave an electric heater switched on all the time, so, first thing in the morning (especially after a frosty night) the room was not as warm as one might hope! It is to be hoped that the hotel corrects this "problem" before the real deep cold of Winter really begins to bite, especially since the supplied duvet is rather thin and we needed an additional (supplied in room) blanket on the bed.

One other (much lesser) grumble I have; the hotel's wi-fi coverage was very patchy in our room, more often than not my phone indicated it as "out-of range".

So, overall, a real mixture of plus and minus points!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden area have a more pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just come back from a two night stay and I could not say a bad word about this hotel . Sorry the shower was poor no power that's it !! breakfast was top class bedroom was massive !! And the golf was great at £10.50 a round look forward to going back :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adiscaff5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton-on-Sea
5.3 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
55 reviews
10.0 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
10.3 mi away
North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
70 reviews
5.4 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
11.9 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#5 of 25 in Skegness
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grange & Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange & Links

Address: Sea Lane | Sandilands, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Price Range: $104 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grange & Links 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange & Links is an iconic seaside hotel on the Lincolnshire coast, a short walk from the beach in Sandilands, near Sutton-on-Sea. We have a busy bar and restaurant, both serving quality food. Perfect for family and short breaks, the hotel is dog friendly, with several rooms available for guests with pets. Affiliated with Sandilands Golf Club, guests are welcome to play this challenging links course, which being free-draining plays well all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Grange & Links reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange And Links Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing