We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B in France!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Celon B&B and Inns
Gravesend
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best B&B in France!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The first time we stayed at Le Canard was for 1 night on the way south. We have now stayed there many times - each time for longer! Kathy and Martin are lovely people and wonderful hosts, and do everything to make their guests welcome and happy. The food is superb, the atmosphere could not be friendlier, and the rooms and beds are really comfortable. It's a gem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GravesendFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have stayed at Le Canard many times now - I couldn't recommend a stay at this lovely place more highly. Kathy and Martin are the nicest of people and the most friendly of hosts that you could wish for. Kathy and Martin work so hard to make sure everyone has the happiest of stays. The home-cooked meals are always delicious and a convivial evening is guaranteed. And I couldn't possibly sign off without mentioning the beautiful Ruby, the best meeter and greeter in the business, with the waggiest of tails!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend while heading south to Andorra from Paris. Lovely hosts, very comfortable room, excellent hospitality, great local knowledge. We missed dinner but it smelt fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great B&B stopover location for us driving up to Paris from the Pyrenees, great communications before the booking, and warm welcoming hosts. Lovely home and rooms, clean comfy and great breakfast. Excellent value for the money having stayed in lots of hotels and B&B in France I can honestly say, this one is one of the best. Will definitely return and recommend to everyone. Thank you Kathy and Martin for your company and see you again next year. All the best! Big hug to Ruby from Jas and thom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nthepyrenees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds. UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our first stay with Kathy and Martin on our journey back up to the Uk from Spain. On our arrival we were greeted by the loveable Ruby who came wagging her tail to say hello to us and our two dogs who then proceeded to run around and play together in their huge and wonderful garden. A chilled beer handed to us from Martin and Kathy was a welcomed refreshment. We joined them for an amazing table d'hotes meal with wine and Kathys culinary skills in the kitchen left us truly satisfied, both by the food and their wonderful company. Relaxing by the log burner after dinner was just a delight. The rooms are an amazing collection of high quality furniture with a beautiful comfortable four poster bed and super soft quilt and bedding. We had wonderful views over the garden through two large opening windows/doors. The whole house is full of gorgeous furnishings/paintings and artefacts but yet they make you and your dogs feel very much at ease and at home in their property. Martin and Kathy are wonderful hosts who have mastered the hospitality needed to run such an amazing successful bed and breakfast. Although this does feel more like a luxury hotel than a mere B and B. thank you both (and Ruby) for a wonderful stay and Django will be back for more fun and frolics. If you want a top of the 5 star stay then this little gem is for you.

Room Tip: Four poster bed room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trustedtraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our second stay at 'The Duck' and once again it was an unforgettable experience. My wife and I often drive down through Europe, this last trip took us to Florence and on our previous stay we were driving down to Corfu. As a result we've had quite a wide experience of B&B's in both France and Italy and 'The Duck' is without a doubt our favourite.

Kathy and Martin are just the most fantastic, natural hosts. Staying with them is always a joy, the food is excellent, the rooms very comfortable and the other guests with who you have dinner always interesting.

We've paid 2-3 times the price to stay in other B&B's and none have matched 'The Duck'! We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Thanks for a great time once again.

Will be back soon.

Allister & Claire
PS: Sorry for being a bit slow to review, things have been a bit hectic here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you can find a better B&B in France I'll eat my Austin Healey 3000. Kathy and Martin are naturals they complement each other brilliantly. The house is set in lovely gardens, how many B&B's encourage you to stay and enjoy their house. You have to have dinner it's the best value anywhere, Kathy's duck, Martin's beer and wine( his wit and rep? well he is a southerner). Eating alfresco in garden, watching red squirrels running through the trees. The best value at 69 euros or 50 for the non on suite, per room. Don't tell them but ask for an egg for breakfast, brill. You can tell how good this place is by the number of people who are repeat customers. Sorry I missed Ruby the dog she will go with anybody for a walk. The reviews speak volumes. Visit and experience this little gem. The only downside is the railway line, but Martin's wine made me deaf. We will be returning the next trip in France.I must apologize to Martin and Kathy for keeping them awake, but the company was great, talking about pork pies till the early hours.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Celon
14.3 mi away
Domaine de Vareilles
Domaine de Vareilles
#1 of 1 in Vareilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Cheval Noir
Le Cheval Noir
#1 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
L'Escapade
L'Escapade
#1 of 1 in Le Pechereau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.8 mi away
Manor de Boisvilliers
Manor de Boisvilliers
#2 of 2 in Argenton-sur-Creuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
4.5 mi away
Auberge Hotel des Artistes
Auberge Hotel des Artistes
#1 of 2 in Gargilesse-Dampierre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B

Property: Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B
Address: 3 allee des Rollets, 36200 Celon, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Berry > Indre > Celon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Celon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location off the auto-route A20 in the Center region near Argenton sur Creuse. Le Canard B&B where a warm welcome awaits you-charming & cozy, a great spot for overnight or stay & explore this fantastic region of France. Evening meals with ingredients from our kitchen garden, families and pets are most welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canard Au Parapluie Rouge B&B France/Celon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing