We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice meal in Spice Talk”

Spice Talk Indian Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 101 Restaurants in Redcar
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice meal in Spice Talk”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was wary of the reviews on here, but thought "what the heck" and Hubby and I went for dinner earlier tonight. It was about a quarter full I would say, we had booked anyway. Service was attentive and the waiters polite and friendly.

Our drinks were brought and the waiter asked if we would like to order poppadums and dips while we looked at the menu, which we did. We ordered what I think was a typically average sort of fare, Hubby chose Chicken Dopiaza with boiled rice and a Keema naan, also Saag Aloo. He said it was flavoursome. I went for the Vegetable Biryani and chapatti. There was loads! It was sooo tasty, all sorts of different veg in it, the curry sauce was not too spicy. I would definately choose it again!

So all in all, it was a good experience, we will definately go back! :-D

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadylawns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    18
    11
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are not many good places for food in Redcar now but is one of them. There is a good choice on the menu. The staff are friendly. The place is clean, I could see though to the kitchen from the bar and that was clean, always important.
Avoid the all you can eat Sunday buffet as this gets full of people just stuffing themselves and getting drunk. It can be quiet though the week but dont let this put you off.
The set meals are good value as you can swap what is on the list for other things, and you do get quite a lot.
Their take away service is also on Justeat so you can order on line.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Idacardie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've been to spice talk a few times and each time I have been impressed.
The staff are very friendly!
The food is delicious, very tasty and good portion sizes!
Also, the prices are very good, it is very affordable!
I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“all you can eat experiance is the only reason to go here.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Went during the buffet lunch with my eight year old daughter.
Had to come back 30 minutes later as there wasn't any space due to a large group of drinkers trying to line their stomach's.
When we did get seated, the total choice of mild dishes for kids was poor.
The food in general was ok but missing the "wow factor"
One good point was that they didn't charge me for my daughters meal which was mainly rice, chips and nan bread.
Loads of waiters and one waitress, they mainly stood about and let one guy do everything.
Watched a customer try and get a bowl to put some fruit salad in, the waitress didn't have a clue, he gave up in the end when she brought out a metal tray.
Would I go back? Wouldn't go out of my way for it. Ok as a last resort.
There are worse places in redcar you could end up at.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oraclebhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Proberbly the worst indian I've had for a long time, service slow, no atmosphere, tasteless food, the place looks nice but they need to up their game

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wato63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Talk Indian Restaurant also viewed

Redcar, North Yorkshire
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 
Redcar, North Yorkshire
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Spice Talk Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing