We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whistledown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed at this hotel recently.Situation ,scenery and location breathtaking our bedroom overlooking the sea and in the dining room for dinner and breakfast amazing.Bed was very comfortable and clean. Most of staff helpful and friendly but somehow lacked the personal touch we felt we were just a number there. The breakfast was very disappointing for an hotel , increasingly this seems to be the way in hotels now,poor selection of fruits-yogurts sitting out for hours at room temperature limited cereals ,no porridge,grapefruits ectra, only toast available no selection of breads scones/wheaten . More thought could be given to this area by management.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abocurragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

I would just like to say that the food in the Whistledown is SUPER!! I haven't stayed in the hotel just eaten and everytime we eat in it there is never any complaints it is great and like the pervious review said the view you have off the mountains and lough are great and very relaxing.

Also beside the Whistledown is the Warrenpoint park which is great for keeping the kids happy as well.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murphstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights while attending "fiddler's Green Festival " in nearby Rostrevor. Beatifully located looking out over carlingford lough and foothills of mourne mountains.
Staff were more than helpful and anticipated our needs from arrival to departure. very comfortable nicely decorated bedroom with the aforementioned state of the art bath and showerheads which we eventually worked out with a little help from housekeeping.
Restaurant service, food and value excellent but portions huge for some main courses!
loved the hake.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menlodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at the Whistledown for 1 night due to a wedding we were attending at Narrow Water Castle.

When checking in we were surprised to be asked for photo ID - company policy supposedly?! Not mentioned in booking confirmation though. That aside, Conor made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed a drink in the bar overlooking Carlingford Lough.

Our room was very large with a good size en suite - they have all been recently done up! Hopefully the pics will show this!

One thing that stood out throughout was the service - these guys know what they are doing! All the staff have an exceptional personal touch - which we won't forget - they make you feel so welcome and take an interest in why you are there and what you are doing - not too many hotels are like that! Parting words of 'it was lovely to have you stay with us' are not often heard in hotels anywhere in the world.

Breakfast was fabulous! A full fry with mushrooms and beans to boot! Excellent! Numerous coffee refills later we retired to our room for a snooze before check out.

All in all, a wonderful hotel with exceptional people...take a bow!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucklers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed at this newly refurbished super chic hotel. From entering the hotel until check out was a wonderful experience. We had a beautiful large double room which contained all the luxuries you would expect from a deluxe hotel - luxury bed, well equipped ensuite bathrooms, which had state of the art three headed shower, which I must say my partner and I had great fun using. The view was overlooking a side street and you could catch a glimps of the mountains and the lough. If you are ever in Warrenpoint it a must not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Just came across the last review with the shower problem and had to add my agreement. The bath with 3 shower-heads was FAR too complicated- one decent 1 would have been much better. Mine was above the sloped end of the bath and you couldn't even stand under it! the lighting was also very poorly positioned in the bathroom and bedroom and resulted in my daughter-in-law having to go and buy a mirror to apply her makeup + do her hair. Our bedroom window was opposite a brick wall and we were permanently in the dark.Our room was huge but the bathroom so small you bumped your elbow off the basin shelf every time you went to the toilet. Also have to agree about the clashing velvets!
The staff WERE the best thing and food was excellent though again have to agree about the cheap sausages. Also thought that at £120 per room per night it was an expensive weekend especially with the faults being pointed out and no discount offered

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra-thurso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Just stopped in for food here recently. The place was jammers. But we were happily dealt with by the staff. Were given a pager and asked to wait at the bar - which was chocers with jugs of miwadi and water and the likes - could do with tidying up this area a bit really if this is where they want people to wait.

Got our table after about 10 mins. It wasnt cleaned for us, we did that ourselves but the staff were ran off their feet and we were prepared to over look this.

Sunday lunch offer is £16 for 3 course plus tea/coffee - this is excellent value, you'd have a hard job trying to find this value in the South. Great choice on the menu too. Had all 3 courses and all were good. Didnt have to wait long for service even though the staff are so hard worked during the lunch time rush - they have to be commended!

Only thing that put us off a little is there were a lot of families there with small children who, naturally, were pretty noisy as small children are - no insult to the kids, its just preferable to have a nice peaceful meal.

Would definitely recommend stopping in for a feed if you are passing through Warrenpoint.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
6.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
733 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
334 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range: $129 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whistledown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing