We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking B&B in BC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Brick Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here the first weekend of June 2013, I was in BC with a group of bikers on our yearly rideout based in BC that goes into wales.

The Old Brick is biker friendly and has 2 parking areas for leaving your bike over night, I was warmly welcomed and shown to my room that was lovely. Very comfortable bed and a great en suite to.
Breakfast was cracking with brilliant bacon and a nice slightly spiced sausage with great coffee and some of the best toast i've ever had!

Only down side was I couldnt get any channels on my telly in my room but it wasnt a big issue as I wasnt really there to watch the telly!

Can't wait for our rideout next year and hopefully able to stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 111 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed at this very good B&B as a base for the BC Walk and what a find! Nothing was too much trouble- drying us out after a particularly wet walk, arranging transport, suggesting the best pubs and restaurants. Rooms very clean and well equipped, good choice for breakfasts lots of home made preserves.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Home made bread, friendly hosts who went out of their way to advise us on eating, pubs and cycle repairs! It was a joy to stay there and I wished it could have been longer. Host and hostess lovely friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Stay in Bishops Castle for at least 2 days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menthee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellently rooms and good breakfast s
In a lovely small town in the Welsh border , ,close to good walking country

A warm welcome from the owner s who provide d a range of information about the area

A good location central to the town which has a great range pub s with good eating options
Highly recommended


  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at Old Brick Guesthouse for two nights after reading traveller reviews, thinking it wouldn't be as good as the reviews say, but we were not disappointed! Firstly, a great location near to real ale pubs - a must when we stay somewhere! We stayed in Oak room which was a good size and quiet, and the large bed was very comfortable. Appreciated the extra little touches - as well as the 'usual' hot drinks making facilities and hairdryer, there were tissues, nice shampoo and conditioner, board games available. Our hosts, Rosie and Norm were very friendly and helpful, giving us ideas of places to visit, the pros and cons of different pubs and local info. They got the balance right between being chatty and not being intrusive. The only negatives I can think of were that one bedside lamp didn't work, which wasn't a problem (in fact, I forgot to even mention it to our hosts), and the bedding/decor was a little 'grannyish' for our tastes. All in all, a great place to stay and we will definitely stay there again when visiting Bishop's Castle.
Samatee and Nathan Price, Birmingham

Room Tip: Beds in rooms on the second floor are under a sloping roof, so you run the risk of waking up in bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samatee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rosie and Norm were very helpful and made our walking holiday so much easier by organising the dial a ride service and booking our evening meals in the town. The breakfasts were excellent and the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haz540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

very very good place to stay, huge bed in the Oak room is best most comfy bed we have slept in so far on our travels. Lovely landlady, very chatty in the morning over breakfast that will set you up for the day. Very clean,will definitely return if in the area again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
0.3 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#6 of 12 in Bishops Castle
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Boar's Head Hotel
The Boar's Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn, Rooms
0.0 mi away
The Green Caravan and Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Brick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Brick Guesthouse

Address: 7 Church Street, Bishops Castle SY9 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Price Range: $86 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Brick Guesthouse is a Grade 2 listed building that is over 300 years old. It has been a guest house for more than 70 years and has undergone recent refurbishment throughout. We welcome all comers, especially walkers and cyclists and real ale enthusiasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Brick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Brick Guesthouse Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing