We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not Amazing”
Review of Sweet Pea Cafe

Sweet Pea Cafe
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Warrenpoint
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the Mourne Mountains just two minutes’ drive from the centre of the scenic seaside town, Warrenpoint, is Sweet Pea Café/Bistro an idyllic hidden gem. Tucked into the delightful grounds of Annett’s Garden/ Outdoor Living Centre,Sweet Pea offers delicious homemade treats, wholesome food with gourmet Bistro nights each Friday and Saturday. The exposed natural beams, half doors and delightful terrace give this country kitchen a charming old world ambience where you can expect a warm welcome and enticing fare whatever the occasion. Sweet Pea also has private dining facilities for intimate gatherings and celebrations. Menus can be tailored and the café operates a ‘bring your own policy'.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Went for the bistro menu Saturday night. Food was nice but not great, staff very pleasant but service haphazard. Six starters delivered to the table but one was incorrect so that one had to be reordered and by the time it arrived the other five had nearly finished. Although the waitress was very apologetic it was not a good start to the evening! The main courses were ok. Five sweets were ordered, three arrived and then after 3 or 4 minutes the other two arrived! All were cold sweets so no excuse for not bringing them to the table at the same time. Otherwise it was fine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

had lunch with friends, food was lovely, service was excellent, no complaints. Def recommend it. Can't wait to try out the weekend bistro menu! thanks chef :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank B7Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Dined at sweet pea with friends , bring your own wine , food ,service ,decor, excellent as was food , would advise to book as was very bizy the weekend night we attended

Thank Seaview1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had eggs benedict for breakfast, presentation was outstanding, beautiful ingredients, and great scenic area to top it off. Can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

On Saturday 7 July I was in a party of five for dinner in the Sweet Pea Cafe. Our group comprised weekend visitors from Dublin and locals from Rostrevor.

First impressions: The environs of the Cafe are beautiful, the building housing the cafe is obviously brand new and great care and attention has been paid to design and upkeep. In the car park we wandered a bit before deciding that the building with no signage must be the restaurant.

Once you enter the building you are obviously in a cafe and not a restaurant. The lighting was too harsh, the surfaces are too hard, the counter still contains that days cup-cakes and the furniture was what you would expect in a cafe and not a restaurant.

After being seated and having our orders taken a waitress deposited Espresso cups filled with soup of unknown ingredients. We know it was soup because we had to call her back to our table as she had served us and then walked away. On being asked what type of soup we were being served, she shrugged her shoulders said it was “curried soup” and walked away. Not a good start and the soup was very over-salted.

Two of our party had the steak and were very impressed by the flavour of the meat. I had the beef spring rolls. The pastry was too thick for a spring roll and the contents were dried out. My wife had the Scallop Risotto for a £3 supplement as did my Father. They were both very surprised to be served what could best be described as mini-scallops. Less than a few miles from the sea and to be served scallops no bigger than a 1 cent piece AND for a £3 supplement. Not good at all.

In a restaurant when I ask for the desert menu, I expect to get the desert menu and not to have to wait for 15 minutes. We were only given the menus when we eventually managed to attract the attention of the waiting staff huddled behind the counter with their backs to the room. Asking for coffee to be served at the same time as the desert seemed to cause some consternation as well. Seemingly not a common request.

But by far the most unacceptable part of the evening was that on no less than four occasions during the evening the Chef ventured from his kitchen to speak to diners at the tables surrounding our table. We did meet his eye on several occasions hoping to be included in his tour of the room but to no avail as he studiously avoided all contact. The lady owner was also touring the room during the evening and talking to her local customers. In fact she only spoke to our table when she asked us to review her cafe on Trip Advisor. Not the way to encourage new custom to return.

It is obvious a huge amount of money has been spent on building and outfitting this cafe. However this massive expenditure was let down by the absence of one vital ingredient; the waiting staff are untrained and as a result highly unprofessional.

Overall we were served above average cafe food. We received inattentive service and experienced an indifferent Chef. Would we consider ourselves as return customers – NO.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KJRDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuala222, Owner at Sweet Pea Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Dear Customer
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant all feedback, good or not so good is very important to us and I apologise that your experience was not as it should have been.
Thank you for complimenting the old stone cottage and its interior, yes it is a new building just two years old but build with character. With regard to the signage, because of the old stone cottage look we did not want to take away from this with a signage on the building, therefore we put a quaint oval sign on an old fashioned black lamp post on the pathway up to the restaurant which displays the name of the restaurant and its opening times.
I am so glad your group enjoyed the flavours of the food and that your steak was to you liking, however with regards to the scallops they are actually Isle of Man Queenies, which are in fact baby scallops and it is stated on the menu.
Please let me assure you that your inattentive service (although not typical) has been addressed with our entire team as part of our ongoing training.
Please also accept my apology if you felt that our chef and myself did not give you full attention when talking to customers in the restaurant, the chef met with members of his family on that particular evening and joined them at their table after his shift had ended.
We change our Bistro menu every four weeks and do hope that you return on your next visit to Warrenpoint, where I will personally look after your party, I look forward to seeing you again at Sweet Pea Restaurant, please ask for me when booking, with best regards Nuala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Pea Cafe also viewed

 
Warrenpoint, County Down
Warrenpoint, County Down
 
Warrenpoint, County Down
Warrenpoint, County Down
 

Been to Sweet Pea Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing