We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the claxton”
Review of Claxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Claxton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Redcar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the Claxton for a 3 night weekend in July, and thoroughly enjoyed it :)

The decor in our room was dated although spotless with everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable with white crisp good quality linen, very spacious room.

We had 2 evening meals here, and both was lovely, nice home made food. Breakfast each day was wonderful, with no faults.

The Claxton is made excellent by the friendly, helpful owners & staff plus the quality & choice of delicious food.

With the fast, friendly & reliable service and the ideal situation I would recommend the Claxton to anyone, my only regret is our stay was too short!!! We'll be back.

Room Tip: Our double room was lovely, spascious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 188 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I only stayed 2 nights at The Claxton and wish my stay was longer. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave. Upon arriving the staff were very friendly and full of smiles
Entering the room, it was clean and quiet. The bathroom was also very clean.
The bed was one thing that if I could take him home, I would have done , it was very comfortable....
Very tasty breakfast, I love scrambled eggs on a full traditional english and I found it better than what the local weatherspoons had to offer.
Evenings were a pleasure here, they have a choice of 2 bars. 1 huge room and a smaller cosey room - both are perfect for relaxing after a busy day at the seaside. Evening meals were cooked lovely and again all the staff were pleasent.
Pleanty of FREE car parking so my car wasnt just abandond on the local high street.
Would recomend to friends and family to stay here .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyT804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I love staying at the Claxton, The staff are always very helpful and friendly, The bedroom had new carpets, bedding and curtains,with a great view of the beach.Everywhere was clean and fresh. The evening meal was great value for money and the breakfast was more than i could eat.I will continue to visit the Claxton for years to come. Great value for money and a great venue for any function you may need all at affordable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our 3 night stay was 3 nights too many! Two single beds were pushed together to make our double, only two very thin pillows, no lights on the headboard worked (one was hanging off), overhead light was dim and dingy. En-suite was so tiny you had to breathe in to get past the basin to the toilet on one side and shower on the other. No window in there so 'extractor' operated as soon as light put on (it was deafening). Large holes in the carpet in bedroom & en-suite which smelt strongly of urine. Curtains decomposing in places and bedding very suspect!! Furniture falling to bits. Due to very short notice this was the only 'Hotel' that could accommodate us for three nights, I wish we had shopped around a lot more!! Poached eggs for breakfast were microwaved - Yes, true, the waitress told me and the proof was in the eating - small, round, tough, solid discs! Never again will we stay there that is for sure. I advise you not to as well!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms to our knowledge! The Hotel Inspector would have a field-day!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have been staying at the Claxton Hotel for 11 years but vowed this year would be the last. Stuart Smith is no longer in charge of the place and we noted its demise.
Rooms were freezing cold in spring and the place appeared a little shabby. Alot less than we expected from a former nice and clean place.
In 2000 we considered this a decent hotel, now its just an average B & B.
We will possibly never stay here again and will favour the Park or similar.
Its a nice location with great views but I couldnt guarantee the beds had been changed and the place hoovered, I had a receipt under the bed from 3 days before we took residence.
The owners are nice and Im sure would try their best but it was freezing cold in the room and it made the stay quite miserable.

Room Tip: Go for 5 or 6 but take a fleece.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chenessfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel in November 2012 on a short break over a weekend. On arrival we were allocated room 6, we put our bags in the room and went off to vist the local area for the day.
We returned to our room late on the night, we then realised that there were no side lights or lamps working, the only light was the main ceiling light.
Our main problem, however, was the cleanliness of the bed and bedding, we could both smell a nasty stagnent smell on the bedding, and as a consequence of this neither of us slept very well at all.
When we got up in the morning we removed the pillowcase and was disgusted to see that the pillows were all covered in very nasty smelly yellow stains, we then checked the duvet and mattress and both were also very heavily stained.
If we had infact checked before going to bed, we really wouldn't have been able to lie on that filthy bed.
We certainly wouldn't stay in this Hotel again. We are frequent travellers both in the UK and worldwide and always say it doesn't matter about decor as long as you have a clean bed to sleep in, this Hotels bed was the dirtiest smelliest bed we've ever slept in anywhere in the world.
On the plus side, the breakfast was good and the staff we met where helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed with my family. Service and value excellent. This is our second stay and can't fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkyoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redcar
4.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
252 reviews
0 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#3 of 10 in Redcar
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Armada Guesthouse, Redcar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Edwardian house Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Alpine Guest House
Alpine Guest House
#8 of 10 in Redcar
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Abbey Guest House
Abbey Guest House
#1 of 2 in Redcar
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claxton Hotel

Address: 196 High Street, Redcar TS10 3AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Redcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Redcar
Price Range: $79 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Claxton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Claxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claxton Hotel Redcar, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing