We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Castle Hotel with my husband and my two year old son and we had a really lovely break. The hotel is a beautiful old building full of character transformed into a fabulous hotel. Our room (room 9) was very well furnished with lovely tasteful decor and a very modern shower room, and we had a nice view of the hotel gardens from our window - a pretty patio area which was lit up at dusk by decorative tree lights and luscious lawned areas with apple trees, pretty floral borders, wooden love seats and huge bean bags for you to relax on. My son absolutely loved the gardens, the pond full of goldfish, the fountain and of course Milly the resident daschund! The staff at The Castle were very friendly and accommodating, we were looked after really well and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the hotel for both our evening meal and breakfast and the food was of a very high standard, a really good menu and generous portions too! The children's menu was lovely as well and the high chair at the hotel was excellent, in really good condition and very clean. We will definitely return to The Castle as we had such an enjoyable stay, and it was great value for money too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaHawken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 844 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Castle Hotel for one night only in August 2012 and couldnt fault it. The hotel is a beautiful old building with a fascinating history. The room we had was very comfortable and extremely clean with a small but very nice shower room. When you stay in older properties you have to understand the constraints of them so it is not possible to have extra large bathrooms and uniform rooms but that is the charm and personally we wouldnt want it any other way. The hotel is run by a very enthusiastic couple who go the extra mile to make sure everyone is welcome. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and the quality and choice of food were excellent as was breakfast the next morning (including great coffee!!). The hotel has a lovely interesting garden so relax (and dine in - weather permitting) and the views are amazing. Bishops Castle is a lovely place to wander around and there are many beautiful places in close proximity like Ludlow so would highly recommend you book in here and enjoy a wonderful weekend walking and cycling and enjoying great food in this little gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Have only eaten here so can't comment on the accomadation but if the downstairs is anything to go by, the rooms will be good. Lovely elegant hotel, pleasant bar areas and a lovely terraced garden for when the weather is kind. Beautiful views over the town of Bishops Castle and to the Shropshire hills beyond, staff friendly and helpful. The food was excellent both times I have been, and lovely coffee. Today we sampled the antipasti for two, scummy! Will be back to sample the fish menu on a Thursday or a Friday next.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago with our 16 month old and our dog. They were really accommodating and there was no issue with either the dog or the baby (and no extra charges). The hotel is done up as well as one can do up an old listed building without losing the character of the place, staff is friendly and the breakfast is amazing. And of course, Bishops Castle is a lovely town as well...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for one Saturday night in August 2012. We found the staff friendly and helpful, although there is no lift the receptionist carried our bag upstairs for us to our room (room 9).
The double room was small, with only a shower room (not a bath), and half of it was encroached by the eaves so you do have to duck! However, having said that, we found it fine - clean and very comfortable.
I sometimes worry staying in pub/hotels that it will be noisy. This wasn't the case at all, it was extremely quiet and relaxing. Our room overlooked the kitchen extractor fan - but this was switched off once the kitchen stopped working.
We ate a light meal in the restaurant in the evening. Lovely food, and a good selection of real ales.
Breakfast was fine, though my partner ordered mushrooms and they hadn't been cleaned properly and hence were gritty
Very well placed for exploring Bishops Castle and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major_Breakdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

As the title really... a lovely hotel, elegant vintage in style with lovely, authentic bedrooms. Our room had rafters, beautiful furniture and a fantastic view down through the village and out over the hills. We spent most of our 2nd evening in the lovely pub garden out the back. This was a birthday treat away for my partner and I couldn't have asked for better. The staff were all really helpful and friendly and the food is very good. I was impressed that they had reserved us a table for our evening meal even though I forget to ask them to! Thank you for a lovely, relaxed break, I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedImp_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had 2 nights b&b at the start of August. From the moment we got there the staff couldn't do enough for us, really good service without being intrusive. They even let me use their fridge for some medications and sorted taxis for us.

The room was one of their smallest but was newly decorated in a contemporary style with added touches like Twinings teas. It had a great view to the hills and countryside beyond.

The hotel is very old and quirky in places with 3 bar areas, and a dining room where breakfast is served. You can help yourself to the usual juices, yoghurt and cereals and then order a cooked breakfast from the menu. The garden is lovely with the views over the fields.

The hotel has free parking and is a good base to explore the town with many gift shops and cafes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
14.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
950 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
489 reviews
15.1 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
999 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montgomery
299 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Market Square, Bishops Castle SY9 5BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bishops Castle
Price Range: $94 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Coaching Inn in one of Shropshire’s prettiest towns, with lovely gardens, countryside views and no passing traffic. Eight pretty en-suite bedrooms, three bars with open fires and an oak paneled restaurant serving great value modern British food. Or relax with a cooling beverage on our fabulous south-facing terrace and watch the buzzards and hang-gliders soar the surrounding hills. Great walking from the hotel front-door. Ludlow, Clun, Shrewsbury and Powis Castle all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing