We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Brick Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
$88
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Longmynd(Church Stretton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knighton Hotel(Knighton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
84
22
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
22
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosie and normwelsh dragonstayed heregreat place to staypubs and restaurantswithin easy walking distancebreakfastbcshropshirecomfort
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 112 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Three of us from New Zealand stayed here for one night while visiting a relative. From the moment we were met at the door until we left after breakfast, we felt really welcomed.
We were in two rooms under exposed beams that were very comfortable, each with an en-suite bathroom.
The guest house is located in the main street, so is very handy to everything, shops and restaurants, and pubs attached to local breweries.
On the morning of our departure we enjoyed an excellent cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Bishop's Castle is a lovely town and we really enjoyed our two night New Year stay at the Old Brick, which is a beautiful old characterful building in the centre of the town. Our double room (Oak) was large and cosy and had recently been nicely refurbished, and had a very good size en suite shower room. Our room was on the front of the guest house but was nevertheless quiet.
Our hosts Rosie and Norman were attentive without being intrusive and provided an excellent breakfast including gorgeous slightly spicy local sausages, and also gave good advice on local walks.
In all we couldn't fault the Old Brick, and the price was reasonable as well.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merchantofvenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Booked for a group of 9, excellent communication during booking process, and once we arrived we were very pleased with the rooms and the breakfast. Would definitely stay there again, and would recommend to others. The area is a great one for cycling and walking, and good value meals available in a number of pubs nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizYBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Our party of 9 booked in for 3 nights for a cycling weekend. The rooms were great, the breakfasts top notch, and the owners were so friendly and helpful. You go a long way to find a better B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

An Friend in the UK found this B&B and made the reservations for our party, which included two couples and the single friend. The stay was the best of our B&B stays during our visit to the UK. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious....and well priced compared to other locations we stayed. The house was about 300 years old. Quaint, but very snug and comfortable. Our room was on the top floor, with exposed oak beams and a window that looked out over the main street through Bishop's Castle.

Bishop's Castle is 4 miles from the Welsh border and is close to several medevial market towns, the closest of which is Ludlow with its magnificent castle.

Our Hostess, Rosie, made us feel very at home and always took the time to chat and tell us about local attractions and things to do. She also cooks an outstanding full breakfast, the best that we experiance during our UK visit.

My only advice is that the old stairs are steep and winding. A trip to the second or third story may be difficult for someone with disabilities.

Mark, Hunstville Alabama

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews