We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Nearby Hotels
The Grange & Links(Sutton-on-Sea)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Hotel(Skegness)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,735)
Filter reviews
1,735 results
Traveler rating
616
516
299
142
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
616
516
299
142
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslive loungeseal sanctuaryoutdoor poolspar shopsand trainquayside restaurantstandard caravanfamily holidayevening entertainmentfairground ridespapa johnsfair ridesfun faircentral heatingco ophigh ropesmaple rise
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 1,735 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been to Golden Sands before, but it was a few years ago and we wanted a cheap break with the kids and dog so opted to go again. I phoned the park about a week before we went to request a caravan on a quiet part of the park due to our dog having a heart condition and we didnt want a caravan next to a though path to upset her. We arrived a little early but check in was smooth and the lady on reception friendly. The caravan was great, we travel alot with our dog and understand that this means we get the bottom class of accomodation, however, here we had our own decking, gas central heating throughout the caravan, it was clean, double glazed and very welcoming. It is a good walk from Mablethorpe, but on a dry day its a lovely walk along the beach and the sand train back was good value (we did this several times). The on site resturant was lovely, we had 3 meals and every time they seemed to get better and good value too. We used the swimming pool which has been upgraded this year, the kids loved it, the only moan would be they only opened the outside pool once the whole week we where there and to be fair the weather was okay and it should have been open. The shows where okay, the kids enjoyed them, but we didnt stay much in the pub, choosing to have a few drinks in the caravan instead. Nice little play ground on site, however, it was aimed at younger children, my 8 year old soon got bored but my 5 year old could have stopped there all day! We had chips from Cooks the on site fish and chip once and my advise would be dont bother, they where just re-heated oven chips!! Overall a good cheap break away.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a certain part of the park, phone and ask.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenS382, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, It’s wonderful to hear that you arrived and your check in was easy for you. For families with pets we provide a standard grade of caravan and we wouldn’t class them as the bottom class it is purely the name of the accommodation. It’s great to hear that you were really happy with the caravan allocated and I hope we were able to meet your request of the location for you and your family to relax.

I am really happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the facilities we have to offer at Golden Sands especially the Restaurant and the swimming pool, I am so sorry to hear that the outdoor pool wasn’t open much during your stay, I have personally spoken to the Sports and Leisure Manager and he advised that if there is no demand for the outdoor pool they will not be able to open it, we do try and have the pool open as much as possible.

I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy the experience at our cooks fish and chip shop, I have passed your comments onto the Complex Manager and he sends his sincere apologies. We have trialled a number of different types of chip products, looking at both fresh and frozen options. A key factor is ensuring that we have the correct consistency of product at all times, as a result of this trial all of our parks have now entered into a contract with the supplier that delivered the most consistent results. Hopefully when you return in the future you will have a much better experience with our product.

I would like to again thank you for taking the time to write your review and sharing your holiday experience with future guests. We hope that you return very soon and we look forward to welcoming you back. Rachel H, reception Manager, Golden Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

just got back today from a long weekend with my partner and want to say what a wonderfull place. caravan spotless and had everything we needed even an extra loo!! staff lovely and helpfull.we went into mablethorpe and skeggness .onsite facilities good and the pool fab. great pub just outside the site if you fancy a change ( ferry boat inn ) path up the side to the beach. back to golden sands we wish we were staying for longer. had such a great time im back on the website to find another haven break away. dont let bad reviews put you off we had a ball.

Room Tip: go for a caravan with heating can get chilly at night and early morning
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SethP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenS382, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review and letting our potential guest know about your stay with us.

It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer as a park from the caravan to the swimming pool. Not only the park but the surrounding areas as well such as Skegness and also the pub opposite the park near the beach. Mablethorpe is a very traditional seaside town and I am glad you had a wonderful time.

We can’t wait for you to return to Haven and its fantastic that you are already looking to book again, if you would like to contact us direct on 01507 477871 we have a dedicated team waiting to take your call, we would love to look after your booking for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Rachel H, Reception manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have been coming to haven for a few years now and the reason we go to golden sands is because my mother in law is an owner there so it makes it easier for us for her to see our children. Now recently some of you may know that they have just spent £1.8 million on the new pool layout, now the layout is good and the new water things in the childrens pool but the floor in the childrens pool is very rough and ruined my mother in laws swimming costume, my bikini and my partners swimming shorts that i paid £40 for, my husband also cut his elbow on the floor of the childs pool whilst playing with our children. Complaints have been made a few times but we get the same answer everytime which is we are lying about what has happened even though we can show them proof, its disgusting that we get accused of lying simply because they cant stand that they are getting complaints. I wont be swimming in the pool again because it destroys our swim wear and they state that the pool is warm enough but it quite simply isn't and its disgusting, the changing rooms are freezing, there is only one family changing room which to me is unexceptable as its a family holiday resort so there should be more than one baby changing/ family sized room and the changing rooms arent always clean either. The quayside restaurant is another dissapointment as i ate there whilst there this time round and couldnt finish my food as it was swimming in grease and oil, it tasted disgusting and on top of that its a minimum of 40minutes to wait for your food, even for sandwhiches and ice cream, now they claim this wait is because they make it fresh that is complete rubbish, my husband is a chef and it take him a maxium of 20 minutes to serve up fresh food, it doesnt taste fresh and sure as hell does not look fresh. The entertainment is shockingly bad as well. The food also made me feel rather poorly as im now feeling sick and have quite bad tummy pains from eating their food. All in all im very, very dissapointed with the golden sands resort and will most likely be going to butlins next year with my children as i would rather pay the little bit extra to have the better facilities and the cleaner, polite staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our first holiday of this kind with our little 5 year old. As we drove up to the park we were met by Mick, a very enthusiastic park character - who quickly described where best to park and where to check in. The Haven reps were out on the lawn at the front of main reception keeping the kids entertained whist we queued to book in...no more than 10minutes and a lot of people had arrived to check in at the same time as us as it was the school holidays. We had upgraded to a higher level of caravan and were glad of the central heating as it was needed to take the chill off the rooms in the morning. The caravan was situated on Holly Drive, a quiet cul-de-sac away from the main area - roads were nice and wide and quiet so we had no worried letting the little one play on her scooter. The site is very flat and ideal for people with difficulties getting around. Haven give tips on what to bring, but like numpties we didn't read it, packed in a rush and forgot the essentials - short drive into Mablethorpe to Lord Brothers sorted everything out. Highlight of the stay was the swimming pool - very popular and busy but never to busy to be cramped - 20p for the lockers - plenty of room. At peak times there's 4 lifeguards on - and they do a brilliant job - very vigilant and not afraid to ask you to stick to the rules - One at a time on the slide, kids who cant swim to wear armbands or ring etc when they are in the main pool (not carried by mum and dad). Cleanliness was spot on in the pool and the site was well maintained. Caravan was clean - a few cobwebs here and there but nothing to get upset about. Downside was the oven - it would not maintain its temperature and we couldn't use it. Having said that on ringing reception they did send someone round - the first night within half an hour and the 2nd night within the hour. Unfortunately the promise of a report on the oven didn't materialise and we ended up purchasing ready meals from the on site spar to microwave! Can't comment on the entertainment as the pool, soft play area, playground and fairground were enough for us - We did try the Pizza place - nothing too special. but adequate. Could have done with a table and chairs outside but next year we'll remember to take our own! Would have no problems recommending this site to anyone, especially families and we will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelleAlHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenS382, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Golden Sands.
Its sounds as though you had a great time for your first experience of Haven, from the meet and greet to your departure. It’s wonderful to hear that your daughter was able to be in a secure area where she could play and the location for you was perfect.

The swimming pool is something that the team at park are very proud of; due to the refurbishment it has become very popular and has a great atmosphere. I have spoken with the Sports and Leisure Manager and he would like to thank you for your comments regarding his team.

I would like to sincerely apologise that you had a problem with your oven during your stay; this is something I will be speaking with the Maintenance Manager and my team regarding the follow up procedure for this. It's great we were able to come to you so quickly however if there was a problem we would have contaced you and I am sorry that on this occasion this was not the case.

It’s lovely to hear that you would recommend our park and that you will be returning to us next year, If you would like to book direct with the park then please call one of our reception team on 01507 477871 and they would love to look after your booking. If you liked the area you were staying and would like to be there or in a similar area then please let the team know and we will be able to request this for you.
Rachel H, Reception Manager. Golden Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we went for a long weekend on an electric pitch (don't forget your electric hook up adapter) took our own tent, with two children age 6.
field and price were reasonable. not too far to walk to mablethorpe/beach we went a couple of years ago and must say that the revamp in the swimming pool is excellent. toilets as expected bit smelly but ok. quayside restaurant did nice food and not as bad on prices than we thought, lovely food. love papa johns but way to pricey. kids had a fab time swimming, 2p machines and classic haven entertainment. would go again at the right price. as we love having everything on one site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenS382, Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer. The swimming pool is something that we are very proud of and it’s great that you were able to see the difference in the refurbishment and the children had a fab time in there.

We have a brand new menu in the restaurant with a bit more variety of food choices for everyone we are so glad you enjoyed it; I have passed your comments onto the Restaurant Manager and he will pass them onto his team.

We can’t wait for you to visit again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Rachel H, Reception Manger. Golden Sands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews