We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly pub with top class restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bennett's Seafood Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Bennett's Seafood Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly pub with top class restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent trip here recently. There are two bars to choose from, a comfy lounge or a traditional Irish bar. We loved the bar. The staff are amazing and very charming. We visited on a Friday night and the place was full. We were allowed to choose while remaining at the bar and brought through when ready for us. The food is fantastic. We enjoyed a wonderful hot seafood platter and amazing steaks cooked perfectly. We skipped pudding and opted for Irish coffees made by Bernie.

This is a great core pub/restaurant in an interesting town with a vibrant selection of other places to choose from. The setting by Carlingford Lough and at the foot of the Mournes offers a playground for the outdoor types. Especially mountain bikers at the new Kilbroney tracks. Word has it the owner is considering opening up some serviced apartments upstairs, which would be wonderful. Easy reach of Dublin and Belast. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    22
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Family favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

On our visits home my family always try to get to Bennetts and last night was no exception. The mid week 3 course menu is really good value and more importantly the food is excellent quality. Hopefully we will get another meal in before we leave. For wine lovers Bennett's has an excellent off licence to the rear and there you will find wines that off the normal supermarket/chain beaten track. Well worth a "blimp"!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We dined here for tea on a Friday evening.The food was just average and the service was nothing more than average.Perhaps we got them on a bad night but I don't we will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank margretta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Swimmingly good!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a great meal. Got the Brill for a main and got the goats cheese. Great food. Then again- always is on every visit and it doesn't matter what day it is.

Great mid week offers too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lots of pluses and minuses -”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for an early evening menu -Bennetts is a centrally located bar / restaurant. The place is so in need of a refurb we nearly slipped out the door, lucky for us we stayed - the seafood here is very good . £5.50 for a chunky chowder main course fish dishes cost 8 and 9 pounds . If you are into city fast service - relax - this place is much more chilled and slower . This place would easily score a 5 if they smartened it up in terms of decoration - the seating and furniture is tired - but all in all this a good choice - friendly staff - excellent food - oh the horse racing on TV is not conducive to seafood dining but that is also kind if the village cha of the place

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D8Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennett's Seafood Bar & Grill also viewed

Warrenpoint, County Down
Warrenpoint, County Down
 
Warrenpoint, County Down
Warrenpoint, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing