We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Balmoral
Nearby Hotels
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Seasons Hotel(Carlingford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
88
33
9
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
33
9
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast includedsmall hotelstunning viewsgreat base to exploredecent showerbreakfast menusuperb hotelstaff were brilliantcourse dinnermember of staffsea frontwell worth a visitshort staypleasant stayovernight staychecking outthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 136 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Myself and my new wife had a fantastic day at the Balmoral on October 5th 2013. The whole day went perfectly, the food was excellent (and plentiful!) and all the staff were there to cater for our every request - especially Dona who made everything run so smoothly. Thank you again for the wonderful gift - it was the perfect start to the meal.

We couldn't recommend the Balmoral more as as idyllic venue for a wedding, with beautiful views over Carlingford lough. The honeymoon suite was spectacular, spacious and thoroughly relaxing. Breakfast in bed the next morning was a fantastic touch. Overall, we couldn't have been happier. Well done The Balmoral.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you had a great day and hope your guests enjoyed themselves also. You both make a lovely couple and we wish you both all the best for your future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding on the 19th October and had a great time. Small hotel which is very friendly. Food at the wedding was fantastic and the cooked to order breakfast was fantastic, really good quality ingredients and the view over the water is stunning. There were a few things needing fixing/replaced like the burn in the net curtain from a previous guest who selfishly decided to smoke in the room and a Hugh crack running down the bathroom wall. Saying this the room was clean and the shower fantastic. It would have been full marks if these problems were fixed.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tessac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thank you for your review, I'm delighted you enjoyed the Wedding Day and your overnight stay, we hope you will decide to come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here as a treat for his birthday. We paid £100 for the nite in the honeymoon suite with a 3 course meal in restaurant 23. The room was stunning and definately not expected it overlooks the bay and its massive would reccomend this if you dont need to stay on a certain date and ask if it's free we where upgraded at no extra cost. The staff where very friendly and the service in the was great too.
Dinner and breakfast in restaurant 23 was just gorgeous would highly recommend. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smith061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your terrific review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your mini-break, hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

A group of eight stayed in this hotel on 14th September 2013. From we walked through the door the hospitality we received was second to none. Friendly staff, excellent food and few little extras really made our stay fantastic. Great music in the bar that evening and great breakfast on the Sunday morning. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Tea, coffee and water supplied in all the rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridget l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your terrific review of our hotel, its great to see a group of people out enjoying themselves and we're delighted that you choose ourselves, we hope to see you all again in the furture, many thanks once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had stayed at the Balmoral before. The rooms on both occassions were quite nice and reasonably spacious and have complimentary water and tea/coffe and so on. The tiled floor in my bathroom was cracked, but apart from that they are of quite a nice standard - yet are very cheap. I believe I paid £60 for a double room, single occupancy in early September. Can't be bad.

The resturant has views over the bay (if you are lucky enough to be seated by the windows). The food is a bit 'nouveux cuisine' with modest portions, but very nice and with an interesting menu. Good service, too. Expect to pay for it, though. As a business travellor I expect to pay around £100 to £120 per night, but it is usually £90 on the room and £20 on the food. Here it could easily be £60 on the room and £40 in the resturant... Which is fine, just a bit of a novelty!

One downside is that the bar downstairs could be a bit noisy as they have live music - although when I stayed it was 'open mike night' with mostly accoustic guitars and folk type stuff, so not a problem and they were finished by about 11. There is no car park, so it is a matter of finding a space in the streets outside. There are no parking restrictions or payment, but not a lot of room, either, so you might have to walk a little if it is busy.

Good points are good service, good breakfast - and for those on expenses they are quite flexible about giving you a receipt in a format that keeps your accounts department happy.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are probably the ones without the view over the bay - upstairs, at the back - away from the seafront and the bar.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven_E007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary B, Owner at The Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we do endeavor to keep prices as reasonable as possible without compromising on quality. We hope you shall visit us again soon. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews