We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RPC Nostalgia Group Reunion 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clarendon Hotel

The Clarendon Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Redcar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clarendon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Redcar
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RPC Nostalgia Group Reunion 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very clean and tidy hotel, Russ and Sarah and there staff could not do enough for us and went out there way to help all in our party who attended. Food fantastic and great value
Will be there again next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms our party were good. Rooms 1, 4 good family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank digger0373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
14
5
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

When visited the Clarendon to have sunday lunch, we were greeted by the friendly staff, who took our order. The service was prompt and the food was of excellent standards. It is the next best thing from home-cooked food. They serve good sized portions as well as piping hot homemade yorkshire puddings! Seasonal vegatables that they included were fresh and well cooked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove, england
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Nice home-cooked meals. Nothing fancy but just what you need on a cold winter's day. There is even a fire to cheer you up. Dishes include pies, roasts, liver and onions, and fish and chips. On the subject of chips, they are hand-cut and DELICIOUS! ! The best chips I've had in a while. Prices are very reasonable and weekday deals include 2 meals for £7 from a specials menu. All the dishes I have mentioned are included.
The staff are super nice too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makeminealargeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

stayed here for a period of weeks inbetween moving house.
the room and ensuite were perfect, piping hot water all the time, powerfull shower. clean bedding and towels at hand constantly. Russ and Sarah & the little ones are a lovly famliy who have imprinted this famly value on the hotel and the pub.
entertainment on a weekend is kareoke friday and saterday night with james doing a wonderfull job, and live bands on a sunday. the door staff mikey g and geoff and russ himself are the finest in town, with no attitude and freindly dispositions all the time.
all the staff are friendly and will stand and chatter with you for as long as possible when not busy. race weekends are always busy so if you enjoy a gamble on the horses and a real busy livley atmosphere book in for one, gohst hunts are popular too here. the food is excellent value and all home cooked fresh! no ping meals here!! Russ even cooks!! now thats a multi talented man!! lol.
overall the clarry offers good food a friendly safe enviroment to socalise and nice comfy beds that are clean well decorated and homley. keep it up russ and sarah job well done!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindastonerockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is how our stay panned out at the Clarendon when we visited for a Days Racing from Liverpool. 1. Arrived at around Midday place was quite busy, but Staff Checked us in within 5 Minutes of arrival.
2. Sarah the owner then showed us to our Rooms personally (Followed by Her Two lovely Children who were Shouting. "Have a Lovely stay". Brilliant.)
3. The Room was clean comfortable and Homely.
4. After Racing we returned to Hotel and our Party of 12 all had a Meal we were all served Promptly, and the Food was piping Hot a huge Portion and very reasonably priced.
5.After the Meal we went into the Pub part of the Building. There was something on the TV we wanted to watch, when we asked the Boss if he could turn over the TV for us? he gave me the remote control and told us to Help ourselves.
6. A little later on we asked if there was a Pack of Cards we could borrow? They did'nt but unbelievably they went out and bought a Pack for us. I've stayed all over the Country Horse Racing in some really swanky places and I can say without fear of contradiction this was the friendliest nothing to much trouble place I've ever stayed in. They made us all feel so Welcome from the start of our stay to our Departure. we all agreed we will definately be visiting the Clarendon again no Question.
Thank you very much on behalf of The Oaklea Aces Racing Syndicate to Sarah and Russ and all your Staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ged B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Once again another great weekend at the Clarendon Hotel, the room's were clean & tidy, and the food is first class, Russell & Sarah you did us proud once again, your staff are a credit to you both well done. We will be back for our 2013 Reunion.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ALLAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The ghost hunt was really good as usual with Ray Booker. Ray told us things he couldn't of known about our past and the people around us. we did have some confirmation from spirits in the hotel but the ouija board but mainly family in spirit took over and we had lots of confirmed messages. A really good night and a lovely english breakfast to send us off back home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
5.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
6.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
7.6 mi away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Property: The Clarendon Hotel
Address: 2 High Street, Redcar TS10 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Redcar
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel Redcar, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing