We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed and Breakfast da Viviana
wye valley
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good base.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for one night while doing a tour around Tuscany, Umbria etc. The owner Viviana lives in the property next door so once you have been given the keys to the house you are left to your own devices which is nice. You have the whole house to yourself and there are good kitchen facilities although we ate out. In the morning Viviana comes round and serves breakfast. The house has plenty of literature about local sights and tours some of which Viviana can arrange.
The bedrooms are of a decent size and clean and tidy. Would use this as a base next time if again in the area,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed 1 night. The owner holds you hostage (1 hour) while she goes over the whole town in such detail it is annoying. The rooms are miniscule...The breakfast is a hoot--croissants wrapped in cellophane..like candy made in China and shipped to her. All I can say is stay somewhere else...she is a real pain and the breakfast is a joke. Only thing hot was the coffee!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....it is not worth dealing with that nut case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Bed and Breakfast da Viviana, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
I was much surprised to read of your poor impression of our B&B so allow me to respond to your comments:

- I do not hold anyone hostage, I usually reply to the many questions as for most people is the first time they come and do not know anything of the area, but it’s a favour I do and most of my guests truly appreciate my wasting of time considering it a privilege;

- I agree, the bedroom is not so big but fully equipped: Queen size bed (slatted wood and high-quality mattresses) – side tables with lamps, chest of drawers, wardrobe, hangers, chair and shelves. The reason is due to the fact that - with the recent renewal - we have decided to make the bathrooms (fully equipped) inside the rooms but - as I always say to my guests, the rest of the house is at disposal (kitchen – dining/sitting room – balconies and of course external areas).
We certainly do not advertise ourselves as being a big hotel, we always point out we are a small B&B and the majority of our guests understand that we have a cosy character and our property offers a family atmosphere.

- Given that Italian law for B&B doesn’t allow you to manipulate food (so no homemade cakes) my offer for the breakfast is the following (as per our website):
Espresso coffee, American coffee, Barley coffee, tea, milk and cocoa, fruit juice, toasted bread with butter, jam, honey, biscuits, cornflakes, muesli, yoghurts, different type of croissants, cheese toasts and on requests eggs.
Of course the croissants are wrapped and I buy food at "Coop" where I am sure I can find the best quality. If one wants to warm a bit the croissant there is a microwave at disposal –
Everything is at disposal also during the day and not only for breakfast. There is the fridge at disposal for juice or yoghurts etc, coffee, tea at disposal for anytime during the day.

I am disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations and I respect and appreciate any guest’s constructive feed back and as such I am a great fan of Tripadvisor, however I believe some comment can be a little subjective and so thank you for the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent three nights at this wonderful home. The area is beautiful, and the accommodation is ideal: we had a large bedroom, comfortable bed, and the kitchen is fully equipped. The views are beautiful. As all reviewers note, Viviana herself is perhaps the "icing on the cake". This lady is extremely friendly without being intrusive. We appreciated her English language skills, and she gave us wonderful advice about restaurants. I wish that we could have stayed longer in order to have enjoyed more of the food! Marco was helpful to us when we needed advice about driving to Verona.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

B&B turned out to be one of the most excellent places I had ever been. It is very calm place in a very picturesque region. You can find there everything you need for the comfortable rest of your daily city life. You will be able to enjoy wonderful views and fresh air. But the most admirable point in this trip was the host. She was very kind, warmly welcoming and communicative person. She recommended us wonderful places for eating. They were traditional italian restaurants and pizzerias with very tasty meal- just what we needed! She also gave us good advices where to go to see beautiful views.
It is very comfortable place with homely atmosphere in it. I'll remember this journey for a long time and of course I'll return to B&B again.
Thank you, Viviana, very much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaKomova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I want to thank Viviana for the wonderful stay we had at the Bed and Breakfast da Viviana.
the house, the rooms, everything was really nice and clean. little kitchen area plus living room.
the landscape is absolutly beautiful! nice restaurants in the area too.
there is a cheese factory 2 minutes away that you can visit with Viviana, really interesting.
i highly recommand this B&B and would not hesitate to book again.
thanks again for everything Viviana.
Nadine, Montreal

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Castelnovo ne Monti is a precious, precious place. We miss the clean air we were surrounded by there, and the beautiful, unique landscape.... We miss the wonderful, wonderful food we had at every meal.... We miss the B&B – what a peaceful setting it’s in, and what a gorgeous view it has - and Viviana’s very kind, attentive hospitality, especially. I'm still eating the delicious Parmigiano Reggiano cheese we got on our visit to the dairy with her – whenever I eat 'real' Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, I’ll know how it was made because of her kind explanations and tour!

Someday, we hope to visit Castelnovo ne Monti again, in a more relaxed way – we’d like to spend more time there, again with a rental car, exploring the natural wonders of the area and also cities like Modena. It’d be fun to take a day trip to the coast, to Cinque Terra, too. We will definitely see if Viviana can accommodate us at her so welcoming, comfortable B&B then. Till then, we will have the sweet memories of our stay there.

Room Tip: The large room upstairs we stayed in is spacious, comfortable, quiet, clean - the bathroom is not en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Dear Viviana,
Many thanks for our wonderful stay at B&B Viviana, Castelnuovo ne' Monte.

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves both at your lovely B&B (which was like a home away from home), the area and the restaurants. I would like to thank you very much for collecting us from the restaurants twice, which was beyond your obligation but nevertheless sincerely appreciated by me and my brothers.

I don't know if we mentioned it but the first night when we were walking to the restaurant at Busana we saw two deer fighting and one onlooking, a sight for us that was very special and memorable.

Your wonderful homemade yoghurt also remains a memorable talking point for us.
Thanks also to Marco for his attention, interest and efforts to help us plan our day at Castelnuovo, we are still fondly remembering the day that we went to the pietra Bismatova and also circumnavigated it through the tranquil and picturesque surrounding countryside and villages, what a wonderful ride.

Thanks for being such great hosts and ambassadors for a wonderfully friendly Italy.
Your warm hospitality transgresses country borders and helps build a world of connected humanity.
Would like to keep in contact with you both if you are inclined.
Again many thanks for your hospitality and warmth.
We will send you some photos of our stay in Castelnuovo ne' Monte in due course.

Best regards,
Ross Tantau

Room Tip: All rooms are at the same level with excellent access to the central amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtantau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnovo ne' Monti
7.9 mi away
Residence Hotel Matilde
Residence Hotel Matilde
#1 of 1 in Carpineti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence La Baita D'Oro
Residence La Baita D'Oro
#1 of 3 in Castelnovo ne' Monti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pra de Mande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast da Viviana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast da Viviana

Property: Bed and Breakfast da Viviana
Address: Via Sparavalle 48 | Loc. Monteduro, 42035, Castelnovo ne' Monti, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Reggio Emilia > Castelnovo ne' Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castelnovo ne' Monti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Da Viviana is a delightful cottage in Tuscan-Emilian Apennine National Park. This territory is characteristic for the uncontaminated landscape and breathtaking views and offers different opportunities for everyone who loves trekking, horse riding, mountain biking or free climbing but it is also a wonderful starting point for visiting the cities of Parma, Modena, Bologna, Verona, Pisa, Lucca and Mantova or the spectacular landscape of Cinque Terre. Due to its central location, these cities can be visited as day trips with one-two hour drive.For the motorbike and car enthusiasts we are a short drive to Ferrari,Lamborghini,Ducati Museums and Factory.Da Viviana is in the heart of the region famous for the production of parmigiano-reggiano cheese, Parma ham, balsamic vinegar and other local specialities. Take a visit to the local dairy 2 min walk from the B&B where parmigiano-reggiano is made. Special agreements have been made with the local Parmigiano Reggiano dairy and with a Producer of Parma ham at Langhirano (Parma) where you can go (free of charge) and see how these important products are made.For eating out in the evening, we are lucky to have a wide variety of excellent restaurants in the local vicinity. We can of course advise you.Da Viviana is ideal both for couples or a group of friends and offers a family atmosphere with Italian hospitality. The rooms are bright,comfortable and quiet. All the bedrooms have a private bathroom with shower. It is also available:- a comfortable lounge where you can make plans for your holidays(a selection of maps,guides is at disposal) and a kitchen where our Guests are free to use for making tea,milk,coffee...- a terrace with panoramic breathtaking views - a small garden and private parking- at 4'drive a beautiful SPA: swimming pool(indoor and outdoor) whirlpool, sauna,turkish bath,Kneipp,gymnasium,massage treatments for the well-being of mind and body(the SPA grants 25% discount to our Guests). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing