We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“xxx beer what not to like”

The Three Tuns Brewery
Attraction details
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“xxx beer what not to like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

A town with two home brew pubs and 6 in the area what is not to like. New Chef and an interesting Menu polished off a great weekend

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Romantic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

I like the Three Tuns very much. I first visited as a student, on a geology field trip thirty years ago and it has steadily improved with the years. There is a wonderful oak-framed bar extension at the back, with views of the brewery tower nearby and the Long Mynd in the distance. This gives the small pub a great feel of spaciousness. The mixture of dining areas and lounge-type bars with wood-burners and worn, homely leather sofas is perfect.
Food is great - ambitious, sophisticated dishes but with good sized portions to satisfy the hungry, unlike some silly pubs in the area which serve artistic but minuscule helpings. Very reasonable pricing makes one want to come back again and again.
Beer is brilliant. Should be, after 370 years of practice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jayartibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Husband loves it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's a brewery (and pub) so hubbie loves it! Does takeaway mini kegs which is good, beer is fab and it lets dogs in! What more can I say? Haven't eaten here but I believe they do provide food, we just have pork scratching and crisps....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A fine pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We lunched here, having last visited 40 years ago, and I was apprehensive about the inevitable changes. I need not have worried. The brewery still turns out finely crafted beers, and the food was just excellent. Friendly staff, a huge portion of good fish & chips, great value for money, and well worth a visit if you are looking for the best in pub grub and ambience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“combo of local boozer and larger tourist gastropub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I'm a local and have been having lunches at The Three Tuns with my husband and little boy since he was 5 weeks old. The meat and fish dishes (limited but you can ring in advance to reserve fish) are tasty enough, good chips but essentially pleasant food with a hint of 'gastropub'. It is atmospheric at the weekends and has fires for cosy corners and large windowed section for light which we prefer. The service is always accommodating if not exactly fizzing with fun and warmth - but this is the local pub for working locals who want good beer without music, so don't expect London-style (or Welsh style) charm. Mainly, I must recommend Rus Gromov's excellent taxi service. He is very sweet, cultured and thoughtful. Drives me and my boy as well as visitors from outside Shropshire who always comment on his courtesy, efficiency and super-comfy and clean car. He is Latvian with great English but possibly not always perfect pronunciation. I am confounded at anyone having a bad word to say about him - and am a fairly demanding customer of taxis and restaurants! The Castle Hotel, up the hill, is my favourite BC family pub with games for little ones and big kids, warmer service, comfy seating and a kitchen that really tries to please. Good for evening dates, always light fires, even on request. Larger fish menu from Thurs-Sun and wonderful garden with views over the hills.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Surburbanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Tuns Brewery also viewed

Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 
Clun, Shropshire
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 

Been to The Three Tuns Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing