We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So friendly and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Inn Pub

The Crown Inn Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $118
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So friendly and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is such a lovely loacal pub. We were camping down the hill at The Green Caravan Park and came here for dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. Very family friendly with no raised eyebrows at our boistrous 2 year old!!
I had the steak pie which they serve in 2 sizes. The small was big enough for a filling dinner.
They have fresh hen, duck, quail, turkey and even pheasant eggs available for sale with all the money going into charity boxes. I can vouch that they were fresh and lovely!
We came back again for breakfast and once again cannot fault the service and the food. Perfectly poached eggs and plenty of tea, coffee and cereals on offer.
Having struggled to get a table at the site pub we ventured up here again for dinner on Sunday. Husband and I both had the Sunday roast which we couldnt fault. Childrens meals were excellent and it has such a nice friendly atmosphere.
Good selection of locally brewed ales on tap (Butty Bach was particularly lovely). Good wine choices and soft drinks choice was excellent.
My parents stayed the night here at the same time and although the room was small (it is a small village pub/B&B after all), it was very clean and again, all staff were extremely friendly,
I would thoroughly recommend this pub and its food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saran F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    41
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great weekend retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a weekend away with friends and we stayed at the Crown. From the minute we arrived we had a very warm welcome. We had reserved a table before we arrived. We had a warm reception from Joyce who was staying to help out. bedrooms were lovely and the breakfast was great would recommend this great little gem. Some lovely walks from this venue. Also make sure that you visit the church when you go. Why not give it a try,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorrainem1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Went to the wrong pub but pleased we did”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Booked a table for Sunday lunch at a pub in Wentnor which is a tiny village. So when we stumbled across the Crown we thought this must be the one. Unfortunately not but we are so glad of our mistake. The turkey roast dinner was excellent, three thick portions of turkey breast cooked to perfection. Excellent roast potatoes rather than the all too common Aunt Bessie microwaved efforts. A great range of real ales from local brewers - had Ow Do from Big Nev's (Six bells) brewery/pub in Bishops Castle. Friendly service and the price was very good. We will be coming back and to stay for B&B next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank superscaryshadowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was the nearest pub to the cottage that we rented so on the first night we opted to go there. It is very traditional and still frequented by locals unlike so many others that serve food where locals have been forgotten about. We were made to feel very welcome by both staff and locals alike so much so that we went there each night of our stay which is unlike us as we normally go to different places.
The food is excellent and there is a good choice all at a reasonable price. I never managed a sweet as the portions are large but my husband did and would recommend them.
It was always busy but they always fitted us in and we never had to wait long for the food to arrive.
As a side you can also pick up eggs here! The duck eggs were excellent!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good drink, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Ate here for our anniversary meal, having 'found' it when doing an internet search of places to eat in and around Bishop's Castle. My husband was very happy to be able to get a pint of Butty Bach, and we were quite impressed with the quality of food served and the friendliness of the staff. Samatee Price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samatee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn Pub also viewed

Bishops Castle, Shropshire
 
Bishops Castle, Shropshire
Ratlinghope, Shropshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing