We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top quality fish and chips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver's Fish & Chips Takeaway Restaurant

Oliver's Fish & Chips Takeaway Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Redcar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Oliver's Fish & Chips is a long standing business which has operated in the Redcar area for over 30 years, formerly known as Russell's Fish & Chips. The current owners, Michael & Helen Roberts, purchased in the business in 2011 and decided to rename the business Oliver's after their only son.Oliver's Fish & Chips has both Takeaway & Restaurant areas and operates Monday through to Sunday, during the hours of 10am-8pm.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“top quality fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

After spending the day at seaside its a must that you go and have fish and chips, olivers was the first one that we walked past.A good size portion of fish and chips and very very tasty, very clean and tidy takeaway. This was the first time that we had visited olivers and it wont be the last next time we visit redcar

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oatesyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    74
    19
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smethwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

we decided to pop into Olivers as it had been a very long day and in need of sustenance! so glad we did. It was a very Cosy and comfortable place to sit down with a not overly fussy menu.

We ordered haddock, cod, cheese burger, fish pattie and a kids meal. when the food arrived to the table what a pleasant suprise. The chips were light and fluffy and the batter on the fish was so crispy and not at all greasy. The cheese burger came out and the size of it was ridiculous! and let's just say my brother was more than happy with the quality. I ordered the fish patty which was a piece of fish which was in between 2 slices of potato in batter the fish was beautiful but sadly the potato was a smidge under cooked, but not enough to make it inedible just a smidge crunchy. But the coffee was gorgeous even my incredibly fussy mom drank every drop!

So all in all would highly recommend Olivers!!! x

Helpful?
2 Thank Madshell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We always come here for our fish and chips when visiting Redcar, decent portions food always good, place is spotless and the staff are nice and friendly too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish & Chips the way they should be !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Ate late lunch of haddock & chips. Delightfully light batter the way it should be over fresh fillet of Haddock. Got to speak with Oliver & his mum !! Looking forward to next visit when we are in England.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Popped in after a long day at the sea side and was greeted with a very warm welcome. The staff were extremely polite and quick to take care of anything I asked. I believe the girl to be called Terri? hands down one of the most polite, sweetest people i have ever met. Due to this service, me and my husband will be regular visitors and giving it the highest possible recommendation to friends. The food came out and I was dreading it because i did not think it would live up to the service but I was wrong. Brilliant visit all around

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver's Fish & Chips Takeaway Restaurant also viewed

Redcar, North Yorkshire
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 
Redcar, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Oliver's Fish & Chips Takeaway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing