We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Great Value Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whistledown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Whistledown a few years ago and had a good experience. This time we went back to eat in the restaurant with our two children. It was mothers day and the restaurant was busy but the staff were very attentive towards our two children and they even had a highchair ready for our youngest. The menu had a wide variety and options for both ourselves and the children. The meal was great value with 4 course lunch for £18. Overall the whole experience was great (which can not always be said when eating with 2 Kids) and amazing value. We will return again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Staceyp841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 330 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

I first dropped into the Whistle down xmas 2011 to ask for directions up to Santa's Cottage in Mourne Mountains. The hotel staff were so nice and helpful even going so far as to print me off a map to show me the way that I made the decision then and there to stay the following christmas rather than drive back to Dublin after Santa. So December 13th my husband and Toddler son arrived for our one night stay in Whistledown and our visit up to Santa's cottage again. The staff were warm and welcoming yet again, we ate our dinner in the restaurant that evening and enjoyed a cooked breakfast next morning also, the food was beautiful, the service was outstanding and all the staff made an effort to talk to my son all about christmas and santa which was a lovely gesture. We had a family room on the top floor and it was a warm cosy room with a little colouring pack for our son also. All in all i could not find any fault with this hotel or its wonderful staff and I will be staying again on our annual trek this December.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coneill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was my first visit to Warrenpoint and it will not be my last. Stayed 3 nights in the Whistledown and from when we checked in until we left everything and everyone was fantastic. It is very hard to come across excellant staff these days but each one from the reception girls the bar staff waiters to night porter your employer should be very grateful that they has a great team working for them.
The rooms are spacious and clean. The food was so good that even though I stayed for 3 nights I had to have 4 dinners.
Thanks michael, Noel, Paul can't remember the rest
Thanks for everything

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary_jo_maloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just had dinner tonight and I am truly disappointed in the quality of food and the cleanliness of the establishment.
Reasons: Brown mixed salad hidden under rocket.
Burger made with at least 50% fat content - slimy, horrendous quality.
Chips cooked in over used oil - smelt and tasted awful.
Cheese used to disguise the poor quality ingredients.
Soggy bugger baps.
Tasteless Marie Rose/ bq sauce.
General smell of sour unclean mop and cloths being used in a poor attempt to clean this place.
Toilets very poor - dust, urine and general filth everywhere.
Verbal complaint made- no money taken off bill.
Overall when you eat out it is not unreasonable to expect simple food made with good quality ingredients and cooked well. Not In The Whistledown - style over quality would not recommend or will not be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kneeknaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

totally surprised by the whistledown- very friendly staff, really well decorated rooms (well i did have the bridal suite) and such good value for money. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely and reasonably priced too. the view from the room was to die for - sea/loch view from a really comfortable bed. Business travellers (as i am) use this place over and above any venues in Newry. i will be back.

Room Tip: 108 is the bridal suite ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittyirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant several times in my past visits to Warrenpoint.
This place doesn't disappoint. The menu is varied with enough options for any taste. No reservations needed even on weekends. It's possible to eat in a casual setting in the bar or more formally in the restaurant upstairs. I have always eaten upstairs, the view is fantastic if seated by the window. The staff are friendly and very attentive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wbm863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

last minute decision for a January break with a friend. Found a DBB deal and made a rush decision. We were so pleased we did. Fantastic food, great room, lovely views and nothing too much trouble for the staff.

Room Tip: top floor is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irishgirls4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
6.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
733 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
333 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range: $129 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whistledown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing