We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our motor cycle weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bacchus Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sutton-on-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bacchus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our motor cycle weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Bacchus Hotel was the central point of our weekend with 24 friends. We found the place to be very cosy and welcoming. The staff were friendly and helpful - if we had a problem or a query, they tried to do something about it straightaway. Obviously it is not a 5 star hotel in the centre of a city, but if you want to go somewhere at the coast in a little town right next to the beach with miles of promenade to walk along - then it is spot on!
The service at meal times was great - we thought that the breakfasts especially were really good with loads of choice.
Rooms were bright,clean with plenty of tea provided!
It is a pub with plenty of seating, good beer and a nice atmosphere - used by the locals, but if you prepared to blend in and just want to enjoy yourself then it's fine.
We would definitely go back as all of our party were quite satisfied with the accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to give you a choice, then you can choose your own! Rooms are not palatial but they m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iconicmug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    90
    27
    23
    17
See reviews for
100
106
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not all reviews for this hotel are favorable, and I really want to be fair, so here goes;- Sunday lunch with my parents. On the truly negative side the vegetarian option is not good. 2 choices, vegetable lasagna, (which does not go with a Sunday roast) or broccoli bake, which was my choice. It was tasteless, no evidence of seasoning, potatoes and tiny pieces of broccoli in a strange unappealing sauce, which had not seen the inside of a oven to warrant the 'bake'. Also it was a little disconcerting to watch the 'meat carver' bending down behind the counter to shove meat in his mouth!
On the positive side and I think this is important to remember, the place was booked out with mainly older clients, (many like my parents, locals), who had a choice of roast meats, somewhat 'soft' vegetables, delicious roast parsnips and potatoes, and who like my parents thoroughly enjoyed their Sunday roast.
I did mention to the waitress how tasteless my meal was, and she did agree to pass the comments on to the chef. I would have been impressed if the manager had acknowledged this when we paid, but nothing was mentioned.
All in all my overall impression of this place is that it is a little tired, our waitress was pleasant, the gentleman who took our money, (the manager?) not a great people person, (no basic pleasantries when greeting, did not even walk us to our table, just pointed!) Not a place I would choose to eat in again, but as I mentioned before greatly enjoyed by older family members,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12MDW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We'll begin our balanced and constructive review on a positive note, and see where it goes.

On arrival we were very impressed when the manager gave us a choice of two rooms; we had quick look in each and thought that room 15 would be noisy as it was directly opposite the Park Tavern pub, a very lively pub by all accounts. We chose room 6 and found it to be clean and quite cosy. During the day, the room was fairly noisy with the window open as it was only about 40ft from the main road through Sutton on Sea; however, we were pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was at night. The double bed was very, very comfortable but it appeared to snore heavily on one side ;) The tea making facilities provided in the room were better than average and the small TV had many channels. We found the staff to be very helpful, friendly and upbeat as was the landlord. We did think that the landlord’s comments to us about the Park Tavern Pub directly opposite the Bacchus Pub, to be inappropriate. The evening fight at eight thirty every night as alluded to by the landlord of the Bacchus pub, did not transpire.

The Bacchus Pub caters well for its elderly and disabled visitors, there is a stair lift installed along with numerous disability grab rails. We initially thought that these rails were attached to doors, which we seemed unable to open.

We were constantly reminded that the Bacchus is essentially a pub with rooms. We were aware of a pervading aroma of stale beer in the air which seemed to emanate from carpets in the bar. We thought the interior of the building was a little on the dark side and the decor could have benefited from attention. The Bacchus pub charges £82 per night which we thought was expensive for what it had to offer. We concluded that it was overpriced by around £40 per night.

The en-suite shower room! The shower was easy to operate and the water was hot, drainage of the shower tray was a little slow but it meant that you could go for a paddle while having a shower. When sitting down on the loo we had to be careful not to bang our chin on the wash basin. When we first arrived we noticed that a sash had been placed on the toilet seat which read “for your protection this toilet has been sanitised” or something like that, we had cause to doubt the authenticity of the claim on the sash. The most memorable feature of the en-suite was what appeared to be the aroma of urine which seemed all the more pungent once the room was warm and moist from use of the shower. When the room was cooler, the smell of urine seemed to be concentrated on the carpet around the toilet area. We certainly won’t forget it. Perhaps the aroma stems from the fact that dogs are catered for at the Bacchus.

Moving on, outside sported a large beer garden, sadly the same aura of partial neglect was present with tables in need of a fresh coat of varnish and a flower garden choked up with weeds. A large awning along one side of the grass space dominated the garden.

Civil weddings were advertised on a large white banner at the front of the pub and it seemed difficult to believe that this pub would appeal to prospective happy couples in search of a wedding venue. We think the photograph of the pub as advertised on the web site home page paints a brighter picture than we found.

Interestingly, there was no visitors book or comment cards for us to express our views about our stay but at least we had breakfast to look forward to ~ ~ ~

Okay, breakfast!

The breakfast room was quite large, well laid out and the tables were well spaced. As we entered the breakfast room there was a wide range of cereals and fruit juices to select from. The tables were clean and nicely set out with a very good selection of small jars of jam. We opted for the cooked breakfast but this was a mistake. On arrival, my full English breakfast, although beautifully presented was completely cold, with the exception of the sausage. The egg was largely uncooked and did a good impression of a jelly fish. I asked the waitress if she would mind putting some more heat on the egg and she duly obliged. When my breakfast returned I tasted the beans, they were stone cold, as were the tinned tomatoes and the bacon. At this point I gave up and decided to forego the breakfast. The waitress asked if everything was alright and I politely confirmed that it was not. A waiter asked if he could cook another breakfast for me and once again I politely declined. The whole idea of a cooked breakfast is that it is cooked; I can’t ever remember needing two attempts to cook a hot breakfast and I didn’t feel there was any point in giving the cook another opportunity to disappoint.

Our experience confirmed our thoughts that we were in a pub and not a hotel. It also confirmed our thoughts that the price per night was excessive and that, all in all, there were too many issues for us to consider returning. For us, the Bacchus is a pub with rooms and not a hotel with a bar. It seemed to us that the Bacchus had lost its identity and that it wasn’t sure of what it wanted to be. If it wants to be a hotel it could be a good hotel, if it wants to be a pub it could be a good pub, we didn’t get a sense that it could be good at being both.

What was very clear to us is that the Bacchus is perfectly situated to provide accommodation to anyone visiting Sutton on Sea which is a great little coastal town with fantastic beaches. It is a shame that the Bacchus features so poorly in these reviews but that fact is down to only one person. It seems that feedback on Trip Advisor is causing the landlord some difficulty. It would cause him less difficulty if he realised the value of valid constructive criticism.

It seems that whenever a poor review is written here it is swiftly followed by defensive statements from the landlord. Most notably, the landlord appears to be of the mind that his visitors MUST inform him of any problems before they leave. Constructive comments from visitors would more likely be made if they were invited to do so. As mentioned earlier, there was no visitor book in the room or comment cards to encourage visitors to rate their stay and we were certainly not questioned at all by the landlord as to our satisfaction, or more appropriately, our dissatisfaction.

Conclusion: We won’t be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pilly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applebyscunthorpe, Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Firstly, the Bacchus Hotel is a 17th Century Coaching Inn.

The gentleman was shown 2 rooms, one with a larger ensuite, but chose the alternative. Despite his claims, this was spotlessly fresh.

The stem of his complaint involves his breakfast. This was prepared by a junior member of staff who unfortunately made an error. Although a replacement was offered immediately the gentleman became irrate and unapproachable.

He mentions 'dogs'. Dogs are only allowed into 2 bedrooms rooms, his was not one of them.

In his review, the gentleman has chosen to ramble on about slight inadequacies which would be common in any establishment during a busy summer period.

As regards his comments of my defensiveness, there are always two sides to every story and it is my right to reply.

On receiving his review, I did try to contact the gentleman direct but he refused to speak with me. I accept from time to time mistakes are made, especially when the Hotel is fully booked through the summer season, but my staff and I do try to improve services and are willing to listen, happy to act on any relevant points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting family for a christening staff were brilliant and very friendly food was good clean and tidy great value for money couldnt fault the place will be returning thanks Bacchus

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights over the bank holiday/beer festival and had a fantastic three days. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and tidy. We found the staff and service very efficient and welcoming, particularly Anthony and the breakfast staff... nothing was too much for them. Bar food was of good quality and great value for money. The children very much enjoyed the beach and local playground areas. We will definitely be coming back next year and very much look forward to trying the Sunday carvery again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

In the most part we were very disappointed with our stay. We are a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 11 & 4, on booking we were told the family rooms were booked but could squeeze in to a medium size room, squeeze was an understatement, the chap who showed us to our room tried to help by removing furniture - however we were still charged for the family room, would be nice to have a little flexibility to make us feel like we had value for money in this regard.
Our evening meal was a disaster, each course took an age to arrive & total meal time was over 2 hours, which is no fun with the little one. But to make things worse the fustration of the waiter with the diners was blatantly obvious, at one point during the evening he was rude to an old man (in at least his 80's & dining alone) for not reserving his table, inexcusable behaviour in my opinion. The meal was average especially the steak which was a very cheap cut. With no dessert menu as such the staff were made to repeat a list of desserts from which we could choose (which does not help them when they are busy) we asked if we could have the chocolate cake (warm) with ice cream. I'm not sure the chef was happy with this as he first sent out the waiter to let us know the cake would melt (fine by me) & then again to let us know that this just wasn't possible as it would explode in the microwave. OK, so by this time we just wanted to leave & were past the point of arguing. On returning to our 'compact' (but full price) room we were looking forward to an early night & getting the kids to sleep, no chance. The hotel beer festival below our window was in full swing with a band playing so loud that even with the windows shut we could hear every word of every song. Dont get me wrong on another night without the kids I would have been out there enjoying it, but honestly if you run a hotel & are booking a family in a room knowing full well that a band are playing under the window then you must let your customers know, my 4 year old boy could not sleep until 11.15pm when the music stopped. Generally disappointed & wont be returning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
applebyscunthorpe, Front Office Manager at The Bacchus Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are really sorry to read your comments at that you had a dissappointing stay,The Beer festival weekend is the busiest and most popular weekend of the year and there is music played untill ~11.15pm.However this is advertised on our website and persons are also informed on booking.The room you booked was a triple room which generaly sleeps three persons,as we had no other alternative,and due to your keeness we agreed to place a portable bed which could be folded away to give you more space,its worth noting that in this case we we charged your children £9.00 per night which also included breakfast.
The hotel staff pride themselves on customer service,and would never treat anyone with disrespect (please see other reviews) unfortunatly, the night you mention the hotel was extremely busy ,however you should have been informed if there was more than a 30minute wait on food.The kitchen that night served over 150 meals and we had not one complaint. Table checks are made on customers and if there are any issues these are always dealt with in a courteus and proper manner.Once again we really sorry you had a reason to complain but if you had mentioned them to anyone at the time we would have tried to resolve all your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here with my two children (9 and 7) and found the overall visit excellent, the staff were very friendly,polite and helpful during our stay,the room was nice and homely with plenty of hanging room / storage and a tv for the kids, clean and tidy. There was a good range on the menu to suit all of us and the food itself was really nice.would defiantly return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton-on-Sea
0.9 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
5.6 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
23.3 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
11.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bacchus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bacchus Hotel

Property: The Bacchus Hotel
Address: 17 High Street, Sutton-on-Sea LN12 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Sutton-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sutton-on-Sea
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bacchus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing