We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to have your meal and a few pints.”
Review of Kings Head Inn

Kings Head Inn
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Mablethorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: David and Jackie welcome you to The Kings Head Inn. Built in the 16th century it is renowned for its warm, friendly atmosphere and personal service - truly a 'home from home'. Set on the edge of Theddlethorpe a village in the county of Lincolnshire, England. Situated approximately four miles north of Mablethorpe on the coast of the North sea The Kings Head Inn owned by David and Jackie, believes that everyone should enjoy food made from the best ingredients and prepared with care and imagination. On the restaurant page are some sample menus with a flavour of what you can expect at The Kings Head Cards are accepted apart from American Express and if a purchase is under £10 there is a £2 surcharge many thanks.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“An excellent place to have your meal and a few pints.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday night, just to have a pint when we decided to have a meal. The fish and chips I had was a large portion and cooked nicely. Staff is nice , even to our dog who gets a few treats as he is a regular too. I will recommend a visit, even to tourists so they experience a traditional pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Landy101fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    55
    19
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After cringing at Mabelthorpe's offerings, the Kings Head at Theddelthorpe was a welcome sight....

The beef kofta starter was delicious, perfectly spiced with a great homemade relish on the side. The fish and chips hove into view like two beer-battered barges on a sea of golden chips. Be warned, portions are large, but the fish was beautifully cooked and the homemade mushy peas excellent...

If you make it through the main course alive then beware, as the desserts may finish you off; a large slab of homemade mint chocolate cheesecake with a slightly salty base was not quite finished, but was excellent, and a chocolate pot with the seductive pull of a black hole made of velvet was outstanding. We recommend emergency backup coffees if you do go for desserts! Coffee surprisingly good with a satisfying attention to detail that delayed our coffees slightly until the requisite frothiness was achieved...

All in all, terrific.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brookesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fabulous food and staff”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

had a fantastic meal at the kings head last night (6th june) with my husband,hadn't intended eating but the menu looked lovely, my husband had the sticky scrumptious ribs and said they were the best he'd had,so succulent, the meat just fell off the bone and i had the linguine which was absolutely perfect too,friendly staff and the service was excellent,will definitely go back when were back in that area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lunny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great friendly pub”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Just had a great night, food wonderful and the friendly faces to be found everywhere whether they were staff or customers. A great night was had can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kizzycola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Food and Service”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Found the reviews for the Kings Head prior to going on a touring holiday to Golden Sands so decided to give it a try, so glad we did.
Made a booking for Sunday lunch for myself, husband and 2 year old son.
We were greeted by a lovely couple who own the establishment, they had set up a table with a high chair for the little one.
The carvery was fantastic, food piping hot, lovely home made yorkshires, meat cooked to perfection and carved to order, perfectly cooked veg.
We love a carvery but find a lot of pubs just get it wrong, the Kings Head got it exactly right.
They were very accommodating to our little boy and gave us a small plate and childs cutlery so he could share ours (and a yorkshire pud and roastie!!!).
To top it off, the sweets were homemade and beautiful, I had the cheesecake and my husband the honey and whiskey bread and butter pudding!!
So good we booked again for the following week, and again they didnt disappoint. Will definately go back when we next visit this area.
Thank you very much, Carol, Steve and Aaron Door

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head Inn also viewed

Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire
Sutton-on-Sea, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing