We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a short break in lovely Shropshire”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place for a short break in lovely Shropshire”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We found this a couple of years ago in the Good Beer guide when looking for somewhere to stay for a late Spring break. We've been back to eat when staying in the area and this time went for a reduced price mid-week break.
The hotel is a hostoric inn with original features, including non-horizontal floors and in our room the oak beams where you can see the adze cuts very clearly (mind your head!).
Friendly and competent service. The food is very good - locally sourced stuff not quite so much in evidence this time, but maybe the volume of trade in winter makes for more reliance on the stock cupboard (deep freeze). But very good for all that.
Good views of the town from our room on third floor.

Room Tip: Ask which has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for the posative review, it is always very much appreciated. We use as much locally sourced food as possible, but perhaps we don't make it as obvious as we should. Almost none of our food is from frozen stock and we will make sure we highlight on the menu all our fantastic local produce. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    156
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
86
466
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms are comfortable with a nice aspect. Recently fully refurbished. Management and staff are friendly, attentive and happy to assist with ideas of things to do in the area. Food very good. Book Fridays and Saturdays in high season to avoid dissapointment.

WIthin driving distance of Powis and Ludlow Castles. Been to Bishops Castle before and would return two excellent microbrewery pubs try the 6 Bells, a must and return to relax at the Castle for dinner - what a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden or village view in a top floor room if you can manage stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. Pleased to read that you very much ejoyed your stay with us at The Castle Hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for business and everything was fantastic, staff were very welcoming and showed me to my room. The room was clean and had plenty of teas, coffees and bottled water. The bathroom products were good quality and shower was powerful and had piping hot water.

The meal in the evening was really tasty and well presented and the staff were friendly and really brought truth to the term service with a smile. The range of ales is great and good prices.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty of it which kept us going through our meeting.

Slept well and room was easy to adjust temperature.

Will stay again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for the great review, we always appreciate the positive feedback especially from a seasoned traveller! Let's hope business brings you back this way for another pint sometime soon. Oh ..... and Bishop's Castle is officially a town, a fact that the locals are fiercely proud off !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our third return visit to this beautiful, charming old hotel. Everything, I mean everything, was more than to our satisfaction. The room's olde world feel, coupled with crisp white sheets and a comfortable bed made for a sound nights sleep. The quality, freshness and presentation of our three courses at dinner were exquisite. The staff were their usual bright, cheerful but professional selves, never too attentive but never too far away either.
The best way in Shropshire to recharge the batteries, thank you all.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkflymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. Great to hear you have enjoyed all three visits to us and we look forward to a forth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

A group of 9 50 somethings tstayed over the weekend.
We chose it for the location-a small town with two microbreweries!
The hotel was excellent.Nice rooms,good food and lovely staff and owners who were more than helpful.The area around was stunning though the fanatasitc weather helped.
I would definately go again.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulgray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your "Boys" weekend away. Bishop's Castle has the best Beer in the country! See you again soon for a pint or two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

really enjoyed my stay. great food in the bar. lovely wine list. staff could not be more helpful. great beds very very good value. lots of nice little pubs around for evenings out tuesday open mic at the three tons was fun.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie80lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Castle Hotel. What can I say? Brilliant. We'd originally booked for my birthday in October, but I fell and broke my leg while visiting Clun Castle. On route to Shrewsbury hospital we had to call in and cancel our booking. The staff were wonderful and we were able to defer our trip until this week. I'm so glad we did. The hotel is nearly 300 years old and full of character, our room was lovely with everything you need - scalding hot shower too, and the meals - and local beers - were excellent. Henry and Rebecca and all their staff are doing a fantastic job and the little finishing touches made our visit a memorable one. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Thank you everyone at the Castle Hotel in Bishop's Castle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCastleHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Really pleased you where able to stay with us after your accident and that you and your partner where well looked after. Delighted that you birthday was a memorable one with us, although belated!! Hope to see you next year from all of us here at the Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
866 reviews
18.0 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
617 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
428 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing