We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Christmas dinner”
Review of The Poppy House

The Poppy House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poppy House
Ranked #5 of 11 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super Christmas dinner”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

When I discovered that my husband would not be able to finish installing our new kitchen in time for Christmas I did not panic. I simply phoned the Poppy House. Luckily they had one table remaining. We ate here for Christmas 2010. The food was great then and we were not disappointed for this second visit. The business is family run and they make a great team. We were made to feel very welcome. The restaurant was very nicely decorated with roaring log fire to keep us all warm. There were five courses : starter, champagne sorbet, main course, dessert and finally mince pies & coffee/tea all for just £39.99 excellent value as all eating places charge double or more for Christmas Lunch. As we arrived we offered hot mulled wine or orange juice. All courses were absolutely delicious I had two large fillets of salmon cooked in a white white & tarragon cream sauce. The fish was melt in the mouth and tasted divine!
Could not recommend this place more or fault the kind caring staff. To top it all as we left we were all given Christmas gift bags containing Poppy House toiletries and chocolate - what a lovely gesture! Thank you Poppy House for a wonderful, delicious and stress free Christmas Lunch!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshlassie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Recently had a meal with the family. Friendly relaxed atmosphere. Really pleasant friendly staff. Food was cooked to perfection very tasty.
Busy restaurant nicely decorated within the town centre of Bishops Castle.
No wonder the Poppy House was recommended to us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RobertJamesTrebor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely stay. I stayed here with my partner and friends. The staff were very welcoming.Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast- their scrambled eggs and salmon hit the spot! And their hot chocolate was delicious. Very spacious rooms and extremely comfortable beds. The shower head is a little low if you're on the tall size but ample of hot water. A lovely mini break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ateacher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just got back from a short break , this was our rescue b&b after booking elsewhere that was horrible we packed up an stumbled upon the poppy house , from the min they answered the door to us we were overjoyed , it was a beautiful little quirky b&b that welcomed me , my partner our baby and dog , yes they are very dog friendly . Our room was very comfortable , immaculately clean and our breakfast each morning 10 out of 10 , the owners just couldn't accommodate us enough , would defiantly recommend anyone to go and have a short break there , can't wait to go back

Katrina , Danny baby Gracie & Ruby the dog

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and we had a wonderful stay. I think it was the owner and her daughter that made our stay so special. Nothing was to much trouble and even though the weather wasn't brilliant they helped brighten up our day with the most wonderful breakfast. The room was very comfortable and clean. we had everything we needed including a fridge with fresh milk changed daily. Can't wait for our next visit to bishops castle to see our new friends

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtraveller7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Booked 2 double rooms for ourselves and friends, 2 of which were doing Lands End to John O Groats cycle ride. The two sisters who run this B&B couldn't have been more helpful, even down to telling me where the nearest laundrette was - 3 miles away! I arrived before the others and checked in. Rooms were lovely, great en-suites with baths and a very reasonably priced mini-bar which had real milk for making tea/coffee in the rooms! The next day the breakfast was fab, they stored the bikes safely away overnight. Would definately recommend and stay there again, if in the area.

Room Tip: Some reviewers mention parking being tight. The area for parking is small but was available to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Poppy House is an old property centrally situated in this small town; with shops, pubs and restaurants a short stroll away. When we arrived we took up our reserved parking slot in the very small yard(booked in advance) and entered by the back door; after knocking at the kitchen door (there is no bell) we were warmly greeted and shown to our en-suite room which was up a fairly steep staircase. The room was well appointed but the kettle did not work, neither did the shaving light in the bathroom. We did our best to sort out these problems on our own because once upstairs we were very much on our own; when the restaurant closes downstairs there is no-one about at all until the morning and there is no downstairs residents lounge.

We had a very peaceful nights sleep and came down to our breakfast in the bright airy restaurant that overlooks the street. Cereals and juice were very basic but the cooked breakfasts were first class: I had the kippers and my wife the vegetarian, which she so enjoyed she ordered it again next morning, whilst I had the full English second time around. Together with great toast these were real "set you up for the day" breakfasts.

Returning at tea time the three parking slots were all taken, further, the street outside was barred off for the coming "Farmers Market", so I had to park well away down the hill in the town car park. This seems to be a common problem, in Bishops Castle parking is not easy. That evening we ate in the nearby small Indian restaurant which serves excellent food. In the morning, I was in luck and able to get the car nearby in the street outside to load our bags.

In summary, this is a good standard of B&B with friendly helpful staff who try hard; but the accommodation is above a working restaurant and there is little contact with anyone once the restaurant side of the business closes down. Stairs are steep and parking tight and very limited.
The breakfasts were very good.

Room Tip: Room No 1 is on a split level with the en-suite down a couple of steps; spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#7 of 11 in Bishops Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#3 of 11 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poppy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poppy House

Property: The Poppy House
Address: 20 Market Square | Bishop's Castle, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Poppy House Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing