We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant and enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whistledown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whistledown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant and enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Attended a wedding at The Whistledown recently and we found the standard of accommodation and food to be very good, particularly for a decent size wedding. Staff were friendly and helpful and the location overlooking the Carlingford Lough and across to the Mourne Mountains is fabulous and as a wedding venue it certainly seems to deliver. Breakfast the following morning was excellent, I had one of the best omelettes I've had in a long time. One suggestion would be for a light over the bathroom mirror, there was no mirror with good enough light for doing make-up, which would be nice particularly when getting ready for a wedding. At £110 per night B&B it's pricey enough but I guess weddings make for a captive clientele.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kennedydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    70
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
87
97
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed in the Whistledown for one night, for a wedding being held there. Quite steep price at £110 per night for a 3* hotel (have stayed in 5* for less!) but I suppose that's what the norm is for weddings.

Quite chaotic and tiny reception, not very well equipped to deal with large wedding parties! All staff were polite and helpful however. The room we had was ok...fairly typical for a 3* hotel I'd say. Decent size room, ok decor, nice (if poorly laid out) bathroom - although there was a problem with our shower (kept running cold). Heated towel rail was a nice touch. Was quiet too as we were in a corner with no-one beside us.

The service at the wedding was superb, and the food was truly lovely so would definitely recommend it on that aspect. Wine list fairly pricey though, with house wines all around £16 - including one which is significantly less in other restaurants/ bars (plus in a certain University Student Union bar where it usually costs around £6 a bottle :-)).

Breakfast the morning after was ok - had to request bowls/glasses etc. as it seemed a bit under-staffed with the staff that were serving a bit rushed off their feet. Other guests seemed to enjoy their cooked breakfasts - as a vegetarian I requested some grilled tomato with soda/potato bread and was given half a tomato on my plate - very measly I thought, seeing as I wasn't having sausage, bacon, egg etc!

Overall, an ok stay in the Whistledown - a fairly typical 3* hotel, but with a price on wedding nights of a 4 or 5*!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryjsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a 2 night stay at The Whistledown to celebrate a family wedding. The location was amazing with fantatic views across the mountains and the sea- the weather changes made the backdrop even more spectacular.
From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel like welcome members of a family and nothing was too much bother for the friendly, attentive staff. Our group of 20+ people had an age range of 9 weeks to 88 years and needs for all were met beyond expectation.
The room was modern, spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was quiet and well ventilated.
The food was amazing and incredile value for money. The puddings were scrummy. The views from the first floor dining room were breathtaking.
We had a fantastic stay that left us feeling really relaxed even after only 2 days.
Well done to the staff for the great service given throughout our stay, it was much appreciated.
We hope to return again when next over the water in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
394 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is my favourite local restaurant. Recently the front bar has been refurnished and made into a pizzeria and steakhouse restaurant. Its very chic!! We dined upstairs and were lucky to get a table overlooking the sea, such a view.
The reason why I love this place is because you always get the same excellent food and service no matter when you go. The food is all homemade and very reasonable, we paid just under £30 for two mains and a drink each. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to look after you.
Can't say enough good things about here, if you read my other reviews you will notice I am not so complimentary and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 3 days in Belfast & rather than motorway home we travelled from banbridge to Newcastle, Co Down, which is a fabulous coastal town, very warm friendly people, a lovely beach and v v clean. Drove on to warrenpoint & thankfully found the whistledown hotel, arrived @ 3.30, fab menu, homemade food @ reasonable prices. Bathrooms spotless & modern, excellent staff. Really enjoyed our last meal in this beautiful part of the country. Will return again, keep the excellent standards up......

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Beautiful FRESH FOOD and presented in a very non fussy but classy manner , take care when ordering the deserts you just might need some help to finish them off (yummy yummy yummy) the staff were attentive without being overbearing will most definitely return.

Room Tip: Was just dining in resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d214ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights recently in this well-appointed and clearly very popular hotel. Very good bar area busy with all age groups, really good atmosphere. The room was excellent, and good value for money, staff were ever friendly and helpful with information on the area. Restaurant (also open to non-residents) served excellent food of very high quality by efficient staff. No parking on the premises, but across the road and surrounding streets easy with almost no restrictions. Would call again when (hopefully) re-visiting. Pete and Chris Upton.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
4.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
6.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
7.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
8.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whistledown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whistledown Hotel

Property: The Whistledown Hotel
Address: 6 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whistledown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistledown Hotel has a fairytale setting on the shores of Carlingford Lough at the foot of the majestic mountains of Mourne.When you choose to stay at the Whistledown Hotel you can be assured that you are choosing the perfect location, one that combines romantic ambience, a chic contemporary interior, good food, competitive rates and an exceptional team of staff dedicated to making each guest feel extra special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Whistledown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing