We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & very charming b&b”
Review of The Poppy House

The Poppy House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Poppy House
Ranked #5 of 11 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Excellent & very charming b&b”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Just got back from a short break , this was our rescue b&b after booking elsewhere that was horrible we packed up an stumbled upon the poppy house , from the min they answered the door to us we were overjoyed , it was a beautiful little quirky b&b that welcomed me , my partner our baby and dog , yes they are very dog friendly . Our room was very comfortable , immaculately clean and our breakfast each morning 10 out of 10 , the owners just couldn't accommodate us enough , would defiantly recommend anyone to go and have a short break there , can't wait to go back

Katrina , Danny baby Gracie & Ruby the dog

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
34
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed here with my partner and we had a wonderful stay. I think it was the owner and her daughter that made our stay so special. Nothing was to much trouble and even though the weather wasn't brilliant they helped brighten up our day with the most wonderful breakfast. The room was very comfortable and clean. we had everything we needed including a fridge with fresh milk changed daily. Can't wait for our next visit to bishops castle to see our new friends

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newtraveller7785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Booked 2 double rooms for ourselves and friends, 2 of which were doing Lands End to John O Groats cycle ride. The two sisters who run this B&B couldn't have been more helpful, even down to telling me where the nearest laundrette was - 3 miles away! I arrived before the others and checked in. Rooms were lovely, great en-suites with baths and a very reasonably priced mini-bar which had real milk for making tea/coffee in the rooms! The next day the breakfast was fab, they stored the bikes safely away overnight. Would definately recommend and stay there again, if in the area.

Room Tip: Some reviewers mention parking being tight. The area for parking is small but was available to me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Poppy House is an old property centrally situated in this small town; with shops, pubs and restaurants a short stroll away. When we arrived we took up our reserved parking slot in the very small yard(booked in advance) and entered by the back door; after knocking at the kitchen door (there is no bell) we were warmly greeted and shown to our en-suite room which was up a fairly steep staircase. The room was well appointed but the kettle did not work, neither did the shaving light in the bathroom. We did our best to sort out these problems on our own because once upstairs we were very much on our own; when the restaurant closes downstairs there is no-one about at all until the morning and there is no downstairs residents lounge.

We had a very peaceful nights sleep and came down to our breakfast in the bright airy restaurant that overlooks the street. Cereals and juice were very basic but the cooked breakfasts were first class: I had the kippers and my wife the vegetarian, which she so enjoyed she ordered it again next morning, whilst I had the full English second time around. Together with great toast these were real "set you up for the day" breakfasts.

Returning at tea time the three parking slots were all taken, further, the street outside was barred off for the coming "Farmers Market", so I had to park well away down the hill in the town car park. This seems to be a common problem, in Bishops Castle parking is not easy. That evening we ate in the nearby small Indian restaurant which serves excellent food. In the morning, I was in luck and able to get the car nearby in the street outside to load our bags.

In summary, this is a good standard of B&B with friendly helpful staff who try hard; but the accommodation is above a working restaurant and there is little contact with anyone once the restaurant side of the business closes down. Stairs are steep and parking tight and very limited.
The breakfasts were very good.

Room Tip: Room No 1 is on a split level with the en-suite down a couple of steps; spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Iv been to bishops castle a number of times now and stayed in this b&b a few times plus one other i wont mention.

Rooms.
Iv stayed in a different room everytime, and they are all to a high standard, each room is different, which gives the b&b alot of character. The rooms are always clean, you have a mini bar (well stocked), central heating and shower and bath. On arrival the family room b&b staff are very welcoming and escort you to your room., on arrival to your room they make you feel very welcome and ask you what time youd like breakfast.

Sleep (zzzzz).
Very very comfy bed. No problems at all. (,")

Breakfast.....
Amaizing..... You have a menu of a choice of things, from full english (All local produce a great plus point) and salmon and scrambled eggs i think. I chose the full english everytime it is great iv never tasted breakfast like it. There is also cerial and fresh juice if you wish to have them to.

Overall.
Iv traveled alot in the last 10 yrs, and stayed in alot of hotels and b&bs, but this one has something special about it, it feels like home. I would fully recommend this hotel you will not be disapointed. The rooms are amaizing, and the staff will make you feel welcome your whole stay.

Thanks you for reading. Danny.

Oh im a paraglider, and all flyable site are in close range of this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, everyroom is different and has its on unique feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have been coming here under a range of proprietors for ten years or so. It's a lovely old rambling property with comfy bedrooms, friendly staff and excellent breakfasts. It's a stone's throw from the excellent Three Tuns public house and the tiny and quirky Ganges restaurant; (nice curries but ask for somethign hot as they are bit bland). Ideal for a long weekend away.

Room Tip: Room One at the front is the biggest and the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of england
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is in my opinion a well situated B&B with clean spacious rooms and friendly staff.The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast.Now for the downside.Please get rid of those awful red nylon bedspreads.Also if establishments are going to provide a mini bar then why do they not replenish items? I would have had more than one pepsi but only one was provided and not replenished next day(ditto the water in friend's room).Another gripe are the complimentary shower gel sachets - we got two for two people over two nights.Some folk like to have two showers a day especially walkers,cyclists etc,and even non active persons have been known to indulge twice in one day!Therefore eight sachets would have been in order.Either provide a realistic amount or none at all,it just looks stingy otherwise.
Perhaps a shower gel dispenser would be a good idea then people won't be tempted to stash unused sachets in their case.
The outside area was another disappointment,I can only describe it as tired.It obviously wants some cash spending on it but in the meantime it's surprising what a yardbrush and a bit of imagination can do. Apart from the above I found it quite good value overall.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellothereitsmehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
761 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bishops Castle
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#6 of 11 in Bishops Castle
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#4 of 11 in Bishops Castle
111 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 1 in Norbury
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poppy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poppy House

Property: The Poppy House
Address: 20 Market Square | Bishop's Castle, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Poppy House Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing