We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Brick Guesthouse
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$166
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
$80
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$117
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$222
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
84
22
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
22
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosie and normb bwelsh dragonstayed heregreat place to staypubs and restaurantswithin easy walking distancebreakfastbcshropshirecomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 112 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2010

WE arrived at the Old Brick Guest House and received a really warm welcome. Beautiful character property that has been tastefully and carefully decorated to a high standard. Our hosts were very kind and full of useful local knowledge. Breakfast is not for the faint hearted - fantastic. We left feeling we had made friends and will definitely return..
Andy and Annette Evans

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable, and the breakfast was first rate with home made everything and lovely local sausages with a hot peppery kick to them.. Our dog was made welcome too, for an extra £10. We had no complaints and would recommend this friendly comfortable place to any visitors to BC.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoobwimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed here with a group of friends for a special celebration weekend in March.
Good points: The location was very good for our purposes, just a short walk into the main area. Allocated parking close to the accommodation which only meant a short walk with our bags. Friendly owners. Comfortable, large bed. Nice plentiful breakfast.
Bad points: Our room was in an extension/separate part to the main building & was a bit tired and dated. We could not get the heated towel rail to work and the shower was luke warm at best. We did not use the towels provided as these smelt VERY musty as if they had been rolled up damp and left to dry and the room generally had a cold, damp feeling. I got out of the shower feeling so cold I wished I hadn't bothered! Having said this, I understand that some of our friends rooms had been refurbished and were fine - I guess it was just the luck of the draw, but based on our experience we felt very short-changed and would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Com4tzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbrickguesthouse, Owner at Old Brick Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2011

We are sorry that you had a disappointing time at our guest house. I would just point out that since you stayed with us we have upgraded the shower in that room and thank you for highlighting the problem with the almost new thermostatic shower unit. We have also put notices in the room giving directions on how to operate the towel rail in case it is not already turned on. I am sorry that you didn’t like our decorating as ALL the rooms in the guest house have been updated with new carpets, paintwork, furniture, beds and bathrooms in the past few years. Don’t forget that it is an old house and the extension that you refer to was actually done about 70 years ago! We have also taken your comments re towels seriously and enhanced the airing space in the utility room so that towels and bedding can be aired more thoroughly before being used in guest rooms. Unfortunately, our green policy discourages us from using the tumble dryer for all our laundry and even if we did it is difficult to get towels totally dry during the winter months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Three of us from New Zealand stayed here for one night while visiting a relative. From the moment we were met at the door until we left after breakfast, we felt really welcomed.
We were in two rooms under exposed beams that were very comfortable, each with an en-suite bathroom.
The guest house is located in the main street, so is very handy to everything, shops and restaurants, and pubs attached to local breweries.
On the morning of our departure we enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Bishop's Castle is a lovely town and we really enjoyed our two night New Year stay at the Old Brick, which is a beautiful old characterful building in the centre of the town. Our double room (Oak) was large and cosy and had recently been nicely refurbished, and had a very good size en suite shower room. Our room was on the front of the guest house but was nevertheless quiet.
Our hosts Rosie and Norman were attentive without being intrusive and provided an excellent breakfast including gorgeous slightly spicy local sausages, and also gave good advice on local walks.
In all we couldn't fault the Old Brick, and the price was reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merchantofvenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews