We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely accomodation”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Mablethorpe Seal Sanctuary and Nature Centre
A small part of the beach at Sutton-on-Sea
Sutton-on-Sea paddling pool and childrens play areas.
Sutton-on-Sea rose gardens.
Sutton-on-Sea bowling green, gardens and beach huts on the promenade.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IanSliw
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could Have Been Better”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very clean and tidy and the kitchen was well stacked. Peter was there to meet us and show us around and so we had no problem getting the key.

Towels were not provided but a set was for sale for £8. I thought this was a very cheap and mean stunt. Of course, when you arrive on a Sunday there's not much you can do but pay for the set, which were very poor quality. We have gone self-catering many times before and this is the first time this has happened. When the on-line advert says 'linen' is provided, this usually includes the towels, not just the bedding.

The central heating was excellent and the house was as warm as you wanted it to be, but the bed linen was extremely inadequate. A reasonable quilt for the double bed but only extremely thin quilts for the singles and no spare bed linen at all. We needed to keep the central heating on to compensate, so the owner would save money on his fuel bills by supplying adequate bed linen!

Also, although we didn't need it, one of the two single beds was extremely uncomfortable. It was a spring base with a very thin mattress, through which you could feel the springs. This is not at all adequate for a fourth person. The two sofas in the lounge were also of very poor quality indeed. Just foam rubber cushions with a cover thrown over them. Not really a sofa at all and not very comfortable.

Wi-fi access was advertised but not accessible. The DVD remote needed a new battery. The shower was tepid and lukewarm at all times, even when turned up to maximum heat. The property was advertised as adequate for 3-4 people, but we were only two and found it very cramped.

Despite all this, it had many pleasant features and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you for the opportunity for the feedback.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen was excellent. The TV reception was perfect.
Liked least: No wi-fi, poor bedding and a tepid shower
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at out holiday cottage. I have to say that I disagree with just about everything you say.

1. Towels. Nowhere on the description of the property does it say that towels are provided. Also, I sent you an e-mail on 2nd February with directions and a copy of our terms and conditions, which clearly state that we do not provide towels. If you didn’t read it that’s not my fault. Why don’t we provide towels? Well, many of our guests prefer to bring their own. Secondly, being a family run small business offering short breaks we felt that we wouldn’t be able to provide enough clean dry towels at the required frequency.
2. The pack of towels that we sold you for £8 (And if you care to check the Argos web site you will find that that is what they cost.) Is not a ‘cheap and mean stunt’! What a horrible thing to say. We like to think that the spare bale of towels that we keep to hand is actually intended to assist our guests who have forgotten to bring theirs.
3. ‘The bed linen was extremely inadequate’ Astounding! This is completely subjective opinion. In the main bedroom there is a king size 13.5 tog duvet on a standard double bed and the mattress is 8 months old. In the second bedroom, which has 2 single beds with light quilts is generally used for children, so maybe it shouldn’t be a surprise when ‘large’ adults sit on them that you can feel the springs. Both beds and mattresses are the same age.
4. ‘We needed to keep the central heating on’ It’s FEBRUARY its cold outside.
5. ‘No spare linen’ So not only do you expect a set of linen that keeps you snug in February without central heating, you wanted a spare set too!
6. The sofas. What planet are you on, the sofas were purchased from a major chain, and have a throws over them to protect them from spills. You are now just being spiteful; there is nothing wrong with any of the furniture in The Stables.
7. Wi-Fi. Instructions are provided for Wi-Fi. We have a tablet permanently connected to the guest Wi-Fi and the previous guests managed to get connected. We state that Wi-Fi is available, which it is. But do remember that Wi-Fi depends on the quality of your equipment, not just the source.
8. The DVD remote needed a new battery – and you could have told me at any time but chose to do so as you were leaving. Had you informed me earlier it would have been replaced in a minute. All equipment and batteries are checked before each hire, but batteries can go at any time.
9. Shower. I have just checked and it seems perfectly fine to me. But then isn’t shower temperature subjective? Unfair to complain about something that is obviously personal preference.
10. ‘Cramped’ It’s a converted stable, it sleeps four, kitchen table seats four, sofas seat five. What are you talking about?
11. Conclusion: When you arrived I explained to you that if you have any problems, if anything doesn’t work, you can’t find anything, etc, just walk over and knock on our door anytime from 8am to 10pm. Did you do this? NO. I always like to see my guests after their first night, just to make sure that everything was OK. I saw you on at least two occasions during your stay, did you mention any problems to me. NO.
12. In fact, during your four night stay, the only problem you mentioned was the DVD remote battery - just as you were leaving, and you said it didn’t matter anyway. Nice.
13. The Stables is a holiday cottage for up to four persons. It is idea for a family stay. If you come out of season, it might be cold and wet, that’s what the heating is for.
14. Your review is factually incorrect, disrespectful, spiteful and nasty.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PollyWoll...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodation”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This accommodation was short of nothing. We had a phone call on the day from Peter saying that the property was ready for us and a warm welcome from him and his daughter on our arrival. They even helped us unload the car!! And the welcome pack was er...most welcoming! Home made bread, eggs, milk, butter, biscuits - WOW.

The house itself was excellent. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked with every utensil you could ever wish for. The TV and DVD player worked. The shower was good - but as Peter said - only built for munchkins (under 5' 10") as we were all under 5'4" it didn't matter to us! The advert boasted broadband access, but I couldn't access it on any of the four devices that we had taken. I didn't query it with Peter - which he said I should have done. But I decided I was on my holidays - why did I need internet anyway!!!

The only down side - which has been mentioned - it is right on the side of a very busy road. The traffic may well keep you awake at night. It disturbed me, it didn't really matter to me but it might bother other people.

I would definitely book this property again, If they'll have us....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Stables.

Wi-Fi access is proving difficult. I believe that this is mainly due to the building being so well insulated the signal cannot get in or out. Guest sometimes find they get a poor mobile reception here in places. We are looking at ways to improve this, but we may have to wait until mid 2015 when this area gets superfast broadband.

The comment that we are on a 'very busy road' isn't really fair. Most of the day the road is very quiet. At Harvest time there is more farm traffic and during August there are more tourist vehicles but this is mostly daytime and even then there are long periods with no vehicles in sight. If this was a very busy road, we wouldn't have moved here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contented...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasant property with friendly owners”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a good time at the property. It's not large but is well equipped and very well looked after. The location is good for trips to the beach, especially the Lincolnshire Coastal Country Park. The owners were very helpful and friendly without being obtrusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and owners
Liked least: Lack of wifi a little disappointing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay. We are aware that some guests, but not all, are having difficulty connecting to Wi-Fi which is something we are actively looking to improve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlliK70
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent self catering unit perfect for a small family!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just returned from three nights at The Stables. Lovely accommodation, very well equipped, extremely clean, even though its small it's more than adequate for a short break being five minutes drive from a lovely large clean beach at Sutton. Hosts were very helpful, supplied brilliant welcome pack including lovely freshly baked bread. Would def recommend to a family as the garden was great for the kids - when the sun was out!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmalyr
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful getaway from it all with easy access to attractions and places to visit.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My sisters and I had a lovely stay at the stables in Hannah. First of all the accommodation was comfortable and well equipped and perfect for what we needed as we were out and about most of the day.
The welcome pack was lovely and very much appreciated after the journey and the bread was delicious.
Yes there was a main road and there was traffic but this was stated in the description and we didn't find it excessive and still found it a very peaceful area.
The owner was friendly and suggested places to visit and lent us a very helpful area map whiles we were there with details for shopping and petrol etc which we made good use of on our outings in such a nice county.
Its definitely a great place to get away from it all at a great price and so close to lots of areas to visit. We visited several seasides and towns and had a brilliant time. Many thanks for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westsmith
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this property at the beginning of August with our 5year old granddaughter. The accommodation was well equipped and everything had been thought of. The welcome tray was exceptional and home made bread delicious. The owners were very accommodating of our requests and enquiries both before we arrived and whilst there.
The property itself was suitable for our needs and was safe for the little one, a high garden gate prevented escapes and an outside area for playing so consider taking some outside toys suitable for a small garden. There is no bath but the quirky shower was good, the bedrooms were average size and big enough for a weeks stay. The kitchen is well equipped and a decent freezer was appreciated as the nearest shops are in Sutton.
There is easy access to Sutton on Sea and it's amenities (5 mins away by car) and other attractions.
On the whole the accommodation was comfortable, clean and well decorated. The only downside is that the property is next to a country road which at certain times could be noisy - about half hour in a morning and evening but this is not the M1! and we had the windows open cos the weather was hot. Would recommend for couple or young family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendlyness of owners, equippment provided.
Liked least: road side location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2013
We would agree with this review and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Stables does back onto a country road and if you have the main bedroom window open during the day there will be a little road noise although it is a very quiet road most of the day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing