We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pint”
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice pint”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

In town on a hot day so passing by and went in for a drink. Lunch so is was quiet in here. Not a lot of choice for a pint as there was a beer festival on at the weekend and they were getting ready for that. The pint I had was an excellent drink and was very much enjoyed. The staff were friendly and so we enjoyed our short visit here. A cask marque pub to be recommended. Did not have a meal so unable to comment on the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browni22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best pub in Bishops Castle”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We ate here twice whilst on holiday in the area, once for Sunday lunch and once for an evening meal, mid week. The food was lovely, home cooked and hearty. There was an excellent selection of veg at an extremely reasonable price and the home made puddlings are to die for! Because we enjoyed it so much we came back later that week for an evening meal and again the food and service was amazing. We are a family with three young kids and haven't found everywhere in Bishops Castle to be as welcoming to families. The kings head offers great value, is immaculately clean and has a lovely ambiance and great service. We cannot find any fault and would not hesitate to return if we are in the area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome place”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited here one evening while staying in the area, we were greeted with a smile and a very attentive barmaid who immediately made us feel welcome. The menu was a typical pub menu, but the food was exceptionally good, way above general pub food quality and quantity.
Wish it was out local, as we would be here most nights
We Would definitely recommend this as a place to eat and drink

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tigger33dw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“well impressed”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading previous reviews and deciding to give it a go, I can honestly say that we cannot fault either the food or the service. I had the veggie lasagne, which was freshly cooked and piping hot. It came with a baton of garlic bread and substantial side salad. My partner had the salmon on crushed potatoes in a white wine sauce with seasonal veg. It was exceptional, with the salmon being almost to big to finish. The service was quick and the staff friendly and attentive. For the portion size the bill was very reasonable (less than £20) We would certainly visit again, in fact there was so much to choose from the menu it was difficult to decide what to order. Outstanding!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Kings Head....Lunch menu a BIG disappointment!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A friend and myself visited this establishment recently on a saturday, in search of a substantial lunch .... we entered the pub from the High Street straight into an unwelcoming bar area....we were greeted by a surly Landlord and it can only be described as a tumbleweed experience!!..... the menus we were handed, had what we can only presume is an excellent evening menu.... the lunch menu however was extremely basic and uninviting... in search of better surrounding to sit in, we walked into the back room (which I presume was the Restaurant area) this again was uninviting.... needless to say we hastily drank our drinks and eventually ended up a little further out of Bishops Castle at the Herbert Arms (Chirbury) and had an amazing meal and we were made to feel very welcome...... we will NOT be returning!.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisabeth09359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Bishops Castle, Shropshire
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 
Lydbury North, Shropshire
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing