We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Poppy House

The Poppy House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poppy House
Ranked #5 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff were rude and the rooms were dirty. i would certainly not recommend this b&b. the food was amatuerish and over cooked whilst the service was lacking any personality. the location however is fabulous and under different managment this building would be superb.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosealee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

When I discovered that my husband would not be able to finish installing our new kitchen in time for Christmas I did not panic. I simply phoned the Poppy House. Luckily they had one table remaining. We ate here for Christmas 2010. The food was great then and we were not disappointed for this second visit. The business is family run and they make a great team. We were made to feel very welcome. The restaurant was very nicely decorated with roaring log fire to keep us all warm. There were five courses : starter, champagne sorbet, main course, dessert and finally mince pies & coffee/tea all for just £39.99 excellent value as all eating places charge double or more for Christmas Lunch. As we arrived we offered hot mulled wine or orange juice. All courses were absolutely delicious I had two large fillets of salmon cooked in a white white & tarragon cream sauce. The fish was melt in the mouth and tasted divine!
Could not recommend this place more or fault the kind caring staff. To top it all as we left we were all given Christmas gift bags containing Poppy House toiletries and chocolate - what a lovely gesture! Thank you Poppy House for a wonderful, delicious and stress free Christmas Lunch!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlassie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Recently had a meal with the family. Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Really pleasant friendly staff. Food was cooked to perfection very tasty.
Busy restaurant nicely decorated within the town centre of Bishops Castle.
No wonder the Poppy House was recommended to us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RobertJamesTrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely stay. I stayed here with my partner and friends. The staff were very welcoming.Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast- their scrambled eggs and salmon hit the spot! And their hot chocolate was delicious. Very spacious rooms and extremely comfortable beds. The shower head is a little low if you're on the tall size but ample of hot water. A lovely mini break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ateacher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just got back from a short break , this was our rescue b&b after booking elsewhere that was horrible we packed up an stumbled upon the poppy house , from the min they answered the door to us we were overjoyed , it was a beautiful little quirky b&b that welcomed me , my partner our baby and dog , yes they are very dog friendly . Our room was very comfortable , immaculately clean and our breakfast each morning 10 out of 10 , the owners just couldn't accommodate us enough , would defiantly recommend anyone to go and have a short break there , can't wait to go back

Katrina , Danny baby Gracie & Ruby the dog

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and we had a wonderful stay. I think it was the owner and her daughter that made our stay so special. Nothing was to much trouble and even though the weather wasn't brilliant they helped brighten up our day with the most wonderful breakfast. The room was very comfortable and clean. we had everything we needed including a fridge with fresh milk changed daily. Can't wait for our next visit to bishops castle to see our new friends

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtraveller7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Booked 2 double rooms for ourselves and friends, 2 of which were doing Lands End to John O Groats cycle ride. The two sisters who run this B&B couldn't have been more helpful, even down to telling me where the nearest laundrette was - 3 miles away! I arrived before the others and checked in. Rooms were lovely, great en-suites with baths and a very reasonably priced mini-bar which had real milk for making tea/coffee in the rooms! The next day the breakfast was fab, they stored the bikes safely away overnight. Would definately recommend and stay there again, if in the area.

Room Tip: Some reviewers mention parking being tight. The area for parking is small but was available to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#7 of 12 in Bishops Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poppy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poppy House

Property: The Poppy House
Address: 20 Market Square | Bishop's Castle, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Poppy House Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing