We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Manor de Boisvillers(Argenton-sur-Creuse)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Prieure(Saint-Marcel)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$394
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kyriad Chateauroux(Chateauroux)
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Escapade(Le Pechereau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Cheval Noir(Argenton-sur-Creuse)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Promenade(Saint-Gaultier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
176
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsevening mealold friendsat homewarm welcomeducklook forwardgreat hostslong journeyfantastic placestayed for one nightrooms are comfortablebig tableattention to detailgreat funmany placesa wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 179 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

On our arrival we were treated to a warm welcome from Martin, Kathy and Ruby (the dog) and a welcome cup of tea. We stayed in the 'seaside' room it was small but beautiful! A soft plumpy bed and the room was decorated with great style!.
But 'Dinner' was amazing, Martin and kathy are great hosts I felt I had known them for years! the wine flowed and the food was excellent, cooked by Kathy and Martin. Us and the the other guests, twelve in all, including 3 kids/ had a great time, Kathy was great with them and knew just how to feed and amuse them (i.e. after dinner curled up on sofas watching a dvd with ice cream!!! while We had a good time. Supper was excellent. They work hard, and they have got it right!!!! We will be back for longer next time. Thankyou K&M Julie and `bernard. Your Home is beautiful

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed with martin and Kathy on our way down and back to the south of France, we could not find the place at first so my other half rang martin to find out where they are, she came off the phone saying he was taking the mickey out of my Wiltshire accent, we found the place WOW! and Martin comes 10 mile from where we live. We hit it off right from the start, we were made to feel very welcome by them both and Ruby the dog. The room was amazing we had the four poster, so comfortable, Kathy is a great cook and dinner was fantastic, breakfast is plentiful and relaxing, we will be staying there again next year and look forward to it.....Don't miss a wonderful experience you will be sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our family stayed here for just a night as a stop on the drive south from Paris and it made a stopover into a wonderful adventure. From being met at the door by the wonderfully friendly couple who run the B&B to a pleasant dinner chatting with other travellers, this was such a nice evening. The kids (aged 1 1/2 and 3) loved running around the big garden with another visiting toddler, and even taking a dip in the little pool. They were served a simple, home-cooked, kid-friendly supper in the garden around seven. Our room was lovely and best of all: the window looked over the garden, so we were quite comfortable letting the kids sleep as we ate outside. Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

In 1990 we stayed at a wonderful country house hotel in Bradford Upon Avon, which was wonderfully personable and very special. We have never since found anywhere which we would hail as on a par, or equally as special. Le Canard au Parapluie Rouge is the first place that we can honestly say is just as memorable and just as very special. Kathy and Martin (and delightful labrador Ruby) gave us a wonderful welcome and were spectacular hosts. We enjoyed drinks in the delightful garden getting to know the other guests, followed by a relaxed and extremely congenial dinner where conversation flowed and the food was delicious. We were loathe to leave, but sadly the ferry back to the UK beckoned. Sadly we made the ferry!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane49_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was our first stay at le Canard - and I sincerely hope we will return. We were blown away by Martin and Kathy's hospitality — and by the exuberance of Ruby's welcome to our labrador, Morse. Love was definitely in the air between those two, as they raced around the garden, in and out of the house and up and down the stairs non-stop for hours. Luckily the other guests were 'doggy' people and seemed to find their antics entertaining!
From the welcome beer in the sunny garden, the delicious meal, fantastic night's sleep (with one very, very tired dog) and great breakfast next morning, I can't think of a nicer way of starting a holiday. This couple have a winning formula and I congratulate them wholeheartedly. Well done!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane_honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews