We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time...”
Review of The Bacchus Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sutton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bacchus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A step back in time...”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

One can only assume that 1974 was an exceptional year for the Bacchus Hotel, as time has frozen leaving this 'unique' establishment trapped there; a living reminder of yester-year. From tassled lampshades to lurid pink curtains, the decor is reminiscent of 'faintly eccentric, elderly persons proudly invite you to view their council house'. As marvelous as this sounds, readers may be saddened to hear that there are in fact NO knitted dollies hiding the spare loo rolls :(
This one oversight notwithstanding, I can heartily recommend the Bacchus Hotel should you have a friend or family member who has suffered a concusion and still believes it to be the 1970's.
It'd be too easy to draw comparisons between the Bacchus and Fawlty Towers, but that'd be a cheap shot and all too easy (and probably done to death by now by those unfortunates who strayed here).
Oh, and one final thing; do not accept room 10 or if you do, do not leave anything of value in the room - there is an emergency exit in room 10 meaning "in case of fire, make sure you're dressed as you'll be having company", I kid you not, there is a (obviously UNLOCKED for safety reasons) door that leads from the corrider into your room that leads to the fire escape proper. It's funny until someone decides they want a sneaky cigerette on the fire escape... O.o

Room Tip: There is a fire exit which means persons leaving through Room 10 - avoid it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applebyscunthorpe, Owner at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
I'm sorry to be informed that you did not like your room despite your comments about pink curtains of which they happen to be a golden stone colour, this happens to be one of the most favoured rooms being refurbished last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    94
    28
    24
    18
See reviews for
103
117
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Was recommended to try your meal deal but we were disappointed with the quality of the
food eg. we had rump steak which looked rather grey and not fresh, also cheese omelette with
barely any cheese in it teaspoonful of peas with both meals so we were raher disappointed with
whole thing, Lincolnshire is well known for good quality food at reasonable prices hence wont
be recommending you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great carvery in the run up to Christmas, prices are about to go up a tiny amount but will still be good value. The key thing for me was the clean presentation of the carvery buffet section itself. They have gone for very deep vegetable wells which mean items do not bleed into each other. As my daughter has severe allergies this means we know things like the cauliflower cheese have gone nowhere near anything else. Great service even when busy

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MattdeKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Friendly and helpful on the phone when I booked, happy to promote a discount. When I said we had a dog, we were offered 'The Cottage' at the back. A 2 bedroomed self-contained cottage with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable sitting area. We could park outside. Great for the dog as we were yards from the pub garden and 100m away from Promenade and beach.
The bathroom was small but adequate.
The rear entrance to the hotel was about 20m away. A lively well used pub, good food, friendly service and excellent own brewed beer,

Room Tip: Ask about the availability of the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Came to stay last minute on Monday 14th October 2013 for 2 nights, rooms are very well decorated and very clean and comfortable. Meals at the hotel and breakfast was lovely. The hotel staff was very friendly too. Great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

On reading the previous feedback below I could not believe we had stayed at the same place?We have stayed on many occasions at the Bacchus and have found the hotel to be extremely well run with a homely and relaxing feel to the place.All the staff I have had any dealings with have been very courteous and obliging and I could not have expected more.As usual the Sunday lunch was impeccable which is why we keep returning.I paid £85 for a double which included a wonderful waitress served breakfast and a lovely 100 metre stroll to the beach! - excellent value in my book!We will be back.

Room Tip: If you have any requirement please ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed here when I was around 5 im now 22 and nothing has changed since, the rooms where the same but now very shabby, old fashioned and dirty. Needs a massive revamp, the room was dusty, hairs in the bed and had a funny smell. the whole place smelled of fried food after standing in there for 10 minutes your clothes stink of what seems like chip fat. Never went to the bar but ate Sunday lunch which wasn't very nice at all. There was one member off staff that was very rude throughout our stay. We were charged £82 for one night I would never go back or recommend to anyone other than to stay away. I would value the stay at £40 tops.

Room Tip: The room was quite as it wasn't to near the bar, room 21 we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heidi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applebyscunthorpe, Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Im very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us,although it's a pity about the sarcastic inuendo's and undertones you use.
For our part all the rooms are completly stripped, with fresh towels,sheets,pillowcases and toileteries for each new guest and the rooms cleaned thoroughly,see other review complimenting our cleanliness.
This room was completly refurbished ten months ago,with a new 32 inch wall mounted Tv bedroom furniture ,carpet and curtains,the bathroom was redecorated three months ago.All the staff are extremely friendly and helpfull when spoken to in the same manner and strive to ensure your stay with us is an enjoyable experience and i would go as far to say our Sunday lunch is the most popular in the area with people travelling up to forty miles each week to join us.
If you had mentioned that you wern't happy with your room we would have gladly found an alternative.
The rest of your group were very complimentary (and indeed stayed an extra night)about there stay when they departed on the Monday morning.
Once again i'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but thankfully the vast majority do and return time after time.
O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton-on-Sea
0.9 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
375 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alford
53 reviews
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Best Western Vine Hotel
Best Western Vine Hotel
#7 of 26 in Skegness
517 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 26 in Skegness
257 reviews
12.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bacchus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Hotel

Property: The Bacchus Hotel
Address: 17 High Street, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bacchus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing