We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a ray of sunshine in the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a ray of sunshine in the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Have just returned from a weekend break staying for two very enjoyable nights at The Castle. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind to us but it didn't spoil the wonderful welcome from the staff and the very comfortable stay. The hotel had a lovely cosy feel, the food was good quality and everyone was very friendly. Our room looked like it had only recently been decorated and had a spacious well equipped bathroom.

The hotel was well situated to go walking and take in the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    151
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
83
449
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
223 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Expect something a cut above the average for the room and service.
A modern bathroom, good bed and our room was one of two that have an extra bath - in the bedroom!
Food in the evening was good and breakfast was a well cooked breakfast with a help yourself table of cold things.
Helpful service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnsuggestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at The Castle for a short break with another couple. From the outset we were impressed with the cheerful helpfulness and friendliness of all the staff. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the hotel itself had a lot of charm with its sloping (but very stable) floors. The breakfast was excellent, and although we didn't have a lot to eat at dinner, the snacks we had were also excellent. We can certainly recommend the hotel. We tend not to return to hotels we have visited, but we will certainly consider The Castle's sister hotel as I suspect that it will also impress.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gefora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

the castle hotel was comfortable, inviting and the staff were wonderful. the food was great and the attention to detail was great. what a cosy hotel. nothing was too much trouble. the owners were very welcoming. we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Just spent two nights at the Castle. Hotel and staff very welcoming with a relaxed atmosphere. The food was superb, particularly the Gala Dinner on New Year's Eve. This hotel hasn't seen the last of us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

we have had a lovely time here - the kids haves have loved our 3 night stay. The hotel had only a room with a double and a single bed but happily included a full roll-away bed for the second child. Room very clean, bed super comfy. we were plenty warm overnight. The bathroom has a nice heated towel rack but was a little cold, and just little. also, the structure of the room was just one big room. we've stayed in rooms that had more of an L shape so my husband and I could more easily read etc once the kids were in bed. Here we had to wait until they were both asleep before putting the light back on. Plenty of wardrobe space, tea coffee, etc. Staff very helpful, breakfast delicious with a tremendous variety. We paid a bit more than usual as it was the Christmas break. At regular times I believe this place would be very good value for money. Note: floor, and therefore some furniture, slanted. Items placed on the table just inside the door kept sliding off until we tried to level it. - hence the quirky in the title. We had a look at the patios and outdoor dining options. Would have been wonderful if it weren't December! We did enjoy lovely meals in the pub -delicious and convenient. Children also really enjoyed spotting Millie the dog. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: No. 1 room very comfortable but the view is of the back of the building staff only area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellies4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with our 9 month baby in tow - the hotel and staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, offering a cot and high chair, and small dog to hoover up after the baby! Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, whilst not losing any of the character of a 300 year-old hotel; the bathroom was brand new. We ended up eating in all 3 nights as the food was good and there was enough variety not to get bored, plus a decent bar with real ale. Great place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LimpetsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing