We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect break - just what we needed”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break - just what we needed”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is our second visit to Bishops Castle and Castle Hotel, enjoyed last time for the unspoiled atmosphere of both town and hotel, and as good or even better second time round.
We had one of the newly refurbished bedrooms with brilliant en-suite shower room and views over the town's rooftops, and once again were well looked after by obliging staff and enjoyed good food, open fires and charm and character of the bar and dining rooms.
We don't very often return to the same venue, preferring to explore new areas, but are sure we will return here very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the review. Its great to have such positive feedback on our new bedrooms. We are very pleased with them. Hopefully see you for a third time soon, from all here at The Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    155
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
84
460
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Shropshire Hills offer an extensive network of walking routes with enough variety to fill a week week's itinerary. We were there April 17-19 and have already decided to return this autumn to better realise the full potential of this delightful area. There are several good ridge walks in easy reach of Bishops Castle which is an excellent town to use as a base. We chose the Castle hotel simply from a web search, and were very impressed. Rooms are comfortable, staff pleasant and welcoming, and food excellent. Plenty of parking available at the hotel and two micro breweries within walking distance too for an evening aperitif! Not that there is anything lacking in the choice of local beers and produce available at the hotel. We are a group of 4 colleagues now retired who meet up occasionally for a few days of civilised hospitality and I have no hesitation in recommending the Castle Hotel as one of the most enjoyable venues in which we have stayed over the past 5 years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your extensive review. Great to get such positive customer feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in the heat wave last year and enjoyed it so much we went back this year just after the snow. It is a real jewel and we had an equally good stay this time, The dogs loved it especially romping in the snow on our walks. The food was excellent and it was difficult choosing as there were so many tasty things to pick from. Wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely comfy beds too.

Room Tip: All rooms look as good as each other, we had a peek in one of the new ones, gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlininca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words here, and its always such a pleasure to welcome back returning guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked four rooms for four mates for our annual walking weekend. The hotel met all expectations, characterful, good value , good hosts and staff, good food and a fine real ale bar. Very clean, plenty of hot water. Absolutely no criticism and by the way it's in the heart of a lovely and very alternative small town far from the madding crowd and right on the Welsh border in superb countryside dotted with fine pubs!

Room Tip: Room 11 has a bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcombe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Great to here you and friends enjoyed your annual walking weekend away with us. We are spoilt for fantastic walking countryside on either side of the boarder! Hopefully see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed in this lovely hotel with my husband and 2 young children. We could not have been made to feel more welcome. Our room was gorgeous, really well appointed and extremely comfy! We ate lunch and dinner at the hotel and both were fantastic. The game terrine was so good my husband had it for both lunch and dinner. They were really accomodating with the children at meal times, over all great service. Its in a great location in a lovely part of the country with loads to do in nearby Ludlow. Will be coming back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Great to here you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Castle Hotel. We do really try and make sure families are catered for as well as possible. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a really friendly and wonderful hotel. Everything in the hotel works- shower, heating, TV etc. the rooms are clean and in excellent decorative shape. The food whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner is excellent and the beers available are varied and superb. It is highly recommended and we will come back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Segdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of our hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much and the evening meals were gorgeous too. A range of local draft beers added to the atmosphere that was very much about England and its border at its best. The room was spacious and comfortable and we had a warm welcome and a friendly goodbye.
I would recommend the Castle hotel to anyone who fancies a bit of luxury at a reasonable price but wants their accommodation to be small and personal. Millie the resident pooch added to the wonders of this place and our Border terrier was made welcome as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for they glowing review here. We are very proud of the Real Ale heritage in Bishops Castle, and its always great to hear that our efforts in the kitchen are being appreciated. Milly must be one of the most mentioned dogs on Trip Advisor!! Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing