We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure you can fault it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mablethorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cross Guest House and Touring Park
Ranked #2 of 11 Mablethorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not sure you can fault it”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Andy and Jane were so welcoming. The rooms are lovely and it makes such a change to have a bathroom which is a good size (it was also fully accessible for disabled). We enjoyed the breakfast with everything being cooked exactly as you wanted it. Andy was really helpful on places to eat, places to go and the route home! Will definitely come again for a good, restful break away. The Guest house is about a mile outside of Mablethorpe

Room Tip: We had the gold room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablecross, Owner at The Cross Guest House and Touring Park, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
hi both, many thanks for the review, it was great to see you both.
hope you get the chance to come back soon.
thanks again, andy and jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
128
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the weekend at the cross and it was brilliant. Andy and Jane where very helpful with different places to go and the breakfasts were very scrummy! Would 100% come here again and plan to! Very helpful with unusual requests from us! Brilliant!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablecross, Owner at The Cross Guest House and Touring Park, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
hi both, thanks for the great review. hope you are both well and enjoying the still great weather in sunny mk. hope to see you both soon and remember, mushrooms are evil! andy and jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cross Guest House last week. The service was fantastic. This place is a real gem and is run by a fantastic couple who take pride in what they do. We would definitely return to this place. Many thanks and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablecross, Owner at The Cross Guest House and Touring Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
hi. many, many thanks for the review. it is easy for us as we love what we do and we get to see lots of decent people. hope to see you again soon. andy and jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Cross Guest House the weekend just gone and loved it!
From the minute I made the booking months ago I have been looking forward to this and was not dissapointed!
The four of us: me, my partner and my mum and dad stayed for two nights, hoping for a relaxing weekend. And that is certainly what we got. Andy and Jane are sooo friendly and welcoming, cannot fault them. This guest house has a real family feel about it and it is clearly a labour of love for all who live there, including Janes mum and Mary the dog, who amused us with her antics!
The rooms are superbly decorated and spotless, fantastic value for money. In terms of accessability the property and rooms fare pretty well, ideal for my mum following a recent spell in hospital. Access to the room is either one step up or level and the rooms we stayed in had decent height beds, chairs and toilets. The accessible shower in my parents room was good and a great attempt at providing decent facilities for people with limited mobility, certainly far better than many I have seen. As an occupational therapsit my expectations are pretty high in terms of access to facilties and Jane and Andy have overall done well. The rooms were big enough for us all to congregate in as well which was nice. The bed was slightly too hard for my liking but this is totally a personal preferance and no reflection on the quality of the bed and I must add that I still slept really well.
The garden and oudoor area is lovely and really well maintained: even providing seating and tables, with readily available cigarette bins and sand buckets: a bonus for any smokers!
Having given us a tour Andy asked us what time we wanted breakfast and boy we were not dissapointed! The dining area is lovely and the pictures of the renovation of the original Cross House are a nice touch. The choice at breakfast is great, we opted for cereal and the full works, finished off with a tea and coffee. Jane and Andy are so accomodating and will pretty much do what you wish, even offering my dad a sandwhich to take away for later as he only has his very own smoothies in a morning!!
Jane and Andy are full of local knowledge and we would definately recommend the £2 (yes £2!!) taxi ride into Mablethorpe. If mobility is no issue then the 1 mile walk into the town centre is enjoyable and only takes about 20 mins, it took us fourty five with a wheechair which wasn't too bad (if a little bumpy for the passenger!).
You will find the usual sea side fare in the town centre: arcades, rock and sweet shops, fish and chip shops and a few pubs, although the public houses we visited left a little to be desired. We preferred to relax in our room with a drink or two to be honest. We would have sat outside had we not left the sun in Sheffield lol!
This is a gem of a B and B and we would definately stay again if in the area. The only downside is that Mablethorpe didn't really do it for us and we usually go away with Oscar (our dog). Not that we would expect rooms of this quality to be pet friendly though!
This weekend was just what we needed and Jane and Andy deserve a big well done for all the hard work and effort they put in. Definately one to try!!

Room Tip: Just explain what you want or need and let Andy or Jane help choose the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablecross, Owner at The Cross Guest House and Touring Park, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
hi guys. many thanks for the great review. hope the four of you are ok and still enjoying the great weather. hope to see you all again soon. thanks again, andy and jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight here in July as part of visiting family friends. My mother in law recommended The Cross, and we weren't disappointed! Andy greeted us warmly and was a real mine of information about where to go in Mablethorpe, and where to buy rock!! The room was just lovely. Decorated to a very high standard and it was spotless. The king sized bed was comfy, and we slept really well. Nothing was too much trouble. We had heard about the legendary breakfasts from both family and the locals, and it was delicious. Again, Andy and Jane went the extra mile to make sure we were fully satisfied, and we thoroughly enjoyed chatting with them too!
We will definitely come back and stay again- thank you!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablecross, Owner at The Cross Guest House and Touring Park, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
hi both. many many thanks for the review. we enjoyed having you so its easy for us. hope mums ok and she gets back to you in one piece. enjoy the rock! andy and jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed here this week just for one night - should have been longer - this a 1st class place to stay - immaculate in every respect - cool rooms - superb breakfast - good value - nice and quiet - warm welcome given - home from home - 4 and 5 star hotels watch out you could learn a lesson here!!

Well done to Jane and Andy and many thanks

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablecross, Owner at The Cross Guest House and Touring Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
hi clive. many, many thanks for the review. hope to see you again soon with the wife/family this time. thanks again, andy and jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My parents have stayed at this Guest House every year for the last few years and each time they are incredibly satisfied and have a wonderful time.

Andy and Jane are a lovely couple who are always friendly and chatty and make my parents feel very welcome. They look forward to their visit everytime. They cannot recommend it enough as a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Gold room is perfect for those who are disabled or less mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreximgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablecross, Owner at The Cross Guest House and Touring Park, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
hi both, many thanks for the review. hope the weather is as good with you as it is with us. look out for the post. the plants will be on the way soon. andy and jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mablethorpe
3.2 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
375 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alford
53 reviews
5.7 mi away
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Manor Farm Stay
Manor Farm Stay
#2 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
48 reviews
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Crown Inn
#1 of 1 in Saltfleet
4 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Elm Tree
The Elm Tree
#1 of 6 in Spilsby
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Guest House and Touring Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Guest House and Touring Park

Property: The Cross Guest House and Touring Park
Address: Alford Road, Mablethorpe LN12 1PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Mablethorpe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mablethorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cross Guest House and Touring Park 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An inviting and exclusive place to have your stay situated on the outskirts of Mablethorpe. Four very large beautifully set out rooms that will please all as well as starting your day with an award winning breakfast. We have a purpose built disabled/elderly friendly room that includes a very spacious wet room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cross Guest House And Touring Park Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing