We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

The Whistledown Bistro
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Whistledown Hotel is modern, stylish, family owned and operated. It is renowned for its bustling trade, excellent restaurants and first class service. The bistro creates the perfect ambience for good food, wine and conversation. The menu has a wide variety of interesting dishes to suit the most discerning palate and is complimented by a well-chosen wine list, in terms of both quality and value for money wines. The food is a blend of modern European food with an Irish twist, with an emphasis on the use of the best local Irish produce available. The bistro enjoys an enviable panoramic view of Carlingford Lough and the majestic Mountains of Mourne. Whistledown Hotel Lobby Breakfast served from 7am - 11.30am. Extensive Bar Snack Menu & Chef's Daily Lunch Special Menu served from 12.00 to 5pm. Al Fresco dining on seafront patio - weather permitting. Finn's Pizzeria Restaurant from 5.30pm nightly and Whistledown Bistro from 5.30pm nightly. Speciality Tea, Coffee & light options served in the Hotel Bar. Extensive range of premium spirits & wines available.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Whistledown has beautiful views over Carlingford Lough and the Mourne Mountains if you're fortunate enough to get a window seat. The food was good but portion sizes smaller than I would have wished and service a little slow, however it was worth waiting for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Bistro, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

During festival week our restaurants can be busy at peak times, however we are pleased that you enjoyed your food. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    34
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Food was brilliant an very well priced, staff were very helpful, the hotel is stunning inside and out make sure to book a window seat as the views are great

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karenann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Bistro, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review, your comments are much appreciated.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely food ”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Called in one evening when going through Warrenpoint . Went up stairs to the bistro and was met by a friendly lady who showed us to our table . It was busy for 6.30 and there was plenty of staff on. There was a good choice on the menu and was reasonably priced . The food and service was very good . There is also another restaurant down stairs that do pizzas along with most of the food on the bistro menu . Will definitely call back when in area again. .

Helpful?
1 Thank ashmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Bistro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your very informative and detailed review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food at a great hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at the Whistledown Hotel and ate in the Bistro one of the nights and the food and service were reasonsably priced and excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigJim1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Bistro, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We really appreciate and thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent visit to our Bistro restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Staff were great, and the location has wonderful views. The menu is very varied, without a particular theme. The fish and chips, and the curry were well received. I ordered a "gourmet burger" and am sorry to say I was disappointed. A peppercorn sauce burger was exactly that. A plain burger presented in a toasted bun with no garnish, no accompaniment other than (delicious) chips. The bun and burger were dry and bland. The peppercorn sauce in a separate jug was too thin and would have run off the burger if poured onto it. The chicken wing starter was lovely and the sponge pudding satisfying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoalieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistledownhotel, Manager at The Whistledown Bistro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate all feedback and we are pleased that you liked the location of the hotel with the wonderful views and the great staff and service. Your review states that the starters, mains, chips and dessert were all well received, however the Burger was not to your liking. We are disappointed about that, however if you had advised us at the time we could have offered you an alternative dish. We thank you for review and do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whistledown Bistro also viewed

Warrenpoint, County Down
Warrenpoint, County Down
 
Warrenpoint, County Down
Warrenpoint, County Down
 
Rostrevor, County Down
Warrenpoint, County Down
 

Been to The Whistledown Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing