We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
525 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Los Alcazares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Perhaps we just got unlucky on this occasion...

We booked our 4-night July stay back in April via the Secret Escapes website - too good'a deal to turn down.

We arrived early on a Thursday morning, and were lucky enough to be given the opportunity to upgrade our room to a Junior Suite from a Double Room at an extra surcharge. We had a larger room, 2 balconies, huge bathroom. The room comes complete with really good air con, a fridge/mini-bar, complimentary safe, and really good WiFi throughout the place. Sadly, the balconies are rather small - you could fit some form of furniture out there, just not what is available in the room. There is also a TV, but this only had a couple of English-speaking channels (news-related) and wasn't tuned properly.

One of the sinks in our bathroom had a faulty plug, and would not drain. We mentioned to Reception on our way out to dinner on the first evening, and they said they would have it fixed. When we returned a few hours later, the front-desk said all had been sorted. We headed to our room, to find that they hadn't even been to look at it, and the water from earlier was still sitting there. Reception were called, and someone attended to removed the plug, and this was not replaced for the duration of our stay.

Breakfast was a really good offering in the mornings. Selections of cooked and continental, cereals, plenty of bread and pastries, a coffee machine, and lots of fruit juices. All seemed to be fresh and was replenished constantly.

The rooftop pool was one of the main reasons we decided to head to Los Alcazares - some down time to relax and chill out. On Thursday and Friday, this didn't seem to be an issue. There are only around 15 sunbeds available on the rooptop, so plan your day ahead if you're looking to get out there, as there are over 100 rooms in the hotel.
There is a small, shallow pool which is not heated, but the weather was so hot that it was nice to cool off. A couple of the feature in and around the pool didnt seem to be switched on/working. There is also a jacuzzi outside too.
If you want to use the sauna/steam room, you need to give the staff 20 minutes notice - however, there wasn't always staff on-hand, and their working hours seemed to be very sporadic.

There is a bar adjacent to the pool, and when staff are available, you can get food and drinks. Beers/soft drinks at around 2Eu, cheese/ham toastie for 4.50, and cocktails for 6. I did continually say I'd rather pay by cash, but staff kept adding to my room bill. Their English was not great (and neither is my Spanish!).

On Saturday and Sunday (contrary to the weekdays) there was an insane amount of Spanish speaking children and families around the "spa pool".
On Sunday, one woman arrived with 8 young children for a day of fun/games in the pool. It's not the safest pool to be jumping in at any area, with maximum depth of under a metre, but they proceeded to cause chaos in both the pool and jacuzzi.
We hadn't noticed these people in the hotel before, and were lead to believe that these were local residents, using the pool at the weekend. It prevented us from using the facilities, and didn't really compliment the 'spa-esque' look and feel of the rooftop. When staff arrived in the afternoon, they disappeared, and we were back to tranquillity once more.

I had read of previous reviews that local knowledge on the front desk was lacking - we found this to be the case on a couple of occasions, looking to head to the next town up and asking whether it was easier to get a taxi or a bus; without further a-do, a taxi was called for us. Transpired, there was a local bus network too.

However, some of the staff were available to give us some good insight, and point us in the right direction.

On our final day, check-out was at 2pm, but our flight was not until 9pm. We were advised we could use the spa facilities for the rest of the day, and rented a spa towel for a deposit of 5Eu. There are changing rooms and showers up on the top floor available to use; really clean and tidy too.

Really enjoyed our time in Los Alcazares, but the hotel wound me up a lot, and took away from our anticipated relaxation. This area of Spain is lovely and the weather was spot-on. With some many towns/hotels available close to San Javier airport, I'd steer clear of 525, and try something else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank socialPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for the second time through Travel Republic. 3 nights after 16 nights on La Torre Golf Resort. The hotel has an amazing roof top pool with views over Mar Menor. Restaurants on the strip are metres away, my favourite being Passion which is owned by hotel. Staff at hotel are friendly. BIG plus is the ice machine on every floor. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We got a very good deal via Secret Escapes including breakfast. Our room was large with a massive bed and was kept very clean by the maid each day. Towels were huge and fluffy and the shower was lovely and hot and powerful. Our room did overlook the square and we did hear some noise at night but it didn't go on too late. The air con in the room was very efficient and quiet. Breakfast was lovely in a nice room, with something to please all tastes. The hotel itself us in a very good location, just 10 mins from the airport, close to loads of bars and restaurants and a few minutes from the beach. The only reason I haven't given the hotel 5 stars is due to the small size of the swimming pool and the fact that there are only a few sunbeds available. However, we spent most of our time at the beach which is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsf2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Modern hotel,beautifully decorated throughout, close to amenities, free parking underneath, free wifi, free safe, breakfast delicious with a fair amount of choice, decent cup of tea and coffee. One observation, state you want a non smoking room or they might put you into a smokers room which smells horrible even though it had been cleaned, we asked for another room immediately which they gave us no problem on the quieter side of the hotel away from the main square. Rooftop pool is not heated which was a pity and is only very small. Apart from the latter couple of comments I would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking ,rooms on the west side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

the pictures of this hotel do not do it justice. The hotel was central for the night life and just a couple of minutes form the beach. We booked direct with the hotel for best rates. We stayed for two weeks on bed and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of variety. The room was spacious and very comfortable. Whilst it has a tv there is only the news channels in English and a Chinese documentary channel and unfortunately we did not find the radio until the last day which was in the bathroom below the telephone, however this did not spoil our holiday. Murcia itself is so cheap we were pleasantly surprised, beer was from €2 a pint and spirits and mixer from €2.50 happy hours available and 3 course set menus from €12. the resort is mainly couples older people and young families with a big population of ex pat 's. Enough going on the square at nights and plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. We would definitely go back and to the same hotel which I would rate as the top hotel in this area

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had a great stay in the 525 for 9 days. Rooms were lovely and spacious. Spa area was great , with great views over the area Hotel is very well located for everything . We lost our phone in the room , and the staff at reception went to great lengths to find it - was caught up in the laundry!!! So relieved and thankful for their efforts. Great stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here several times while in Los alcazares. Great location with some lovely restaurants just outside in the square. A real bargain property!
Free wifi and of good speed etc. large rooms immaculately clean. The best property in this price range I have ever stayed in I think.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mantra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Alcazares
0.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Narejos
Hotel Costa Narejos
#2 of 7 in Los Alcazares
963 reviews
2.3 mi away
Senator Mar Menor Golf & Spa Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#3 of 7 in Los Alcazares
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Narejos
Hotel Los Narejos
#5 of 7 in Los Alcazares
102 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club
13.1 mi away
Hotel Cartagonova
Hotel Cartagonova
#3 of 12 in Cartagena
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 525 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 525 Hotel

Address: Calle Rio Borines 58, 30710 Los Alcazares, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Los Alcazares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Los Alcazares
Price Range: $68 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 525 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 525 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
525 Hotel Los Alcazares, Spain - Region Of Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing