We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Central location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Base in Spain

Large infinity pool with separate children's pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large infinity pool with separate children's pool.
Huge master bedroom with ensuite - glorious views to the mountains.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Large infinity pool with separate children's pool.
Huge master bedroom with ensuite - glorious views to the mountains.
Dining Table - folds out to seat 6.
Floor Plan
Sitting Room opening onto the south-facing balcony
The pool at night (swim until 10pm)
Family bathroom.  We also have the master en-suite
Kitchen with separate utility room
Base in Spain gardens.
Sunny roof Terrace for dining alfresco.
Hotel-quality sun loungers.
The beach in April
Pedalos at the beach
The plaza at night
A great place to stay!
Beach bar principado.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Los Alcazares

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
freespiri...
Kent,England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed June 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The apartment was close to all a amenities including the beach (10 minute walk). It was spacious and well equipped. We used it as a base as we were in Spain celebrating a friends wedding.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2016
Many thanks for your review Christine and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigbird19...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday find”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I found this property on Facebook and was a little apprehensive booking this but didnt need to worry. Nicky was great from initial contact all the way through to departure. She was on had to answer all questions,even my stupid ones. This was the first holiday with our little one so I was stressed out about everything but there was nothing to worry about

Nicky provides loads of information about the property and also arranges transport from the airport which is a 10 minute transfer which is perfect after a flight with a toddler. Sian met us at the door and settled us into the property and provided us with a welcome pack. A cold beer went down well once we had little one in bed.

The apartment was great, with everything that you could need when travelling with a toddler. Books, DVDs, pool toys and inflatables. There is also a stair gate, bed guard and paddling pool for use on the gorgeous roof terrace. So much easier than having to pack half the house to keep the little one entertained.

The property is a 10 minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and the beach. There is a playground on every corner which can make the walk anywhere longer than expected if you have to stop off at each one!!

There is a good choice of dining options available to suit everyone's tastes.

The beach is lovely, sandy and and the water is shallow so perfect for the little ones. There are a couple of beach cafes which cater for most tastes and a few play ground areas in the unlikely event of the beach becoming boring.

Back at the apartment, the baby pool is great, 0.6m deep so safe for paddling around. Only downside was the temperature, at this time of year, it was freezing but didnt faze the little one, straight in every time.

All in all, this was a week of heaven, little one really enjoyed it and is already asking when we are going again.

Thanks Nicky for a great week and speedy return of the damage deposit, We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and price
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2016
We're so pleased you and your little one had a good time. Travelling with toddlers can be so hard (we know!!) so we're glad you all managed to relax together. We would be delighted to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. We hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
redjanjan
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing week away”
Reviewed October 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed at the base in October, for one week,with our son, daughter in law and grandson, and had a fabulous time. The apartment was brilliant, very clean, neat and tidy, fully equipped to our needs and within easy walking distance to a fabulous beach and the esplanade where there were fabulous restaurants and shops. I cannot think of anything that was not in the apartment that we may have needed. There was a beautiful communal pool but I have to add that it was very cold despite the weather being very hot.
We had some lovely walks along the esplanade stopping for the odd drink, I may add, and of course a play in the park with our grandson. I cannot fault the apartment in any way and look forward to returning to stay there again as Los Alcazaras is a beautiful place that is particularly child friendly. Thank you Nicky

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: The communal pool was very cold.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, Janet. We would be delighted to have you stay again and glad it met all of your needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izabela S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly ”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommended place for a family with kid(s) or just a couple(s). The Base in Spain is fully adjusted to small kids and we even didn't have to carry all the stuff, such as buggy/toys/books/DVDs/etc - it's fully equipped and safe for the little ones. There is lovely swimming & puddling pools and only 15 mins walk to the (sand) beach, again - you don't need to carry/spend money for toys - all you'll find in the BiS' apartment!
There is really nice balcony where we used to spend evenings enjoying Cava and nice view. You can either cook yourself or enjoy meal out at one of very good restaurant, just 5 mins walk.
We spent a week in the 1st half of Sep and the weather was perfect!
I definitely would (will!) go there again, just for a 'break' and not only for summer holiday.
You can surely count on the owner - Nicky in case of any question or trouble on site.
Thank you. Nicky for all your effort and time! ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Thank you Izabela for taking the time to write this lovely review. We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andyholid...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the ideal holiday location and apartment”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

just back from a lovely weeks holiday at the base in spain. apartment was ideal and suited our needs as we had 2 teenagers and great that they could have their own room and we could have our own space with our en suite room upstairs which led on to a nice private roof terrace. location was brilliant and the apartment only 5 minute walk from main strip with plenty of bars and restaurants which were very family orientated and would suit couples of all ages too. only 5 - 10 minute walk to the beach, which was lovely and spent half our days there. bus stop only 10 minutes away, where you have plenty of choice of places to go. Cartagena is well worth a visit and only 25 minutes on the bus. lovely harbour and roman theatre. our time there was great and will return knowing we have a very good base to enjoy and relax on holiday ( without the teenagers next time hopefully). its also helped that Nicky and Sain were available to contact at anytime and always helpful. the airport transfer is a great thing and very much appreciated.
all in all, a wonderful holiday. Thank you Nicky!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: available space around the pool.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your break and hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinaYor...
york
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful location.”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself,husband ,daughter and granddaughter stayed here late June for six nights. This apartment was ideal as there was plenty of room. Everything you need on hand. Very clean ,comfy beds ,cool cotton bed linen. It was a welcome change from hotels as you can do what you want when you want ! No crowds at breakfast buffets and having an evening meal when you don't really want it. The walk to the shops/plaza not too long and very good value in the local supermarket(wine and cava very cheap) and in the bars/restaurants.
The walk to the beach was about 15 minutes but seemed longer as it was so hot. It was worth it when we got there and it wasn't too busy a time of year. The area not as touristy as some del sol resorts,in fact nobody should mention this gem of a place then no more will come and it will stay the same!
Nicky,the owner ,texted me during our stay to check we had all we needed which was a nice touch. I can't think of any useful tips as our stay was a bit short(flights permitting) but it has converted us to self cater as it was a lovely apartment in a wonderfully peaceful place. Before I forget,the pool is fab! The cleanest I have ever swum in and it was gratifying to see someone told by the lifeguard of the need to shower before getting in. I wish he worked at my local pool! We will certainly return to Mar Menor region.
I packed a travel hair dryer,no need as there was one provided. I should have asked Nicky before but forgot, so, all potential guests-no hairdryer needed!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
I'm so pleased we have converted you to the self-catering holiday and thank you for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing