We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful caravan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mablethorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful caravan”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we had a very fast check in compaired to other haven holidays we had in past years , the caraan was a 3 bedroomed one with heating it was beautiful we had upgraded only 2 weeks previously due to taking my 83 yr old mil so it was really warm , the only two things that marred our whole stay were under the kids beds some previous guests had left food and the cleaners had missed it it had gone mouldy bt easily moved the kids took great joy in making stories p anout the green scone and its adventures , the other thing wold e the guy on the ticket stalll where youcash all your hard won tokens was very rude on the thursday night while peole were waiting in line to cash in thier tokens saying he was closing and if we didnt like it to tke it up with the management . security guys dead friendly , a visit to donna nook to seal the wild seals was worth the jorney and standing on the cold for , and a visit to the clock chippy and cinema well worth the effort , a nice break . we didnt use bar as my kids past the entertainment on the site now and the pool a little dated but next yrs refurb will bring it up to scratch

Room Tip: worth payine the most you can afford to get heating and extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrifydtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    461
    258
    113
    142
See reviews for
1,105
129
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just got back from a monday to friday stay here.
Check-in was quick and easy with lovely staff.
The caravan itself was clean and spacious and was just what we wanted.
We enjoyed evenings in the onsite 'Live Lounge' club with entertainment for all, young and old alike!
We got up one morning to find the gas had gone so we phoned the out of hours security team who were at our caravan within 5 minutes changing the gas bottle, great service!
We didnt eat in the restraunts but the kids had chips from the chippy and we had pizza from Papa Johns one night which was very nice indeed.
We went swimming twice each time was enjoyed by all, if you need to get your cossie/trunks dry wd recommend spending 20p on the dryer in the entrance of the pool only takes 17 seconds and more or less dries your cossie!
Overall we had a lovely week at Golden Sands and would defo go back there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have gone on a few haven holidays and spent some good money for a week away here! All I can say is we have just come back from no doubt the worst haven camp I have seen! I always have an open mind when it comes to cleanliness of a caravan it's a constantly lived in thing so I know what to expect and with this we decided this time to book a prestige model and then paid another extra lot for a 2012 model! So we arrived for 2pm our checking in time! We was given our keys straight away to then to drive a few meters to our caravan that was only a few caravans away from the main building to find the cleaner in there! Sat in the car a good 45mins until we was allowed to go in and she was finished! After 4hrs driving to this camp we was looking forward to just unpacking and relax when we got in the caravan I was so shocked! Floors filthy! Sand everywhere! Every piece of furniture covered in so many stains it honestly made me heave! Actual pieces of Pasta bolognse stuck on the carpet, bits of fish fingers still in the freezer, the place was filthy! Went straight to reception to complain!! Was given keys to the closest caravan to reception, just as bad really but this caravan was slightly cleaner ( uploaded pics of this second caravan) and this is meant to be the cleaner one! In the end we just decided to deal with this one! But refusing to sit on these awfully stained seats we covered the couches in bed sheets! I had to clean the caravan top to bottom myself! Not my ideal start of a holiday! I liked the small little town but not much to do! The site was boring and small! Will never ever come back here! Writing a letter of complaint to haven!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljmajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We've now stayed at about 7 Haven sites around the country over the last 2 years or so and this one ranks as a pretty good one. We stayed on the Sun (not) £ 9.50 per person holiday & in total it cost £ 89 for two adults & 2 children for the 3 night weekend - still fantastic value.
The park is very large, much bigger than alot of the ones we have stayed on. Check in was quick and efficent & we set off to find our caravan, which as part of the promotion offer is a "standard" caravan. We had packed lots of blankets & even a small radiator, so imagine our delight that when we opened the caravan door we were met with a blast of heat. All the rooms had radiators & the caravan was spotlessly clean.We were a fair way from the entertainment complex but this didn't bother us, it was nice and quiet.
All the staff we very friendly - particulary the door staff. They often get a bad reputation but these guys were excellent. The entertainment/lounge area was good and split into two seperate floors with different things on each night. Not our cup of tea and some of it was really poor quality but our kids loved it and that was the main reason for going.
Didn't us the pub, or takeaways as they were expensive and got takeaways for Mablethopre instead
Main Good Points
1) All the staff we encountered were friendly & actually looked like they were enjoying their jobs
2) Good entertainment for the kids
3) Good range of free activites for the kids - craft workshop, football coaching, wildlife detectives etc
4) The site was clean, tidy and well kept (even at the end of the season)
5) Great beach at Mablethorpe
Main Bad Points
1) Swimming pool is the weakest area of the park. Look very run down, shabby & is far too small for the size of the park ****please note**** there were signs saying a new £1.8 million pound indoor & outdoor pool enlargement & refurbishment ready for 2013 - so this should rectify this
2) Tried to book onto some of the activities when we arrived - some were fully booked already. Apparently you can ring up and book your kids of the activities before you arrive. We'll make sure we do this in future too!
3) Its a lagre site and dependant on where you are staying, its a long walk. Ok in summer but not idea when is blowing a gale & the rains coming sideways in October!

Overall
The site will be massively improved once the refurbishment on the swimming pools is completed next year but we would recommend the site, we all had a great time

Room Tip: If you'e staying early of late season - try and get a caravan with central heating!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePottersYrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

ok so i had just had my 18th birthday and my grandparents paid for me and my fiance to go to golden sands mablethope for a week. we drove all the way from skipton to arrive in a smelly, dirty, dusty and rusty caravan which was supposed to be a deluxe plus! we went to reception to see if we were in the correct caravan as that was not the standered we expected for the money we paid, they assured us we were and we told them this was not on! they then said go pack and come back for your new caravan key which then meant quing up for about half an hour to get our new key we then got put into the top caravan in a lovely quite area and was a lovely homely caravan but then we got a call from reception about 2 days after the first move and said the owners of the caravan have rung saying they want their caravan for the weekend and that they want us out of that caravan as they want it tonight but they agreed that they wont let them in that night but the next morning which gave us less than 24 hours notice to have to pack everything up again! and move into ANOTHER caravan we were so angry as this was my 18th present and we were constantly packing and unpacking so we then complained and a lady at the desk said that we can have a free meal at their resturant as compensation and we told them we wanted a refund for the 2 nights that we were been messed about packing and unpacking due to them as meal wasnt good enough so we got 2night refund and £40 resturant vouchers which was good in the end but this holiday was more stress and faffing around than actually relaxing and having a good time i advise you to go somewere else as i can clearly see that we are not the only people who this has happened to in haven golden sands and even though they have given us some money back it doesnt bring back the holiday that we have missed out on due to faffing around moving all the time and back to work monday and we dont even feel we have had a relaxing holiday which is a shame and wouldnt want anyone else feeling the same!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

just spent the weekend at Golden sands mablethorpe. had a nice stay apart from a few things.
on arrival the caravan smelt of dog, had to buy some over priced air freshener and leave the windows open in the cold winter air, because the heating wasnt very good took ages to reheat the caravan.
found the prices of drinks in the club extremely expensive, and would be put off from coming here again because of this.
we were awoken in the early hours to the sound of a loud irish family arguing, swearing and sounded like fighting at on point i was very scared in case it spilled over to our van.
the park is huge with 3 entrances - dont know how safe it feels especially when your taking your daughters to the fishing lakes to feed the ducks and theres undesireables roaming. felt like anyone can get on here and it doesnt feel safe this end of the park.
on the plus side there were lots of bargains to be had in the spar supermarket shop; the karts were lots of fun and a great way to lose those holiday calories put on from the fab papa johns pizzas; in general the staff were ok, but i found the big scary security guards extremely non threatening, and when we came into the showbar they always greeted us with a happy smile; we had a few issues with the van itself but we didnt have to wait long for problems to be fixed
Mablethorpe is a little bit shabby, but its go two supermarkets which i found more bargains but the beach is its redeeming feature and absolutly gorgeous.
I would consider coming here again, as ive been to other campsites i think they need a guarded entrance to make the lake are a bit safer for my girls and they need to lower the bar prices as im one of those familes on a limited budget.
You must!! bring a heater with you though it gets cold at night.

Room Tip: spend a little money and buy a heater to take with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubygirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

very first Holiday in the UK, just myself and my 3 year old went. I hired a 2012 Deluxe Caravan. It was PERFECT! The welcome staff and most of the other parks staff, were very friendly, we got to meet Bradley Bear upon check in.
Got in out caravan 2 hours earlier than expected. The double bed wasn't very well presented, the duvet looked like itd been un-caringly chucked on but i took my own duvet and pillows anyway.
First appearances of the caravan was clean, modern, well decorated and had all amenities needed for the week.
The park itself was lovely, a MASSIVE Spar shop, there was a Launderette, amusement arcade, Soft play area, swimming pool, out door Fair ground for big and little ones. A lovely, large playground area. the Quayside bar was amazing.I didn't discover it until the 3rd day but then had an evening meal, and on the final morning Breakfast with the characters which my daughter just LOVED!
There is a few take away places on the park, Pappa johns pizzas were nice and their chip bar was nice but staff werent very friendly though! pappa johns deliver to your caravan free.
The evening entertainment was good but their gift shop that is just off main stage in evening didn't accept Debit cards! My daughter picked up a large Bradley bear teddy that was literally as big as she is. Im quite glad they didn't take a card as it was £30!! But in their Spar shop was only £20! hmmmmm
The bar staff were so friendly, you can even get cash back at the bar!
The swimming pool...eeer it was ok but only used it once, they are having a big upgarde advertised which is DESP needs!
Mablethorpe itself was OK..But as we live in Norfolk wer used to seeing the sea, so i think had we come from the city we'd have enjoyed it more. Not a lot of gift shops though i have to say even in Skegness.
We had a venture around and came upon Hardys Animal Farm. The staff weren't very friendly but the park itself was really nice, theres a huge indoor soft play area so i sat and read my book while my daughter played and we had lunch. we were there for 4 hours in total.
For our first holiday in UK away i was very pleased, especially after reading other reviews on here...Id definitly go back but just not to Mablethorpe, planning Wild Duck park next year.
Only thing that spoilt our holiday was the rain!

Room Tip: We stayed in Spruce Green 48
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mablethorpe
14.6 mi away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#25 of 26 in Skegness
128 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
48 reviews
13.6 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
354 reviews
7.0 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
13.1 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#13 of 26 in Skegness
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Quebec Road, Mablethorpe LN12 1QJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Mablethorpe
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Mablethorpe
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Haven Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing