We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whistledown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is bases in Warrenpoint Co. Down. It is across the road from the sea and some beautiful views. The food in the hotel is great and the rooms are quite nice. I have stayed here several times now and would be happy to return. Its a pity the hotel couldn't control the weather! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

The hotel is beautifully situated and we have been very lucky with the weather so far. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for The Whistledown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 326 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

Easily located. Not immediately obvious that no allocated parking, but easy to park in surrounding streets. Check in simple and spacious room with comfortable bed, well insulated from any bar noise. Wifi free though signal poor in room.
Enjoyed the pizzeria once eating ... was busy but seemed very disorganised re who was allocating tables / waiting space etc - however once sorted food very good. Hotel bar had good selection and live music as well. Only there one night 'in transit' so hard to comment on area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lozc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Sorry your table allocation was a little slow, weekends are busy in the Pizzeria Restaurant as demand is high and there can be a 10-15 minute wait at peak times. We are pleased that you were happy with all the other aspects of your stay and appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Amazing. There's no other way to describe it. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The food was some of the best we've had in a hotel. I can honestly say it was the most relaxing hotel stay I can remember. The views from the hotel are incredible. We will most definitely return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Mr J.,

A splendid review, thank you for taking the time to share with others.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed there on 29/04/14 and really enjoyed the stay. The food was really nice, the room was great and the view from it was outstanding right accross Carlingford lough. Truthfully I could find no faults with this place. Warrenpoint is a lovely place too.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Your wonderful review is very much appreciated by all at the Whistledown. Warrenpoint is a beautiful location and the views are indeed amazing. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Lovely weekend break for me and my hubby booked the junior suite overlooking Carlingford beautiful views 2nd time staying and I'm booked again for November all the staff in the hotel are friendly polite and helpful the hotel is warm and clean and well presented the food is gorgeous and as for the breakfast you couldnt get nicer really looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yummymum06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you on your visit later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel which looks like it has been recently refurbished. Nice bar and Fab bathroom in room 101.

Friendly and professional staff encountered at all times, including reception, in the bar and breakfast room.

Nice room with standard items such as flat screen tv, tea and coffee. Free wifi. Very comfy bed.

At £100 b&b thought the room was a little pricey and had expected a few more extras such as biccies in room. But was bank holiday weekend. Breakfast was cooked to order and excellent - great views from dining room.

Our room (101) was on first floor next to restaurant and over the main entrance. I expect that it would have been noisy if there had been a function on that evening. Luckily there wasn't. But recommend you check when booking.

Overall very good. Although no car park there is plenty of street parking nearby and is within walking distance of the small town of warrenpoint.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank saraBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can look forward to welcoming you again at the Whistledown Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Can't fault the room, was clean and comfortable, however was really disappointed with breakfast, one person serving a busy breakfast room, ordered breakfast including tea/toast, had finished the cooked breakfast long before the tea arrived (after reminding the waiter), then had to go looking around for cups to actually drink the tea as the table had not been set, toast didn't actually arrive. There were lots of other empty tables that hadn't been cleared also. Didn't like to complain as could see that the only staff member serving was under pressure, perhaps you need more staff for breakfast. Even so, spoke with a few other guests who also reported the same issues earlier that morning even when it wasn't busy. Disappointing service.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank roociara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Public Relations Manager at The Whistledown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We offer our sincere apologies for the service you received at breakfast and acknowledge that there was a staff issue due to unforeseen circumstances which were beyond our control. Unfortunately by the time additional staff arrived you had already left the restaurant.
We offer you our sincere apologies and request that you contact us by telephone so that we can speak directly to you regarding your stay. We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
6.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
711 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
9.2 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range: $114 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whistledown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing