We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in this warm and welcoming weekend at this hotel. the staff were welcoming, friendly, solicitous and efficient. food and drink were plentiful and excellent. One great feature was the individuality of the rooms with different features and colour schemes There were nice touches like filtered water in the rooms and the fact that it was a dog friendly establishment (meeting Millie was an added pleasure) The onion and stilton soup was amazing and the variety of choices for breakfast would have been good in a much larger hotel. This is definitely a hotel we will be returning to but next time in summer to fully appreciate the delightful garden.

Room Tip: Pictures of all rooms are clear on the website. If you want a great view, try the rooms on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    156
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
86
466
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here close to christmas and had a wonderful time. The food and drink were excellent with a nice selection of local ale and whiskey. I would have to recommend the mars bar cheesecake, this was quite a delight. Stunning location and nice clean rooms, the bathroom in our room was very luxurious. Already looking forward to booking again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bwills15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2014

beautiful location
extremely dog friendly
excellent food and service
very comfortable room
good facilities throughout
ideal for a weekend break or to base a vacation in the area
helpful and attentive staff

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a great place to stay a lovely room, spotless and fully stocked, excellent food, fine local beer, friendly and attentive staff. In all very comfortable. We will be visiting again. Well done Castle Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury, england
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel, situated at the top end of the historic town of Bishop's Castle, is built on the site of the original keep of the castle. Its 18th century build is reflected in the quirky walls, ceilings and rooms. Our standard room was well decorated , with a comfy bed and lovely furnishings. The food served here in the dining room is well cooked and presented and the serving and other staff are just so charming!
The hotel is dog friendly and has a resident dachsund, the lovely Millie! Bishop's Castle is a great centre for walking the Shropshire Hills and the town has a range of independent gift shops and galleries.
We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal which was amazing value but their prices without this are well worth it too.

Room Tip: From what we saw, you are guaranteed a good room. There are superior rooms avaliable for a supplemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is a perfect blend of old and new. Our room was lovely, the food amazing and the staff/service outstanding. This small hotel is very friendly and actively welcomes dogs. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a base to explore the town and beautiful Shropshire countryside. A taste of the wide selection of local ale is also a must!

Room Tip: Each room is described in depth on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie22_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

It was our first time in Bishop's Castle and the hotel was a fantastic choice. We were able to leave our bikes in a shed there and wash them too! We couldn't fault the service - all very young staff, energetic and eager to please. The food was delicious and always hot, drunk with lovely beer. We had ample space in our room to spread out all our bike and walking gear. We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a good view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
866 reviews
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
427 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing