We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a business hotel”
Review of The Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Balmoral
Ranked #1 of 5 Warrenpoint B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not a business hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed recently between meetings, using it as an opportunity to catch up with an old friend in the region.
The best feature is the restaurant. We had dinner there, and I had breakfast in the morning. Both were excellent.
The hotel serves a purpose, but is not set up for business use - the wifi did not reach the room (when I commented on this on check-out I was told there was a wired connection in the room, but there were no signs to it when I was there). Check out was very lengthy - first find a member of staff, wait while they find the right member of staff, wait while they run up to the restaurant to get the dinner bill that was not put on the account. All done with charm...but not alacrity!
The room lacked any space to work (largeish dressing table but no desk, comfy chair but no desk chair) and was so poorly lit that I had to go to the bar to read some documents I needed to get through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaldieBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
57
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A group of us booked a meal in Restaurant 23 at the Balmoral Hotel we had a great evening not only was the food gorgeous, we had the added bonus of sitting next to the window and watch the sun go down on Carlingford lough which has to be one of the nicest views in Ireland.
Only one very small criticism and this came from the ladies in our company, they said the ambiance would have been perfect if only they had some candles on the tables,
We will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We arrived at this welcoming restaurant on a very wet sunday evening in July!.
We were immediately shown to a window table with amazing views. The waitress
was very attentive but never intrusive. The menu was nothing short of amazing.
There were 5 of us dining and everything we ordered was first class from the
complimentry guiness wheaten bread to the superb monkfish, simply delicious.
We were delighted to have the pleasure of meeting Raymond McArdle (head chef)
which topped off a truly memorable evening. Thank you Restaurant 23, we will
definately return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimk231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you are a party animal looking for a sleepless weekend then this is the place for you but if like us you are away for a relaxing weekend then forget it. The staff were friendly , the bedroom clean and the food excellent with breakfasts cooked to order but being kept awake to 3am on the saturday night and 2am on the sunday night left us shattered - to be fair the music and crowd had gone by 1am on the sunday but the machinery loudly running in the room beside us - I presume to clear the bar -had the effect of a generator in our bedroom. I had to resort to stuffing toilet paper in my ear. You if do visit this hotel at the weekend then ask for a room as far away from the bar as possible and you might get some sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel . The rooms near the front with a sea view are also over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We just came back yesterday from a 2 night break with a Groupon voucher.and had a lovely time there despite the weather! Our room was spotless and had little extra touches such as 4 packets of biscuits left each day, large bottles of mineral water and plenty of quality toiletries replaced every day. The breakfast menu was huge, with such choices as smoked salmon, fresh fish and 4 choices of eggs, we have never even seen this in 5* hotels. It was served freshly cooked to the table, with a HUGE pot of tea or coffee by a charming gentleman who was so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for him. Be aware though that you would need to be VERY hungry to have the Ulster Fry, it came with 2 rashers, 2 sauages, egg, hash brown, tomato, pudding, a whole potato farl & 1/2 soda...phew, we didn't eat again until dinner!

Went to the restaurant 23 on our first evening and had the 2 course special for £12-95 pp. The meals were delicious and superb value for such lovely food, very professionally served by a lovely girl. The chef has been nominated for the British Food Challenge and no wonder.

As a change, on our last evening we went to Bennet's Seafood Bar for dinner. They also have a special menu 3 courses for £13-95 which we had, lovely food there as well, struggled to finish desert though lol.

We would certainly recommend the Balmoral to anyone and would love to return there ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great service from all the staff. We were staying at this hotel for a wedding nearby. The room we had was comfortable and large with every thing one would expect to find in a hotel. Breakfast was freshly cooked and of a high standard. It is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Average hotel. We were due to stay for two nights but the primitive lift broke down and seeing as one of our party was in a wheelchair we had to be moved to another hotel for the 2nd night. Our friend was forced to try and walk down the stair to leave the hotel as there was no other way out for her. the wheelchair accessible room isn't very suitable as its quite small and the shower has a step into it. we asked for a chair for her so as she could sit down in the shower. this resulted in her not bein able to close the shower door whilst having a shower, and dangle her legs out the shower door, which in turn soaked the bathroom floor makin it all the more dangerous! This hotel would need to review their facilities for disabled users!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amroarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenpoint
0.0 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
654 reviews
4.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Lough & Quay
The Lough & Quay
#2 of 5 in Warrenpoint
136 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Rostrevor Inn
The Rostrevor Inn
#1 of 8 in Rostrevor
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral

Property: The Balmoral
Address: 13 Seaview, Warrenpoint BT34 3NJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Warrenpoint
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenpoint
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Balmoral Warrenpoint, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing