We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind, generous owners and comfortable accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mablethorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colours Guest House
Ranked #6 of 11 Mablethorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I took my elderly father there and the owners were very kind and patient with him, doing his favourite breakfast and not rushing his meal. We had dinner there too and the food was delicious, plentiful and fresh. The facilities are first rate and the location right on the beach, but away from the noise of town centre. Definitely would highly recommend and return.

Room Tip: They are all terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for several days beginning of December. What can I say...the owners treated us like family. They couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. The food was fantastic and it felt like we were staying home from home. The rooms were clean and spacious and I found our stay great value for money. My partner isn't pleased easily (believe me) however smiled the whole holiday and is now encouraging me to book our next trip.

Room Tip: Go and visit the seals in December...fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 847Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for one night in July. It was a very hot week in the south and it was a last minute decision to get away to somewhere cooler. The Colours Guest House looked perfect for our needs. We have a 2 year old and we wanted somewhere close to the beach and other local amenities. We arrived early but it was no trouble for the owners. We were invited in to use the bathroom facilities and have a cup of coffee before spending a full day on the beach. We found the Guest House to be spotless, the owners really friendly, the room and en-suite immaculate and the beds comfortable. We all slept soundly! The next morning we were welcomed for breakfast with a fantastic full-English which really set us up for the day. We packed up the car but we were able to leave the car in the car park until we were ready to leave later in the day and we spent the morning at the outside water park right next door. We had a fantastic stay and we thoroughly recommend. We hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: The Brown Room. Perfect for 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pocket75317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have never written a review of somewhere we have stayed - but our time at this guest house warranted the time to express how lovely we thought it was. We only stayed at Colours for one night as we were in Mablethorpe for an occassion. Our family had three rooms in total and they were all really nice. Our room had been recently decorated and the owners told us that they were re-decorating - but the rooms didn't need re-doing - it was obvious the owners took pride in providing excellent rooms. We took our six month old with us and were provided with a lovely travel cot and bedding - at no extra cost. The rooms were all en suite and had all the facilities we needed for an overnight stay - you could easily stay for the week especially as they provide breakfast and evening meals (which are at an additional charge). We only had breakfast - but it was lovely - all the componants of an English breakfast without the grease! When we arrived for breakfast in the morning, a high chair had been set up next to our table and we were made to feel that our baby, as well as the rest of our family, was very welcome. We slept very well and the location of the guest house is fantastic for people looking to drive to their destination and then forget about the car for their stay.

Colours had the right mix of friendly conversation from the owners so that it was personal customer service without you feeling, as a guest, that you were imposing at someone's house - as it can be at some places. The only thing that we weren't enthralled with was the shower - it kept going hot and cold (without turning any switches) but the other rooms the rest of my family were staying in had no problems with their showers, so it was just unlucky for us.

We would definitely stay at Colours again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent the weekend at the colours guest house for my husbands 60th birthday. He had lovely memories of holidays as a child at mablethorpe and buying ice cream from the guest house when he was a boy. The weekend brought back many happy memories and the guest house added to the lovely weekend. The guest house is so comfortable, clean and welcoming and there was even a bottle of sparkly wine on the table the morning of his birthday. Would defiantly recommend a stay at the colours if visiting mablethorpe. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is lovely and the hosts are very welcoming, nothing is too much trouble .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having stayed in various types of accommodation around the world, I can honestly say this is the best guest house I have stayed in. If you want warm and friendly service, spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms and excellent food, this is the place for you! Sue & Paul make you feel at home as soon as you walk in the door and are so helpful and kind. This is the best guesthouse in Mablethorpe. No others come close!

Room Tip: Be Goldilocks and go 6 times to try out all 6 rooms so you can choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Colours is the best guest house we have ever used and hope to go back in the near future. The rooms are themed on a colour and we stayed in Lilac. The dinning tables had napkins the colour of your room. The food was beautiful and well presented. The owners have wonderful people skills and are genuine and friendly. I always worry about recommending places to people as not all tastes are the same but with the Colours I would not have that hesitation at all. We would recommend highly. Its is a short stroll to the beach and the same into the town but is far enough away from the noise and bustle of Mablethorpe. Lesley P-E

Room Tip: They have one disabled room and when you book state your requirements and they will advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 118GIMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mablethorpe
2.7 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
389 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grange Leisure Park
Grange Leisure Park
#5 of 12 in Mablethorpe
74 reviews
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Crown Inn
#1 of 1 in Saltfleet
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Standen Lodge Campsite
#4 of 12 in Mablethorpe
11 reviews
3 mi away
Grange Farm Park
Grange Farm Park
#1 of 12 in Mablethorpe
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colours Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colours Guest House

Address: Queens Park Close, Mablethorpe LN12 2AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mablethorpe
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colours Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Guest House centrally located for the Beach, Park, Boating Lake and Promenade. Car Parking facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colours Guest House Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing