We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and setting. Perfect for family and friends!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jardins de Saint-Benoit
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just back from our fourth vacation on this great resort, and it is about time we write a few words about our experience with the area and the property!

The complex - which includes a vineyard, olive grove and a spa - is set over 20 acres. It is built in the region's typical style, and is virtually an extension of the neighbouring village, with narrow walkways and beautiful gardens.

The main building is in the centre of the estate and have a wine bar, spa, restaurant and a fabulous outdoor pool area. It is great to have the option of both self-catering or using the restaurant if you would like to relax and let someone else do the hard kitchen work. This time we spent two evenings in the restaurant and we appreciated the effort made to offer local specialities, cheese, meats, pates, olives and wine. Enclosed a couple of pictures of the great food.

Don't go without trying the spa! In addition to the indoor pool there is a hamman, steem room, sauna and Jacuzzi. There is a good choice of treatments and a professional team to take care of you!

There is lots of things to do for the small ones! Besides the children's pools area and the playground our son (6 years old) especially liked the little farm area with the goats, sheep's and the donkey (we learned this year his name is Garry). Down by the vineyard there is a river where you can go fishing, and on one of the days the children helped out in the garden growing vegetables.

As our last visit was in October last year, it was good to see that there has been quite some maintenance work done thru the winter period, and the large estate is well kept. Some of the tiles around the pool area is broken and should be fixed.

There are several historical sites in the area that you should pay a visit. We recommend Abbey de Fontfroide which is a 15 minute drive away. Take the guided tour and have lunch in the restaurant (remember to book a table in advance as it is very popular). Take a walk up to the top of the mountain by the abbey and you will have the perfect view of the Pyrenees, Corbieres and the Mediterranean coastline area.

Lagrasse, Narbonne and Carcassonne should also be on your list. My favourite restaurants in the area is Auberge du Vieux Puits in Fontjoncouse, La Barbacane inside the medieval city in Carcassonne and Le Parc Franck Putelat, just down the hill from the fortress. For the family, why not go for Le Buffet in Narbonne!

Naturally you need to visit the local wine producers! During our stay Domaine la Rune had a tasting in the resort restaurant, and there where also two other producers who had free tasting sessions the week we where there. Good initiative!

There is a tennis court you can use, lots of hiking tracks and also a couple of bikes available for rent.

The resort was fully booked when we visited, but it was not at all crowded.

The team members are very service minded! Lucile and Nicolas in the reception was helpful and attentive. Our son appreciated the kind lady in the wine bar who could speak Danish (sorry, I forgot your name).

The maintenance team helped us drive our luggage to the house in their golf cart when we arrived. Can be a good thing as the estate is quite large and I think you can just ask for this service when you arrive.

Thanks for a good week, we will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a 3, 4 or 5 bedroom house if you are a larger family or travel with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Go2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 375 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel should be avoided if you have small children. The facilities cannot cope with the amount of people on site. The houses are fine but under equipped. The view from our terrace was of the car park. We lacked basic things like a kettle and umbrella, and the toilet blocked and leaked. When I complained the person on reception was extremely rude and unpleasant. The pool is a disaster area which has no shallow end and not enough seats or shade. The kids pool was obviously an after thought which is placed away from the main pool and has no shade or seats at all. On arrival we were given no information about how the place worked. No one told us we needed to book the restaurants well in advance. The staff made you feel like they were doing you a favour and were extremely unhelpful. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just back from a long weekend at Les Jardins. Four couples and we had 2, 2 bedroom houses. Accomodation excellent, spacious and very comfortable. Liked the seperate bathrooms to each room. We shopped in the supermarket and BBQ'd the first evening at the communal BBQ. Simple food, all fresh and well cooked, so tasty and almost French, particularly the wine. Saturday it rained, all afternoon and heavy, but we explored the village in the morning and watched some of the Ryder Cup in the afternoon. Evening was busy, lots of people and buzz about the bar area. Despite the rain the restaurant served pork, roasted on a spit, excellent. Sun came out both sunday and monday to round of an enjoyable weekend.
We looked at some of the previoous reviews which said that the houses in the resort were close together, but this is France and when you walk through the village it is easy to see what the resort is trying to replicate.
Delightful and tranquil location which we thoroughly enjoyed with good friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CBColeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Fortunately we were there in September so it was quiet. We were very disappointed with first view, with narrow gate, walls and long rows of terraced houses, almost like a prison but once in our one bedroom town house we were much happier. Nicely fitted kitchen, sitting area, patio, large bedroom, plenty wardrobe space and nice bathroom.

Agree with previous reviewer though, professes to be something it isn't with all mentions of wine tasting, children's farm, picnics etc. but we were very happy self catering and keeping to ourselves in our house.

Free wi fi all day very good, no decent TV channels in English if that is important to you and no radio or DVD or hi fi.

We ate once in the restaurant, nice location overlooking the pool but service very slow, not attentive, and food very mediocre, my fudge pudding had clearly been microwaved too long. The staff were not bothered but in fairness to them I was relying on them speaking English.

For the cost of the house I thought they were mean on number of towels for 2 people for a week and possibly a change of sheets would have been good, air conditioning was very noisy but it was not too hot at night in September. Don't provide any dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid etc, and only one tea towel for a week.

Outside pool very good size, nice temperature, but tiles in pool slimy. Several broken paving stones round pool and no liquid in foot baths, child safety gates worked intermittently. Indoor pool not open until 10am, very late if you want to go out for day.

That is how we found it but would go back, lots of things to do in the area. Just needs a bit more leadership to raise standards.

Room Tip: If you in a terrace have an end one at the far side of site, more privacy there but no views, need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nottolerable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for a week, house with private pool , nr 159 (you really need that kind of house if you want some rest, the big pool is rather crowded, and the other houses are realle very near eachother in the central areas). Everything perfect, nice house, but the little problems you have are never solved ! The door of the refrigerator was broken, 1 air conditioning did not work very good, ... and if we mentioned it "it was he responsability of the owner". We did our rental by a travel company, so...we don't know about an owner. Also at arrival the "alarm" of the swimming pool was going of, and they did never any explanation to us...we could not turn it of. Our neighbours had the same problem ... the staff of the reception was really not interested at all in your well being here !
The restaurant was good, the staff was helpfull there. After all, we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Take a pool house, if you dont't want to be in the crowded areas, they are nice and better locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gee_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just returned from a really enjoyable family holiday here. I chose this accommodation because I'm always very choosy with self catering and want a home-from-home experience. I certainly wasn't disappointed.
We had a 2 bedroom superior house and it was very spacious with all the equipment you would need. Very clean (apart from the floors which I'm not sure were cleaned a great deal!) and the furniture and appliances looked relatively new.
Although it must have been almost full and you did overlook other houses, it was never noisy or crowded. The pool area was the only crowded part and you did get a bit disappointed every day with the lack of sunloungers. The grassy shaded area behind the pool was ok to sit on though with towels.
One disappointment was the food as we did try the take away pizzas which were not great. Therefore didn't venture into trying the outside bbq or other restaurant so cannot comment on them.
The air conditioning could be improved as it was very noisy and you wouldn't want to sleep with it on but it wasn't a big problem and I didn't find it too hot at night (despite the weather being very hot).
The place was a bit in the middle of nowhere but once you got used to the 10/15 minute drive to the supermarket (you do need a car), it was fine.
Staff at reception were very helpful.
Had a lovely play area for the children. Was a very family orientated place and both my husband and I would actually return here (which we don't normally do). I

Room Tip: Superior rooms were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 956Milly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

it is an interesting concept, in the middle of the countryside they have built a very congested housing estate, the large villas around the perimeter are ok as they at least have a view of the countryside but if you get a townhouse you may as well be in a town as pay to be in this location, when full at peak holiday times the resort is very crowded and the service poor, we waited 25 minutes for drinks to be served and it was not even a busy time of day, the staff busied themselves with tidying furniture rather than serving guests !

Our villa was lovely but again was let down by poor maintenace, on arrival the front door handle came off in our hands ! inside a further handle was laying on one of the beds as it had came off the bathroom but not bben refitted prior to our arrival. The oven was also dirty, the hob cracked. The place obviously aspires to be much better than it achieves, it has been let down by poor design and cheap products/ fittings in the properties.

The aircon seems to have been fitted as an afterthoguht and is the noisiest i have came across. you cannot sleep with it on. they have placed the units in boxes internally under the bedroom windows so if your travelling with children its ideal for them to climb on and endanger their lives.

Service also needs to be improved.

Mintenace had to visit our villa 6 times in 3 days to resolve problems that should all have been done prior to our arrival. dirty pool, missing door handles, dirty kitchen etc etc.

The local town is lovely and there are aslo excellent places to visit in the region.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tonybillingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
12.5 mi away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
22.0 mi away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#2 of 20 in Narbonne
179 reviews
17.0 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
La Residence du Chateau de Jouarres
15.8 mi away
Novotel Narbonne Sud
Novotel Narbonne Sud
#12 of 20 in Narbonne
673 reviews
19.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardins de Saint-Benoit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardins de Saint-Benoit

Address: Avenue de Talairan, 11220 Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
Price Range: $111 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardins de Saint-Benoit 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in the village as it was long ago among the Corbiere vineyards the sea and the garrigue. For nature lovers, for children, for epicures and explorers. A totally unique concept. Les Jardins de Saint Benoit has reinvented family holidays. Guests come from afar in order to live one of Europe's many unique experiences. The village is completely integrated into its environment with its small houses typical of surrounding villages, its pedestrian cobbled streets, its fountains and olive groves, and its elegant pool areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Jardins de Saint-Benoit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De Saint-Benoit Hotel Saint-Laurent-De-La-Cabrerisse
Jardins De Saint-Benoit France/Saint-Laurent-De-La-Cabrerisse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing