We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia

Magnolia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishops Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia
Ranked #11 of 12 Bishops Castle B&B and Inns
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in three rooms for a long weekend for a family reunion. We found the welcome, the rooms, the atmosphere and the facilities to be first rate.
Breakfast was fabulous, and nothing was too much trouble.
The owners were absolutely lovely and very much allowed us to take over their beautiful home with our family.
If we stay in this area again, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.
I have been racking my brain for a negative and have found it difficult to find one.
Thank you......

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanWheatlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent a week here walking in the surrounding countryside. Perfect terrain for people in their 60's - hills not too lung-busting but the views are lovely.
The Magnolia is top class, as are Elizabeth and Geoff. Friendly, welcoming and informative.
The bedrooms are most comfortable, clean and stylish.
Breakfast is super - local produce, well cooked. We are still drooling over the home-made jam and muesli.
You won't find a better B & B .

Gill & Doug
East Sussex

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglass S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas Costa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, very relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Just perfect for us - walking in Shropshire. Everything you would expect from a quality B&B. Will definitely be recommending to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMijasCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having read previous reviews what can be said that hasn't all ready been covered. The reviews speak volumes about Magnolia House and hosts Elizabeth and Geoff are amazing. It's little wonder they top the list as the best.
Every thing from cake on arrival,magnificent breakfasts, rooms with lots of added luxurious extras all added up to be simply the best Band B we have experienced.
On a recent three night stay whilst walking parts of the Shropshire Way we had the misfortune to experience horrendous weather conditions. To say we arrived back like two drowned mud rats was the understatement.We even considered stripping off in the local launderette! We where so very embarrassed and distressed to have to return looking as we did. One of the guests saw us from her bed room window and placed her hands over her face in disbelieve. Could we sneak in and run to our room without being spotted, oh no, no, no, Elizabeth had seen us return, our faces spoke volumes as she quickly sprang into action taking all our filthy, muddy, wet walking clothes away to wash and dry. Nothing was too much trouble for her, as we showered then slipped on the fluffy white bathrobes we where greeted with the most wonderful chocolate cake and a huge pot of tea to comfort us. Elizabeth acted has if it was an everyday occurrence and no big deal to her, very calm and extremely understanding off our situation.
I have no hesitation in recommending Magnolia House, hopefully we will return next year weather conditions allowing !! Thank you so much to this wonderful couple Elizabeth and Geoff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol59692001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here at the end of May and from the moment we arrived we were so well looked after that we want to return soon ! Geoff and Elizabeth made us so welcome ,and after showing us to our room [which has a very large zip and link bed] we were invited to tea and cake in the beautiful sunny garden and meet the other guests that were staying.
Our room [Long Mynd ] was light, bright and very clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and looked out over open country to the hills beyond.
The bathroom has a roomy double shower, and again spotlessly clean.
Our hosts have a vast knowledge of the surrounding countryside and the walks available, also the local buses that can pick up and drop off after a long day in the Shropshire hills. Also, a great facility for walkers, they have a drying area for wet clothes if you get caught in the rain whilst out walking..
The local inns are well placed for a short walk to their lovely food and beer!
The delicious breakfasts are cooked by Geoff and the preserves are Elizabeths own made with fruit from the garden. Her Black Grape Jelly from the vine in the greehouse is well worth a try, and the Bircher Muesli is also a must.

All in all a lovely place to stay and we have no hesitation in recommending to others .

Room Tip: The Long Mynd room looks over the front of the house with a road beyond the hedge. We didn`t find an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merrile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Magnolia last weekend for a wedding and it was brilliant. We arrived late due to an awful journey around the M25 but received a very warm welcome. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was of very good quality and very well cooked.
Overall, we had a fantastic time at Magnolia and can't recommend it enough. It's not the cheapest, but is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoominMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Had 3 brilliant days at this B & B and looking forward to going again. Geoff and Elizabeth were extremely friendly hosts and Elizabeth's knowledge of the surrounding area helped greatly with us finding suitable walks around Bishops Castle. Our room was fantastic and the breakfasts spot on. We would hightly recommend this B & B for anyone who enjoys walking or sampling real ale from the two independent breweries in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Castle
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boars Head Hotel
The Boars Head Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Brick Guesthouse
Old Brick Guesthouse
#3 of 12 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Middle Woodbatch Farm
Middle Woodbatch Farm
#7 of 12 in Bishops Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia

Property: Magnolia
Address: 3 Montgomery Road, Bishops Castle SY9 5EZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Castle
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Magnolia - a four star Bed & Breakfast where attention to detail has earned us a prestigious Gold Award from each year since opening.Only a few minutes walk from the centre of the working market town of Bishop's Castle, in beautiful grounds, come to relax and enjoy the stunning views from one of our three double or twin en-suite rooms. Spoil yourself with fresh fruit salad, homemade organic muesli and a magnificent Shropshire breakfast using local and organic produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia Bishops Castle, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing